We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Awesome Experience”
Review of Fantasy of Flight

Fantasy of Flight
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Polk City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Central Florida's premier aviation attraction. More than 100 rare vintage aircraft, themed immersion experiences, flight simulators, interactive exhibits, tram tour of aircraft maintenance areas, restoration and back lot tours and daily aerial demonstration (weather permitting). Audio tours, Biplane Rides are also available. Wing WalkAir A thrilling outdoor attraction featuring a 600-foot zip line suspended four stories above water and a three-level ropes course complete with 33 midair challenges to be performed while tethered to an overhead line at heights of up to 45 feet.
West Paris, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An Awesome Experience”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

One of the most exciting Aircraft Repositories I have ever been to. The Facilities, exhibits and submersive enviroment all added up to an experience like no other Aircraft Display I have ever been to.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    55
    15
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Spent the day at this delightful attraction viewing the vintage airplanes, Mustang of Mustangs and air show. Even though the sun was scorching with no breeze, the staff from parking cars, trolley drivers, food servers and general assistance were very pleasant, helpful and professional.
We are sorry to learn this attraction will be closed to the general public soon and only available for special events. Even when the special events begin, we recommend families of all ages go to this attraction - it will be a most delightful and educational as well!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HJK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful Family Day!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My family had a great time at this museum. We entered our car in the Mustang car show held at this airfield and our 4 and 5 year old were entertained by the aircraft museum for more than 6 hours. Getting to see so many aircraft in one place, even if your not "in the know" is very interesting. Restaurant and cafe on site, lovely children's aircraft themed interactive play area (for big kids too) beautiful gift shop, and even the hanger has photo worthy architectural elements. My favorite part was Immersion Environments. The kids went through 3 times and would have kept going around.....recreation of the environment soldiers experienced. All areas are very neat, clean, and well maintained. We even rode in a biplane!! Ran out if time for the obstacle course, jip line contraption.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TBSAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“So sad that this attraction is closing great day out”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This was a great day out with lots to see, lots to do, interesting shows a really interesting history. The walk through the years and actually going into a war aircraft to experience how small these conditions were. Wonderful flying aircraft great restaurant and shop at reasonable prices. Hope it re opens in the future.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

If you love history and World War II airplanes you will be in Heaven. I was there with a group of teenagers and our guide was Rosie the Riveter in full 1940's costume. She gave us a tour of one of the hangars and told us many interesting things about the planes. We were very impressed when we stopped in front of a Polikarpov Po-2 biplane and she told us about the Night Witches, the female military aviators of the 588th Night Bomber Regiment of the Soviet Air Forces who flew in harassment bombing and precision bombing missions against the German military from 1942 to the end of the war. Kermit Weeks is the owner of Fantasy of Flight and flies almost every single plane in the Museum. Thank you Mr. Weeks for this opportunity to go back in time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank OmbrettaMDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fantasy of Flight also viewed

 
Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 

Been to Fantasy of Flight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing