We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Plantation
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Plantation
Ft Lauderdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beware.”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

There's a reason this hotel is available so cheaply on Priceline, etc...you'll have to be pretty desperate to stay here. Arrived at 2:30 on a Saturday, room wasn't ready but we were advised to return in 45 min. Ok fine, understandable since they were sold out the night before. Toured the city for a bit and returned at 4:00 (45 min after our promised time, mind you!), room STILL not ready. Had to wait in the lobby another hour before the room was finally done. All we wanted to do was a quick cleanup and then hit the town; this delay ruined our plans for the entire day. Management was apologetic but offered no compensation. Once we did check in, had to walk thru the common halls and the stench was absolutely unbearable. As in, sick to your stomach bad. Room itself was clean and livable but clearly dated. This hotel obviously was not orignally a Mariott property and does not meet their usual standards of comfort and cleanliness. Called corporate a couple of days later to register our concerns and the Presidential customer service rep says the hotel checked us in at 4:01!!! This property is so far below standards that the corporate office has to flat out lie about it to save face! Please folks, spend a few bucks more and just stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank n0namehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    146
    59
    38
    30
See reviews for
177
80
26
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
319 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Found this to be a solid Residence Inn. The rooms were typical for an RI, comfortable and reasonably spacious. Flatscreens are now the norm at RIs. Complimentary Wireless internet was "ok" in speed but not great. There is a Macaroni Grill right across the parking lot and many other restaurants a mile or two straight down the road. Complimentary breakfast was fine although they got overwhelmed by tons of kids in town for a soccer tourney. Staff was generally pleasant. In short, a solid stay.

Room Tip: We got a really good rate on the two bedroom but if one wants to save some $$, the one bedroom rates...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert_B037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed here for a night and was very impressed. The hotel is older and needs a renovation. Sharicka the front desk supervisor is so sweet and helpful. she went out of her way to help me even though she was extremely busy and working alone. she even got the maintanence guy to help with my luggage. The hotel staff overall is professional and caring. Breakfast is a great value. The waffles are delicious. If you're looking for a new hotel dont stay here but if you value outstanding service then this is the place to stay in plantation.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmy2uguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This hotel is listed as a 3-star property. It's more like 2 or 2.5. The refrigerator made noise constantly, the main a/c vent looked like it hadn't been cleaned for months, the bathroom sink/counter was great if you're a child...average all the way. Rooms need renovation to get up to par with most other Marriott propeties I've stayed in. A complimentary breakfast is served, but it was meager. On the plus side: spacious rooms, courteous staff, great location, easy parking.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TedinNaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Fl
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

I want to start by saying the the front desk staff was incredibly courteous, patient and sweet. We had called to request an early check-in, and were told to come right away, no problem. We had our entire closet and fridge with us; as we were displaced from our home; due to electrical problems. When we got there; the ground floor unit we requested was taken, and they gave us a 2nd floor unit. We had to walk forever to get to the unit; and when we got off the elevator, the entire floor smelled like mold. When we opened the room; it smelled like fish. The kitchen was grimy; old, and there was crusted food stains on the stove elements; which were also bent upwards. The rooms were tiny, and the living room furniture look like it came from a thrift shop. We could't stay there, and they had us wait for a supposed 40 minutes for another room to be cleaned. 2 1/2 hours later, we were told that the room was clean, but that there was a mandatory carpet steam cleaning to be done, which would cause another 2 hours of wet rug. We lost it completely, and left. By the way; the carpet in the lobby had areas that had lifted, and they were duct taped down; and the internet took 30 minutes to log on, and you couldn't go into any travel sites except priceline, or do any banking. You had to log into facebook or twitter first; and then log out and go into hotmail or priceline...that's all you could do. I am really surprised; as I have stayed in 2 other Residence inns before; Aventura, FL and Vaughan, Ontario, Canada; and they were spotless with stainless steel appliances, and granite counters; 46 inch tv's etc... typical of Marriot properties. Once again; the staff was sweet as pie, but they just couldn't do anything about the property.

Room Tip: Just leave. The insurance company is paying for this; but our 2 bedroom otherwise would have cost $1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
Level Contributor
172 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

It's your typical Residence Inn architecture which I like. You know what to expect. But the hotel needs some work. The rooms smell like an old hotel that used to be a smoking hotel and they masked it by painting. The halls and doors are dirty and run down.

The room is very clean though (sheets are a bit rough) and the cleaning staff is thorough. The front desk staff is very nice. Ample parking. TV is just so so but the internet works great which is really important for me. Close to a lot of shopping!

I'd stay if I had to (the hotels in Ft. Lauderdale were not able to accommodate my 2 week stay) but I'd look for something closer to downtown next time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

My husband and I went for the weekend for a Miami Dolphins Game. The location is perfect. Centrally located to many things in south florida. The room was a very reasonable price. Our room had a full kitchenette with plenty of space. Breakfast was excellent with waffles, eggs etc,. The staff was friendly and the room very clean. we will be staying here again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heth25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plantation hotels
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Ft. Lauderdale Plantation
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Plantation
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Plantation

Property: Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Plantation
Address: 130 N University Dr, Plantation, FL 33324-2016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Plantation
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Plantation
#5 Family Hotel in Plantation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Plantation 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Plantation has brand-new suites and features the ideal amenities to make it the perfect extended stay Fort Lauderdale hotel. Conveniently located off I-595, our Plantation hotel is just 15 minutes from the Fort Lauderdale International Airport and the Fort Lauderdale Cruise Ports. Guests appreciate the close proximity to travel destinations such as the BB&T Center, Sun Life Stadium, and downtown Miami. Our new, pet-friendly suites include free WiFi, separate living area with pullout sofa, stylish furnishings and 50% more space than rooms at other Planation hotels. The highlight of every suite is the fully-equipped kitchen with stainless steel appliances. We even have free grocery delivery to help stock your fridge. If you don't want to cook, enjoy a complimentary breakfast buffet each morning with a variety of fruits, cereals, and entrees including Belgian waffles. Maintain an active lifestyle in our 24-hour fitness center or outdoor Sport Court or just relax at our outdoor pool. Local travel is easy with the free shuttle service, making this the perfect Fort Lauderdale/Plantation Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation Hotel Plantation
Residence Inn Plantation
Plantation Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing