We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank God for Dennis and Abbi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Plantation
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
90 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Thank God for Dennis and Abbi”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is a hotel you want to AVOID simply because the majority of the staff are rude, inconsiderate and should be working at a Safari for crocodiles somewhere out in space.
Thank God for Dennis and Abi, they and the room's comfortable amentities are this venue's only redeeming qualities.
But comfortable amentities cannot compensate to paying loyal customers for rude staff. And the 'buffet breakfast' was terrible!!!!!
NOT returning ever to this facility.

Room Tip: Find another IHG facility in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneSaucyTrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear OneSaucyTrini,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Fort Lauderdale Plantation.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    148
    58
    17
    17
See reviews for
128
96
13
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leavenworth, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
140 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the last night of our trip. The room cost me $150 on a Friday night which is pretty good for this area. The room was very big, smelled good and was clean. The staff was professional and what we would expect from Holiday Inn. The breakfast buffet was pretty good. They just ran out of food quickly and it took awhile to get the refills.
The pool was small but very nice. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLLPL33322, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind remarks.
Please come again soon.

Sincerely,

Armando Valdes, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and its just ok. It's right next to a quality inn that has exterior door room entrances. The parking lot is not well lit and there was a shooting at the mall nearby the second night I was there. The hallways are not connected so you have to go down to a certain level to crossover to the next wing. Very inconvenient. Water pressure in the hotel shower STUNK!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5fillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLLPL33322, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your business.

Sincerely,

Armando Valdes, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The minute I checked-in there was only one out of two rooms ready when I requested an early check-in. The gentleman decided to take my credit card information for both rooms where He insisted that the second room would be ready after three pm and I would just have to pick-up my room key from the front desk. I arrived back to the hotel at 9pm and the Concierge (lady,red skin,solid built, & tall) was so rude. I told her I was there earlier and just came to pick-up my additional key. She replied, I'm going to need your credit card because I didn't deal with you earlier and you can't give you the room key until you sign the reg. card; again after I insisted that I already completed both cards. She was so rude with every reply. I stayed to the resort for five nights and will not return. When I needed towels for the pool the concierge gave me small bleached out faded towels, the concierge are never willing to assist. The only person who accommodated me during my stay was Abi. Abi granted a late checkout for me and was so pleasant. Abi was awesome!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Channi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLLPL33322, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for staying with us. I'm sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience with
our Front Desk. It is through comments such as your that we can better build on our service goals and measure our performance. Once again thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Armando Valdes, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
251 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I choose this hotel because of getting it with IHG points and because of the location: wanted to visit Sawgrass Mills and attend a Panthers game as well as arrive easily to our cruise at Port Everglades. I also wanted a hotel with free wifi, free parking and free breakfast. At Holiday Inn Plantation I got it all - with the extra of fridge in the room, pool (which i had not realized there is when booking) and very very very comfortable bed. My only complaint would be the door at the room - it was not noise proof. So we woke up one night when a staff member was obviously delivering account detail letters for speed checkout. He got a call and desided to stand just behind our door to talk to his phone at 5 am!
Elevator really looked like it needed a refurbish which evidently is on its way.
Service at front desk was exceptionally good: we had actually 2 bookings since they were done by reward points. They sorted it quickly so that we would keep the same room for both nights.
Breakfast was fine (little bit sweet to a Scandinavian) offering toast, yoghurt, pastries, pancakes, juice, coffee, cereals. Plastic & paper cups and utensiles, no china - but who cares since it is complimentary. My husband missed cheese - as there was only creamcheese available.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mari6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLLPL33322, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for stay ing with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time
with us. I will have a little conversation with our security guard. It is through
comments such as yours that we can measure our services.

Thanks again,

Armando Valdes, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Breakfast included everything that we wanted/needed and served to 10 am on Sunday to accommodate everyone who was waiting. Fitness room was a nice size and had 2 treadmills, cycle and elliptical. Room was big and looked like it was recently renovated. Location was within a few miles of the fabulous Sawgrass Shopping Mall and Ft Lauderdale Airport. If we are ever in this area we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Zoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLLPL33322, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
please come again.

Sincerely,

Armando Valdes, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siikajoki, Finland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We got to this hotel due Staybridge Suites forced us to move our reservation to this hotel. Room was big but AC nosy. We had 5 persons but room did not had all stuff for 5 available (like towels, blanket etc). Quite disappointing after 24 hours of traveling. Anyhow rather quiet area. Breakfast was better that average in Holiday Inn Express hotels as more salty/fruity choices available. Parking lot was big enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear plfin,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. I appreciate the positive remarks on our parking lot and breakfast selection that was served. We strive everyday to create special experiences to our guests and we are truly sorry we did not manage this on this day. Allow us to apologize for the inconvenience you may have had with the room accommodation and loud air conditioning unit. Your feedback will help us improve our services and offer a great experience for our guest. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plantation
4.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Sunrise - Sawgrass Mills
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Ft. Lauderdale Plantation
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sawgrass Grand Hotel
Sawgrass Grand Hotel
#4 of 4 in Sunrise
1,067 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Plantation at SW 6th St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation
Address: 1701 N University Dr, Plantation, FL 33322-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Plantation
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Plantation
#7 Business Hotel in Plantation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Plantation is set in a beautiful tropical environment, just minutes from Sawgrass Mills shopping mall, Sawgrass Corporate Park, the Bank Atlantic Center and only minutes from Ft. Lauderdale airport. The hotel is adjacent to the regional headquarters of Motorola, and within minutes of major offices for the following corporations: Nortel, American Express, Bell South, Nova SE University and the Sawgrass Corporate Park. We're just six miles west of Ft. Lauderdale in the flourishing Plantation area, less than 4 miles from Sawgrass Mills Mall and within twenty five minutes of the beach, Ft. Lauderdale Airport, Museum of Discovery and Science, Dolphin Stadium, Sawgrass Mills Outlet Mall (3 miles), Broward Mall (2 miles), Bank Atlantic Center (4 miles) and Broward Performing Arts Center. Visit Plantation, FL and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation
Holiday Inn Express Plantation
Holiday Inn Plantation
Plantation Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing