We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past it's prime”
Review of Sea Steps Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Steps Suites
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Pompano Beach
NJcpltrvl
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Past it's prime”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This weekend I needed a place to stay and an internet search turned up this place. I called and was disappointed to find out there was no access to the pool pictured on their website, however the price was right so I took a chance. When I got there I found it was not in the best area and not as good as pictured. A closer look revealed 2 very sketchy people sitting outside one of the rooms and it looked more like homeless people were being housed there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank NJcpltrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
6
8
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel is a bit of a throw back to days gone by which we found relaxing. I was in Ft. Lauderdale for business and brought my wife for her to relax by the ocean and pool. The GM is a great guy who somehow remembers every guest's first name. It's more a retro look which also brought back fond childhood memories of vacations long gone by. It's a simple 2 minute walk across South Ocean Blvd (A-1A) to the beach. The property is walking distance from a number of restaurants and typical beach area retail. Only challenge can be parking in the front as backing out onto A-1A can be tricky, but no big deal. Great stay...had been driving by this place for years when we used to stay at a Holiday Inn property just down the road which no longer stands. Glad we stopped this time! Note: you do pay for the room upon check-in.

Room Tip: if a room with a full kitchen is available, consider asking for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Ronny Dee Resort Motel has all the comforts of home at a value price. The kitchenette and bathroom were reminiscent of the 70's but all the amenities were there and both were very clean. Our beds were very comfortable and our room faced onto the poolside patio. We didn't get to try the pool but the water felt warm and it appeared very inviting and clean. The location is only a block back from the beach, a 5 min walk at the most. The owner, Richard, reccommended a great pizza restaurant that we probably would have missed without his suggestion. We most likely will return on our next visit to Pompano Beach.

Room Tip: Ask for poolside for a more pleasant view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We were visiting friends in the area, so we just needed a place to sleep. We were not impressed at all! One window in our room had looseleaf paper taped to it to act like a shade--enough said! There seemed to be some long term residents at the motel that made us a little uncomfortable. There was no safe or hairdryer in the room. We left our valuables with our friends--we did not feel comfortable leaving anything in the room. We have stayed at many budget hotels in the past, but we just didn't feel safe staying at this one. I would not recommend this hotel.

It is in a nice location in Pompano Beach, close to beach, restaurants, bars and shops, and the pool area was clean and the staff was nice, but I would not be comfortable staying there again.

Room Tip: across or down the street at another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clairefic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Ronny Dee is a very reasonably priced small family operation. A great value, location and pool. Only a few steps from the beach and you don't have to stay in one those expensive cement tower hotels. The rooms are nice and clean. This is a perfect place to just relax and enjoy the sunshine. The owners are extremely friendly and make you feel very welcome and always willing to accomodate your requests. Our entire family has been going there for many years and can't wait to return. You always see return guests year after year. I would recommend the Ronny Dee to anyone looking for a great value. Nice place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We've been going the the Ronny Dee Motel with family for many years. The current owners are nice people originally from New England. The rooms are reasonably priced and we love to plan family trips there. They have a nice pool and just a short walk to the beach. Many of the guests are return customers and a friendly bunch.

Room Tip: There's a 2 bedroom apartment for rent that works well with families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Narragansett_122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

My husband and I booked this room at the last minute and because of that ended up in the last room available. We ended up on the tenant side where the rooms were a total disaster. Plaster falling of the walls no smoke detector, ceiling tiles falling down, lamp shades filthy, no security lock on the door, toilet seat broken, toilet loose, stained toilet, slept with our clothes on with towels over the pillows and covered only with the sheet. Bed spread probably never washed. We arrived there late at nite tried to find something else nothing available. A few cocktails before bedtime eased the shock. We did consider sleeping in the car. thank god we only booked one nite.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikkolee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompano Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Coral Tides Resort and Beach Club
Coral Tides Resort and Beach Clu...
#20 of 38 in Pompano Beach
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
#4 of 38 in Pompano Beach
627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bahama Beach Club Apartments
Bahama Beach Club Apartments
#14 of 38 in Pompano Beach
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
La Costa Beach Club Resort
La Costa Beach Club Resort
#8 of 38 in Pompano Beach
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#3 of 38 in Pompano Beach
1,330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#15 of 38 in Pompano Beach
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Steps Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Steps Suites

Property: Sea Steps Suites
Address: 717 S Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062-6313 (Formerly Ronny Dee Resort Motel)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Steps Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Steps Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ronny Dee Hotel Pompano Beach
Ronny Dee Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing