We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Choose rooms carefully” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sawgrass Inn & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sawgrass Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Plantation
Dallas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Choose rooms carefully”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

In a complex of other hotels, a little off the beaten path. It sounded nice, but not quite to expectations. The 1st room we tried had cockroaches on the bed, the 2nd the AC didn't work, the 3rd was just fine. On all occasions the staff was helpful in quickly providing another room
Hotel does provide breakfast
The hotel shuttle is NOT free, $35

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LT_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    59
    44
    78
See reviews for
63
44
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

I had a 3 nights stay, hated it. The worst experience ever. My telephone and TV never worked until the day I was coming out. Room had a heavy cigarette smoke odor. and No house keeping for 3 days. Called the front desk and only to be informed by the staff that they only clean the room upon check out. When called to address the issue, I got a rude manger accusing me of asking discount or a free night stay.while I had already paid for my stay through Priceline. Com. And I was not going to stay in the place even if it was free. I see a one star in hotel category, this hotel deserves none.
And they know nothing about service including managers.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank meleasha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, New Jersey
Level Contributor
299 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

I can't rate this place as average for the business traveler. The Business Center printer is small, cramped and lacking of adequate office supplies or equipment. There is free wifi but the room I was in had an odor and the carpets were clean but worn. The front desk clerks were attentive but overall this was a less than average hotel stay experience for a weary traveler.

Room Tip: The rates are marginally lower than a few surrounding hotels.... pay a little more to get a few more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JDRolle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Impressive entrance and reception. Our room was on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool and terrace. There was a lift - walk to the far end of the pool area, up in the lift and retrace our steps all the way back again. The room was clean with all the bits we expected. The hotel was quiet overnight. Breakfast - not what we had hoped for, though normal for this chain of hotels. The room was dark and the 'buffet' was along one wall. There were some choices - bread was brown or white, tea was decaf or normal, coffee was available. Fruit juice was from jugs. The 'hot' buffet' was interesting - very thin, flat, round oatcake things that passed for eggs and something dark brown and crispy. There is a third choice here - don't bother. Yoghurt is available in the cold cabinet - along with semi-frozen hard boiled eggs. All the crockery and cutlery is plastic and you clear the rubbish away yourself.
The average score is for the room - breakfast doesn't deserve any score at all.

Room Tip: Stay at the hotel next door if you want breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Healan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Even though we had a receipt showing our "guaranteed" double room, the hotel only had us in a king size room- there were 3 of us. They offered to bring in a roll-away (at midnight) since they screwed up. When we approached the room, we noticed the room next to ours had the door bashed in- looked like a scene from Cops or the result of a domestic dispute. We tried to stay but, the room reeked so badly of smoke and mold- we had to leave. Literally, we opened the door and the aroma about knocked us over. We promptly went to the front desk and cancelled our reservation. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank S_FamilyFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

stayed several days and the breakfast is always the same eggs with bread and jam
breakfast not change even one day
the room is clean but the outer areas are dirty
this good for the price as it is cheap

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio Enrique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed 3 nights as a Platinum member for the 3rd year in a row. Upon arrival no acknowledgement nor understanding of the Platinum status when requesting an upgrade. Upon first arrival in room desk light was broken, wall socket did not work as did not the room phone, and the bathroom was dirty. The air conditioner was atrocious and mold was clearly visible. Asked front desk personnel to have matters taken care of as we would be back later. Returning to the hotel later that night, nothing had been done and we asked to speak to the manager but was told the manager was busy and would contact us. The next morning we reported the complaint again to the front desk and asked to speak to the manage but was told the manager was not on the premises.. We gave the desk clerk our cell number and asked the manager to call us. As we did not receive a call during the day we went to the front desk upon our return that evening to the hotel and again asked to speak to the manager. This time we were told the manager was busy at the moment but was aware of our complaints. We asked to change rooms but told none were available. Wanting to get a shower after being out in the Florida sun all day we headed to the room only to find no bathroom towels. Couldn't call the desk as the phone still did not work in the room so had to walk to the front desk of this huge complex. The desk clerk had towels delivered to the room. The next morning before heading out for the day, we went to the desk to speak to the manager and again the manager was unavailable. Once again we asked the manager to call our cell phone. Since not hearing from the manager all day we returned to the hotel and asked to speak to the manager. As before, the manager was unavailable and like the night before we found no bath towels in our room once we got into the room. Upon checking out the next morning, we asked to speak with the manager. The clerk, with quite an abrupt attitude only asked what it would take to make us happy. After a terse (but no raised voices) we were refunded the cost of 1 night stay. All of this could have been avoided with a single call from the manager.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank batterup55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plantation
1.2 mi away
Sawgrass Grand Hotel
Sawgrass Grand Hotel
#4 of 4 in Sunrise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation
4.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Sunrise - Sawgrass Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Ft. Lauderdale Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawgrass Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawgrass Inn & Conference Center

Property: Sawgrass Inn & Conference Center
Address: 1711 N University Dr, Plantation, FL 33322-4108 (Formerly Quality Inn Sawgrass Conference Center)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Plantation
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Plantation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sawgrass Inn & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Expedia so you can book your Sawgrass Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Sawgrass Hotel Plantation
Quality Inn Plantation
Plantation Hotel Conference Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing