We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop for breakfast!”

The Original Pancake House
Price range: $0 - $20
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great stop for breakfast!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Friendly service and good old fashioned country breakfast. Be sure to come hungry, huge servings! Parking is limited, but worth waiting for a spot on busy weekends.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lissy002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    31
    10
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Must go for breakfast !!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The place is a little noisy but the food is great...you get your pancakes just about anyway you want it....the fruit toppings is fresh and plentiful and the orange juice is fresh squeeze ...which is the way you suppose to serve orange juice in Florida......highly recommend.....

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VACATIONMAN1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Horrible service”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I am a father of two small boys. This place used to be very good. Unfortunately, this place over the past year has gone horribly downhill.

The service there was very cold and impersonal. The waitress did not tell me about their new pancake decorating so my kids missed out. She took our order and left. The only positive thing was the food came out in fifteen minutes. Sort of, Because the place was empty. Additionally, I ordered eggs Benedict, not hard boiled eggs. Unfortunately very small hard boiled eggs are what I got on my lukewarm eggs Benedict.

Two minutes later my kids had to use the restroom. I searched for the waitress, found her, and told her that we were not finished but hsing the restroom. She barely acknowledged me but nodded and I went to the restroom. I returned three minutes later to find my table halfway cleared and someone there finishing the job. I stopped him but he had already taken away my childrens' food. They were so upset. As was I.

The worst part was no manager came, no apology was offered from anyone and nothing was done except to make another plate while my hungry children were waiting. I will never return to this horrible place again unless new management and staff are hired.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mathman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great for a value lunch”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Enjoyed this place. The omlettes and pancakes were very good, and the staff were very friendly. Overall can't complain!
Good value and pleasant environment.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eddie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“pancakes and more”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

good food but nothing outstanding . Fair prices .

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Pancake House also viewed

Plantation, Broward County
Plantation, Broward County
 
Plantation, Broward County
Plantation, Broward County
 

Been to The Original Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing