We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but not nice enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Plantation
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level Contributor
557 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“nice but not nice enough”
Reviewed April 7, 2010

I had to stay here instead of the Hollywood beach place Marriott due to it being booked for spring break and cruises.....since I am platinum I get a nice room and concierge level. But this hotel is not as nice as the Hollywood. The service was bad and the concierge level was pitiful. The room was clean but is away from Fort Lauderdale and in the burbs off the highway. Too far from the beach but close to the airport. I would not chose to stay here again but the rates were very good

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms.go-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    224
    73
    24
    22
See reviews for
138
160
40
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2010

First off I'm not one of these "Tripadvisor users turned Hotel Room Inspector" types that complain about every little thing, but this one wasn't quite up to par or better yet "up to price". I guess this hotel is mostly for business travelers. The Good: Location is good and easy to get to; Coffee bar has Starbucks coffee for the morning; many TV viewing options; front desk staff will help you with directions and are overall nice....you can tell they are trying. Bathroom decent...nice shower.
The Bad: Rooms are way too small for the price of $180.00. We've stayed at a Ritz-Carlton for that price! I know, I know, it's Plantation, but wow, throw in a breakfast or something. Really no frills included....kinda disapointing. Carpet worn, fixtures dusty, no big deal, but rooms need a bit of attention to detail.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suavecito11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captiva, fl
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Started out with a new desk clerk, who was getting No Help from her 2 associates. Purchased a night which included a $50.00 gift card to local Sawgrass Mills Outlet . She, nor any of the other clerks, had any idea of what that was. I was told Card would be delivered to the Room. Never was. Finally got a Manager the next morning to issue the Card. Since I'm a Marriott Gold Member, I Asked for a quiet room room. Was given one along the highway. Went to the Restaurant. What a disaster! Asked waiter to find out the year of a certain Cabernet. He had to locate the Manager, who was the only one permitted a key to the Wine Cellar to check. Waited 5 minutes. Not satisfied, asked for the 1/2 bottle of Cab which was on list. Waiter had to again get Mgr with key. Waited another 10 minutes. Waiter came back and said they were out of that wine! 15 minutes- still No Wine+No Order! No exaggeration. True Story! Finally just asked what I could get so that a key wasn't necessary, and another 5 minutes later - finally had a glass of wine!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csheetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Don't understand why this hotel is considered a 4 star. The room was like any two star standard hotel. The front desk staff are clueless. Just because they write down in a little book that you requested a taxi at a certain time, does not mean that anyone actually called them. I confirmed multiple times that evening and morning that a taxi to take our party of 5 with lots of luggage to the airport at a designated time. We ended up having to pay double the amount for two taxis and were late for our flight.

I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hyjun24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mesa, az
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2009

We stayed at this hotel post transatlantic cruise. We wanted to try this one as we had such a great experience at the Renaissance in Boulder, Colorado. One of the biggest differences was the size of the room and missing amenities. The one in Boulder was much bigger. This one was the size of a standard hotel. Other than that it was a nice room. The bed was soft and comfortable. Another highlight was the staff. We did get to the hotel early in the morning and the staff was able to check us right in. It was great to unload our many suitcases. They were great with answering all our questions and concerns. I needed a scale to weigh my luggage for the trip home the next day. They did not have a portable one and suggested I use the large one in the workout room. That did the trick. I would highly recommend this hotel. If you are a Marriott Rewards member, you can hook up your laptop in the room and get unlimited internet service for free. They also have two computers for free use near the lobby with a printer. Great for printing your boarding passes.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tally10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2009

My husband, daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights while we visited my son. The staff is warm and helpful, the room was extremely clean and the fruit flavored water in the lobby is delicious! I could not have been happier with our experience. The pool was inviting and clean and we had it pretty much to ourselves every time we went. The hotel is near the Broward Mall and many local restaurants. It is very convenient to be so close to 595. We got an incredible price through priceline and this was a truly wonderful hotel. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganMusicmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale, fl
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

The Renaissance Hotel in Plantation, FL is quite a surprise. It is close to 595 at the Pine Island exit and nestled in a small business park (though all buildings are around a lovely, landscaped lake, so it doesn't feel like a "business park" at all). I've always thought of this location as ideal for business travelers or those needing access to next day cruise departures, the airport, etc. Certainly the location fits the bill for this type of traveler. But do NOT be put off by the fact that this hotel is in "western Broward County" instead of near the beach. The property is absolutely lovely with the finer appointments and the quality of service of any fine hotel that charges twice or more the rate. What a gem, what a find!

Most of the staff will go out of their way to get to know you and call you by name throughout your stay. The rooms are beautifully appointed and absolutely quiet despite the proximity to the busy highway. The landscaping, the lobby, the common areas and fitness room are maintained to perfection. The linens are upscale as are the bath products. In addition the restaurant, Bin 595, serves a bountiful buffet each morning and has 24 hour room service...try the specialty sandwiches. Again, the quality of the food is that of any upscale hotel that will charge twice the price! There is a small and intimate bar and lots of meeting rooms etc. The only small compaint is that the pool itself was not as pristine as the rest of the property. The chairs, the towels and the landscaping were lovely. But the the pool definitely needed to be serviced and the quality of the water kept us from having two "night swims"...with everything else so "top notch" and "first class" we were a bit surprised that the water was not sparkling clear and clean. Overall, I rate this hotel an A+. I would recommend this hotel to any category of traveler...at the Renaissance Plantation, you can stay in a fine and luxurious hotel for a mid-range rate, yet have access to beach, malls, highways, restaurants, etc. Enjoy and reserve a room here with confidence!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamamooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plantation hotels
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation
1.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Ft. Lauderdale Plantation
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel

Property: Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel
Address: 1230 S Pine Island Rd, Plantation, FL 33324-4402 (Formerly Renaissance Plantation Fort Lauderdale)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Plantation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Plantation
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plantation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel boasts style and sophistication, making it a top choice among Fort Lauderdale, FL hotels. Located adjacent to the Jacaranda Golf Club, our luxury property features unique amenities including an outdoor resort-style pool, an onsite restaurant (Bin595), and more than 10,000 square feet of beautifully-appointed event space. Modern guest rooms feature Renaissance PLUSH luxury bedding, microwaves and mini refrigerators, and Wi-FI. Our Fort Lauderdale boutique hotel is located just minutes from all South Florida has to offer including Sun Life Stadium, Sawgrass Mills Mall, and the BB&T Center. As a member of the Florida Green Lodging program, Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel has been awarded the prestigious Energy Star label for efforts in protecting our environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Plantation Fort Lauderdale Hotel Plantation
Plantation Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing