We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated older Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Plantation
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

The Renaissance Hotel is located on 17th Street it is a nice place to stay if your going on a cruise out the Port Everglades Cruise Terminal.I gave it a 4 out of 5 only because it is an Older Hotel, but it was a nice place to stay. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful.Their is a nice Italian Restaurant across the parking lot in the strip mall we ate at called Bravo that was excellent. A few blocks away we walked to a Einstein Bros Bagels for breakfast that is awesome. Their is a shuttle the hotel provides to the cruise port for $11 per person. Very slick.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_lanterman, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Hi, Nancy!

Thank you for taking the time to review my hotel! Our hotel is the "youngest" hotel within the competitive group. We are proud to have had a $6M renovation competed in 2012 including restaurant, lobby, meeting space and guest rooms. We are proud to offer the best product in all of Plantation/Airport/Sawgrass. We look forward to serving you again in the future!!

At your service,


David Lanterman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 622 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed at the Renaissance Plantation after our cruise, as we were not flying out until the following day. We rented a car from Thrifty/Dollar at the port (the free rental car shuttle showed up just as we exited customs and we were the only passengers) and returned it at the airport, using frequent renter points. We chose the Renaissance Plantation as it was the best price in town for that day...and the price actually dropped two times after our booking, so we were able to rebook at a rate of $161 plus tax/fees.

The Renaissance has a lovely contemporary sparkly lobby, complete with spa water and a myriad of seating areas. There was a very small marketplace off the lobby with snacks, etc. As no prices were posted, I can't comment on their affordability.

We arrived quite early from our cruise (as HAL's latest debarkation time was 9:30), around 10:30 am. We inquired at the desk if a room might possibly be available, but Janelle told us no rooms were ready at that time. We asked for an estimated time and she couldn't promise but guessed it would be a couple of hours. We were fine with waiting and settled in the lobby to catch up on e-mail, after a week on the cruise ship.

A nice gentleman, David, passed by and we asked if it would possible to have a password for the internet, as we were waiting to check in and my husband is a Gold member (so internet is free for him). He seemed surprised that we were not able to check in and instantly handed us a slip of paper with a password for the wifi, then set about to get a room for us. He gave us a lovely room on the concierge floor. His commitment to customer service was spot on and truly impressed us.

The room was spacious and the bed, pillows, and linens were of good quality and very comfortable. The bathroom was of good size and in good repair, other than one dark chip on the tub. The mirror and accessories were elegant in silver and black. The Aveda products were a nice change after a week of cruise ship products. There was a weird retro photo mural wallpaper in the bathroom that fit the black and white theme but definitely was a surprising juxtaposition to the rest of the elegant surroundings. Our room was quiet, and the staff kindly extended our stay from 11 to 12 noon since we had a late afternoon flight. Much appreciated!

The concierge was helpful, recommending activities such as area malls, parks, the beach, and the like. The area lake is nice, and the pool looked inviting. The hotel is located in a business park, so it's really only a good choice if you have a vehicle. We heard one family quoted a price of $55 for four to the cruise port, so this is a factor to weigh into your stay if you don't have a vehicle.

TIP: Do NOT take the Everglades Airboat tour. It is $50 a person and quite disappointing. Our family took it, and they only saw 1 alligator and then had to stand in a hot long line for 20 minutes to see a short alligator show--which was viewed standing only, so truly only the first row of individuals could see it anyway.

Since it was the weekend, the concierge lounge was not staffed nor supplied with food, but our room key did open it, which is unusual for Marriotts. There were bottled waters, Pepsi, Diet Pepsi, and Sierra Mist in the fridge, which were much appreciated, especially since there are no vending machines on the floors, only ice machines, despite the signage indicating they are there. I believe there is a single vending machine on floor 2.

Breakfast: On the weekends, Gold/Platinum members are given two complimentary breakfasts in the restaurant, since the lounge is closed. Our waitress was very helpful and welcoming. The full breakfast buffet normally runs $36 for two, and it included lots of yummy fresh fruit (bananas, blackberries, pineapple, melon, etc.), cereals, breads, yogurt, oatmeal, made to order omelets, and more hot items as well as milk, juice, etc. It was very good and easy to find healthy options. Although the free pass for breakfast says that gratuity is included, our ticket had a large red stamp on it that read "gratuity not included." We were happy to tip our very helpful server and just recommend that the pass be updated with correct information.

THE LAUNDRY ROOM: This is the one area of the Renaissance that is sorely lacking. Three old uncomfortable formal chairs (probably from a meeting room?) and two very old washers and dryers make up this unwelcoming, ugly, unattractive room. Since my husband was flying directly from a week on the cruise to his next business trip (also at a Marriott!), he needed to do laundry. Since one washer was taken by another guest who had not returned to gather their belongings, he just used the single available washer. After two rotations in the dryer, his clothing (light to moderate weight) was STILL not dry! I returned to the lobby to obtain more quarters and mentioned that the dryer might need servicing as two rotations had not done the job. (At home, one is plenty.) Instead of apologizing, the young man at the desk complained that I was taking the last of his quarters. I thought he might offer to comp a load, but he did not. I did offer that he could find plenty more quarters up in the laundry room, as that was where we had deposited the rest!

Single load boxes of Tide are available at the desk for $1. Each rotation in the very old washers/dryers are $2 each.

TIP to Renaissance: Beach goers and travelers alike would LOVE to enter a well lit attractive laundry room with comfy seating, a nice flat screen tv, large front loading washers & dryers (at least 3 of each), a coin change machine, complimentary bottled water, vending machine with detergent, drinks, snacks, etc. It would be especially nice if you have the feature available at Universal's Royal Pacific where you receive a text message, if desired, when your laundry is done so that you can wait comfortably in your room. Can you imagine how guests will feel entering a laundry room to do a dreaded chore and finding comfort and luxury? What a gift to your guests for a small investment!

Meals: There are a number of area restaurants in a 5 to 10 minute drive. Wanting to experience some Cuban, we tried Las Vegas and found their combo platter with pulled pork and beef and sweet chicken with rice, black beans, and plantains (best I've ever had!) to be delicious. It was enough for two to share for under $20. We had their churrasco petite steak the second day for lunch, and it was not as good as Padrino's. They do also have chicken tenders for picky kids!

For dinner, we ate at another Cuban spot, Padrino's, and had their Churrasco Steak. FABULOUS! Tender, delicious, and flavorful! Their plaintains were also good, but their black beans were amazing! We again shared the entrée, which was under $20. It's located in an open shopping center with many restaurants and stores, if you need to pick up any supplies for your trip. We loved having a taste of local culture, and found both of these restaurants to surpass the food we had in San Juan!

All in all, if you have a good rate and have a vehicle, then the Renaissance is a nice hotel and very restful!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaryPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_lanterman, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

CaryPlanner -

I need to hire you as our concierge!! Thank you for providing all of our customers with an overview of the market and amenities. I appreciate your feedback and positive comments. Next time, I hope you will consider giving us 5/5 - we strive for excellence here at the Renaissance!

At your service,


David Lanterman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Very disappointed. Came down with elderly parents for almost a week -- two rooms. Not cleaned for several days.. did a lot of complaining and they just said sorry we're short staffed. No towels by pool. Bathroom by pool was trashed (toilet paper all over). Half filled beers stayed by outside benches for several days... just nasty. Got some food from restaurant and it was horrible. Almost a joke if you weren't paying big bucks. Newspapers few and far between... and you have to pay for wifi (cheaper hotels give you free wifi). Have stayed in many Ft. Lauderdale hotels and thought I was upgrading with this one. Big Mistake. Never again...

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunnyTravel129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_lanterman, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

I am very grateful that you provided this feedback. This is not a positive experience and we are committed to making it right. Unfortunately, I do not have your direct contact information. Can you please take a moment to reach out to me directly at (954) 472-2252. You and your feedback matter. Thank you for taking the time to communicate with us about your stay.

At your service,

David Lanterman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed here for two nights, during Florida stay for a visit to Sawgrass Mills and I stayed here three years ago and was impressed by the hotel and its staff.

This time I was underwhelmed. We checked in mid afternoon after quite a long drive from the Gulf Coast. Check in wasn't busy but a got little more than a grunt from the agent as I checked in and no information about the hotel etc.

The room was fine - clean and comfortable with two queen beds. First stop was the exec lounge for a coffee - no! There was water and juice in the fridge but no coffee - I don't think I have ever known that in an exec lounge before. Clearly they are pushing customers to the Starbucks downstairs.

The pool was okay but some of the doors, facilities and fittings were looking tatty and in need of a remodel. There was nothing major wrong with the hotel, but equally, there was no wow-factor, either with the building or its staff.

The drinks in the lounge in the evening are very expensive - I have got used to the comp drinks you get in UK, Europe, Asia and Australia.

Breakfast in the lounge was good - the staff also worked hard re-stocking and clearing tables making it a pleasant experience.

All in all, no disaster, but I won't bother going back. There are a huge number of hotels to choose from in the area and this one does very little to encourage repeat business.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick_Harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_lanterman, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Nick -

Thank you for taking the time to respond. Feedback like this is valued and will help us continually improve. I would love the opportunity to service you again in the future. Could you possibly provide me with your contact information so we can discuss further?

You and your business matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I loved this hotel. It was decorated stylishly with metallic colored leather furniture in the lobby and an attractive bar. Free parking. The pool and hot tub were clean and wonderful. They close at 10:00, but we were told that the staff doesn't mind if you stay later as long as you are quiet. The towels and amenities were great. The room was clean and comfortable. One bed had down pillows and the other had synthetic, so I called room service and two more down pillows were delivered promptly. There was a small lake right outside our window, so the view was lovely. The staff was extremely pleasant. I loved our stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_lanterman, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for the great feedback! Your comments will be shared with our entire team. On behalf of all 110 team members, thank you for staying with us! We know you have a choice of hotels when you travel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Rooms were small, but clean. However, the bathroom door in our room wouldn't close all the way. When checking in we were given a room with two double beds when we reserve a king - however, they quickly moved us to the requested reservation. Definitely a business persons hotel. Breakfast was expensive - $30 for eggs for the two of us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbieinsc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_lanterman, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to respond. Your opinion matters! I will share your comments with our entire team as we continue to strive for excellence.

On behalf of all 110 Renaissance Plantation team members, thank you for your business. We know you have a choice of hotels when you travel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Not only is this a nice hotel, but you can park and lock your car here in an expansive lot for no charge. No shuttle available, but a taxi round-trip cost ($70 including tip) is less than parking at the port for 5 days, so a 7-day (or more) cruiser really saves. Great restaurant within walking distance of the hotel (Bokampers).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_lanterman, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Richard -

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We also believe the hotel represents a GREAT value! Our hotel strives to be the best hotel in Plantation. This type of feedback will be circulated throughout our hotel.

I know you have a choice of hotels when you travel. On behalf of all 110 Renaissance Plantation team members, thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plantation
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Suites Fort Lauderdale Plantation
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation
4.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Sunrise - Sawgrass Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Plantation
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Plantation at SW 6th St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel

Address: 1230 S Pine Island Rd, Plantation, FL 33324-4402 (Formerly Renaissance Plantation Fort Lauderdale)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Plantation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Plantation
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plantation
Price Range: $125 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel boasts style and sophistication, making it a top choice among Fort Lauderdale, FL hotels. Located adjacent to the Jacaranda Golf Club, our luxury property features unique amenities including an outdoor resort-style pool, an onsite restaurant (Bin595), and more than 10,000 square feet of beautifully-appointed event space. Modern guest rooms feature Renaissance PLUSH luxury bedding, microwaves and mini refrigerators, and Wi-FI. Our Fort Lauderdale boutique hotel is located just minutes from all South Florida has to offer including Sun Life Stadium, Sawgrass Mills Mall, and the BB&T Center. As a member of the Florida Green Lodging program, Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel has been awarded the prestigious Energy Star label for efforts in protecting our environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Plantation Fort Lauderdale Hotel Plantation
Plantation Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing