We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well kept but too close to the fire station”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poinciana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alhambra at Poinciana
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
273 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Well kept but too close to the fire station”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I've stayed at Alhambra several times & find their condos clean & well furnished. Comfortable beds, nice jacuzzi tubs, full kitchens. Pool is well kept. Only drawbacks to this place is the busy roadway out front with a nearby fire station. Fortunately, I travel with sound machine for sleeping, so the racket didn't bother me, although there a number of sirens most nights. My only real gripe as an owner in this timeshare resort is that the staff will not give you a parking pass when you check in. Then you receive a note each day on your car reminding you to come to the office to get a parking pass. Reason being? A high pressure sales team wants to sell you a timeshare here. I've stayed at many timeshare resorts and this is the only one that I've ever seen use this insulting way of trying to force you to consider buying. No one else has ever bothered us except to simply ask if we'd be interested. Period. Nothing more. As long as you make it clear up front that you want your parking pass when you check in or you'll do without it, you won't have any issues as long as you're a sound sleeper or bring along some ear plugs. It really is a very nice resort. Walking distance to stores and some eateries. Note: the sales staff is a completely separate entity from the desk staff that checks you in. They are simply told not to issue the parking pass, so don't take your frustration out on them - save it for the sales team. After I very politely complained during my most recent stay, I didn't receive my "reminder" and spent the entire stay without a parking pass. You're minutes from Kissimmee and Disney, but if you want to avoid traffic and crowds, head toward Haines City.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Judy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    53
    12
    7
    10
See reviews for
57
51
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Room was very clean, plenty of essential in the kitchen & bath. Since it was kind of off the beaten path it was very quiet, but everything was very accessible. Restaurants and shopping very close by, not far from Orlando. Only gripe was $91 housekeeping charge for a 3 day stay where no one ever even stopped to see if we needed towels.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We arrived one night early for our one week booking...back from a cruise and the dates didn't line up, so thought we'd give it a try. Sara and the staff could not have been more helpful...got us settled in quickly and gave us lots of helpful info about the area. The unit is clean and bright, the pool fantastic...all in all a great and relaxing experience. Thanks to all of the staff here....we'll be back for sure!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Timary58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Don't get tricked into booking a hotel room. The room is a bedroom to the adjoining suite. The bedroom is smaller than the walk-in closet in my house! The bathroom is recently remodeled with granite countertop and Jacuzzi, but there is barely enough room to move around in the bedroom. Mini refrigerator, tiny microwave and a 20" flat screen with hotel room A/C.

NO ice bucket in the room. The desk clerk said they didn't provide ice buckets for the "hotel: rooms. There was NO ice anywhere on the property tonight when we arrived. The desk clerk said they were out of ice because "everybody has been asking for ice". He suggested that we drive up the street to Walgreen's for ice!

They wanted to get the $20 deposit for a "free" breakfast or lunch and then afterward we'd get a $100 VISA card. No strings attached (Right!). Oh, and we needed to drive to Vacation Village @ Parkway in Kissimmee to get the card and the "free" lunch. We just left there today and were treated like walk-ins, even though we are Vacation Village owners.
The room is clean but I feel like I'm in a closet. The resort is next to a very busy 3 lane expressway. The pool is small and surrounded by plastic fencing.
Very disappointing. We're leaving in the morning even though we exchanged RCI points for 3 days.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Me and my family just came back from Alahambra at Poinciania. We absoutely loved it. It was very comfortable, spacious, very clean,fully equipped with everything we needed, VERY QUIET. The staff was very friendly and told us great things to do, to help with expenses of the parks. We will definetly stay here again. We even made a friend, a big bird, who kept coming for bread. We had a great time here. I definetly recommend this resort, it gets a five star from my family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Maryanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed several times here & have been pretty happy each time. This time I got a 2 bedroom unit and was very pleased with that. The only thing it lacks is a fitness center, but you can go and work out at the Y for free. Very comfortable, well appointed and very helpful staff. Pool could have been cleaned out a bit more but it wasn't real bad. Also a nice feature by the pool is a lift for people who are handicapped. I haven't seen that anywhere before.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Bonnie123162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a two bedroom suite. Very nice. It was very comfy and efficient for spending a week at Disney. Yes its a bit of a drive from the parks but no Disney resort would have given us that much space for that price. It was like having a nice apartment. I could wash clothes as needed. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The pool was nice and warm. Loved the large tubs. It was helpful having a full kitchen that we could prepare meals in since we only ate in the parks once. We never took advantage of the use of the grill though wish we had. Was nice having several tvs in the rooms since it rained each day. Very quiet. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TammyS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poinciana
18.3 mi away
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
15.1 mi away
High Point World Resort
High Point World Resort
#34 of 152 in Kissimmee
206 reviews
13.0 mi away
Wyndham Cypress Palms
Wyndham Cypress Palms
#146 of 337 in Orlando
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Lifetime of Vacations Resort at Grand Lake
12.9 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts
Legacy Vacation Resorts
#12 of 59 in Kissimmee
1,151 reviews
11.7 mi away
Club Sevilla
Club Sevilla
#14 of 59 in Kissimmee
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra at Poinciana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra at Poinciana

Property: Alhambra at Poinciana
Address: 500 Cypress Pkwy, Poinciana, FL 34759-3310
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Poinciana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Poinciana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alhambra at Poinciana 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Alhambra At Poinciana Hotel Poinciana
Alhambra Poinciana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing