We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not what I expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Palm-Aire

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Palm-Aire
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Pompano Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Loudon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We are Wyndham Owners and have stayed at several different Wyndham locations. When we checked in the reception staff was very nice and tried to get us a room with a washer/dryer. Not all rooms have them. They were not able to do that. They also tried to get us closer to the pool. They were not able to do that. Still, they were very nice. When we did check into our room right away it was clear that the rooms were not of the quality we were used to with other Wyndham properties. There was a huge hole in the wall behind the door where the door handle had been driven into the wall. There was a kitchen drawer that was off track. One tub had some repair done with terrible caulk work. The places in the tub were rough. A good handy man could have smoothed that caulk over. There were several places in the tub so I am unclear as to why they wouldn't just replace it. The grout in the showers were less than desirable but not really terrible. The air conditioner in the living room clogged up outside. It was leaking water in the living room on the carpet and the carpet was soaked. Fortunately my family is knowledgeable about those things and was able to go outside and unclog it. Sadly it was too late for the carpet, it had soured. I didn't enjoy getting in the main pool. It seemed murky. Maybe from too much suntan lotion. However, my son totally enjoyed the water slide. There was a Tiki bar beside the pool. They made some great non-alcoholic smoothies! The café near the pool had great cheese sticks, pizza and potato skins. The portions were fabulous and the prices were reasonable. There was a gentleman walking around handing out his number and asking if he could do anything more to accommodate our stay. I feel like he was very sincere. All in all this is a lovely property. I just think I expected more after experiencing other Wyndham properties.

Room Tip: They were dredge pumping a lake on the property and we had to listen to this noise the entire day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Palm-Aire, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Thanks for your review. We know that guest tastes and preferences may vary but kindness is always valued. Our guests really are family and we try to treat them as such. Sorry to hear you experienced some maintenance difficulties during your stay. This is certainly not our Wyndham standards. We will have our maintenance team look into these issues to eliminate any future occurrences. We strive to provide top of the line accommodations for all our guests and your feedback will help us to do so. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    353
    136
    67
    60
See reviews for
456
174
12
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisburg, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I'll start with the good. The rooms were well above what we expected. Great activities for my teenage daughters. The pools were great the sable pool is a little busier due to the bar and slide that's located there. Now, let's talk about the front desk. I needed the resort manager when I arrived due to a mix up with my reservation I left my number and my husbands number to be notified by Joe, never heard from him. The front desk personnel (day shift) very rude. The worse was Sandra I couldn't get a word in edge wise. She kept cutting me off, I'm sorry I thought I was a customer. The night shift personnel very nice and willing to please. The night auditor guy in general not sure what's his name. Other than the horrible customer service I encountered it was a nice, clean resort. I'm still waiting ti hear from Joe and I was there from 7-21 until 7-27. I'll keep you posted when I hear from him.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1980july
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Palm-Aire, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
We are so disappointed to hear your interaction with the resort staff did not meet your expectations, as this is not part of the Count On Me service we take pride in at Wyndham. It is imperative that our guests are treated well. Please rest assured that we will be taking action to ensure that this is not an issue for future guests. Again, thanks for taking the time to reach out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

2nd time staying here...staff is wonderful...resort is nice & well maintained. Rooms are equal to or better than all the other Wyndhams we have stayed at over the years. We use the beach access at the Wyndham about 5 miles away. The facility itself is probably my favorite so far and we have been owners for over 10years. It would be absolutely PERFECT if it was located on the beach, but doesn't stop my family from driving 11+ hours to vacation here! :-)

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank PamMarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Palm-Aire, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
We're extremely glad that you stayed here too, and we hope that next time you can stay with us for longer. Thanks so much for your review and recommendation. We always appreciate it! Take care, Palm-Aire Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
454 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was an RCI timeshare exchange for us. We mostly wanted to go to the beach as we don't golf. We were very happy with the Palm-Aire. The rooms were large. The kitchen huge with Cuisinart appliances. Nice linens and towels; pool towels and shampoos/conditioners provided. Free in-room Wi-Fi. Great pool, specially for kids. Live music at the outdoor bar by the pool gives this a real "resort" atmosphere. Free putt-putt golf. Spa on site. We had a rental car and drove to the public beaches at Pompano and Fort Lauderdale which was great. There is also a beachfront sister resort which we were free to use. All very nice.

Room Tip: It's probably quieter not in the buildings near the big pool. The resort is very big and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AreWeHavingFunYet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Palm-Aire, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Thank you for this great feedback ! This will allow us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort. Please let us know if there are opportunities to make your stay better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles,Ca.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this resort from7/5-7/16. It was a great experience. The grounds were well kept, staff very friendly and unit spotless. We are a family of 5, had a 2 bedroom with more than enough room. We stayed in the Sabel building with the main pool, which was very convent inset as it was almost impossible to get our kids out of the pool. Everyone we encountered could not have been nicer. Everything from check in to check out was as smooth as silk. As for the area, it had everything you needed close by. We had a rental, so we drove everywhere. We weren't harassed by anyone as some of the other reviewers have mentioned. It wasn't a tourist area but it wasn't horrible either. We were out of the resort daily going to Walmart, and several fast food and family restaurants. As for the beach, it was a at least a 20 minute drive, but well worth it. The beaches nearby were very nice. To get to South Beach, that was a 35-40 minute drive. Watch those tolls on the freeways, they can add up quickly. Overall, we enjoyed our time here very much and look forward to going back again one day.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ygeyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Palm-Aire, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Thanks for making Palm-Aire your top choice for a family vacation! That really means a lot to us, and we hope that you'll be able to visit us very often. The staff are great. Guests feel welcome because the staff really do love the guests, and we're happy that shows through. Thank you for also mentioning the cleanliness of the units and the pristine grounds, we work very hard to keep everything in tip-top shape for our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Pleasant, MI
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We are Wyndham timeshare owners and stayed at the Palm Aire several times last winter and spring. The units are large, comfortable, clean, well supplied with high end appliances, dishes,etc. We ended up in the Queen bldg one time and did NOT like that bldg at all. Dark, motel like, but on the golf course if that is your thing. We were moved the next day, so we were well taken care off. The pools are beautiful, lots of daily activities, Hawaiian dancer show once a week, poker night, etc. we found the front desk people generally very accommodating and helpful. We have stYed at the other 3 Wyndham resorts in Pompano Beach and even tho this resort is not on the water, this is by far our favorite. They do have a daily shuttle to the beach however.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view, lower level, if available. Our personal favorite bldg is the Sable.
See more room tips
Green Features: They provide recycle bags and bins. I must admit the "lazy" lighting somewhat annoying.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RabidSpartanFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Palm-Aire, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Thanks so much for visiting, we hope that you can come visit us again very soon! Thank you for the suggestions too. We are always working to improve and we always appreciate guest feedback. Take care, Palm-Aire Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Level Contributor
131 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed here for four days last week and loved our room. It was recently renovated and was modern and huge. We also loved the pools and property. However, we were disappointed at how far we are from the beach. It took 15-25 minutes depending on traffic to get there. I was planning on taking the shuttle more, but learned it doesn't go back and forth all day. You can only take it in the morning at 9:30 or 10:30 and return at 2pm. I don't understand why it couldn't run every hour or at least every other hour so you have more options for going and returning. The only other thing I didn't like was the gym only had 4 treadmills so there was often a wait in the morning. The rest of the gym was huge and had tons of weights and things but not enough cardio.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christy1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Palm-Aire, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Thanks so much for your review. We are always looking for ways to improve and really appreciate the feedback on our gym facilities.
Although Palm-Aire is not located directly on the beach, as a guest of Palm-Aire you our welcome to visit our other Wyndham beach properties- Sea Gardens, Royal Vista and Santa Barbara! We even give you a pass to park there! We hope that you're able to visit us again soon. Take care, Palm-Aire Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompano Beach
4.8 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
4.3 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida
4.5 mi away
Wyndham Sea Gardens
Wyndham Sea Gardens
#15 of 37 in Pompano Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#3 of 37 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,186 reviews
4.2 mi away
Wyndham Royal Vista
Wyndham Royal Vista
#10 of 37 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
4.2 mi away
Wyndham Santa Barbara
Wyndham Santa Barbara
#1 of 14 in Pompano Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Palm-Aire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Palm-Aire

Property: Wyndham Palm-Aire
Address: 2601 N Palm Aire Dr, Pompano Beach, FL 33069-3466 (Formerly Palm Aire Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pompano Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Palm-Aire 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham Palm-Aire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Palm-Aire Hotel Pompano Beach
Wyndham Pompano Beach
Palm Aire Resort
Pompano Beach Wyndham
Palmaire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing