We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great stay for the national championship game” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Plantation
Certificate of Excellence
Chickamauga, Georgia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great stay for the national championship game”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had chose this hotel because of its location to Sun Life Stadium and the national championship game. It was a great hotel, with great service. It was really nice after the national championship game to come straight down the road in front of the hotel and miss all of the traffic from the stadium. If you are going to a ballgame at Sun Life Stadium, this is the place to stay. We were also told while we were staying there that this is the hotel for the Dolphins training camp.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenelizondo, Director of Sales at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us during the BCS Campionship games! We are indeed the place to be for many sporting events from the local ballfields to the the BB&T Center and many more. We appreciate the great review and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    218
    60
    21
    20
See reviews for
128
151
37
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
235 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The first room we receive smelled of putrid air freshener. The hotel apparently, sprays all their rooms after cleaning them. It was so horrible that we had to immediately leave the room.
The front panel on the bathroom sink was cracked. The hotel agreed to change our rooms while we were out for the day. We requested that when our room was changed, that a second luggage rack was added and that all decorative pillows per our hotel reservation be removed. We arrived that night at 11:30 pm to find that the pillows were not removed and a second luggage rack was not added. It took three requests to finally receive a luggage rack and bathrobes. IIt should not even take one request. I should not have to explain to the Bellman that if the luggage belongs on a luggage rack, a second rack is needed if there are two pieces of luggage.

The bathrobes are only provided upon request. We were initially, told that we couldn't receive them since we weren't on the concierge floor. After speaking with a Manager, I learned that this was not accurate. The hotel was at full capacity and ran out of bathrobes. This is unacceptable since we were paying premium rates. The hotel should have a sufficient number of bathrobes. Full capacity should not mean higher rates and worst service. If a hotel is going to charge premium rates then they need to increase their amenities and staff as well.

There was no service by the pool. To order food, we had to press a button and speak into a microphone as if we were at a drive thru restaurant. Food is served in take-out containers. Plates are not permitted by the pool because of safety issues. Somehow, resorts around the world can manage plates but not this hotel. As a result, people order in food from other restaurants with a myriad of take-out bags at the pool including ihop. I have never seen this at another hotel.

No one clears the food so post-lunch, the place looks like a mess. I have low expectations when I am paying $89 a night at a Marriott Courtyard but not when I am paying $259 for what I thought was Marriott's boutique hotel. We were told the hotel is usually, a business hotel and the pool is not really used. Then why have one?

Room service is also a mess. We tried to order cheese and fruit to take with us on our outing. Instead of delivering it in the morning, it arrived at night. In the morning, they sent what looked like a kiddy bag lunch. The manager did correct and comped it which was very nice. When he was done, it was beautiful. But, again, three tries. After a while, it was just exhausting and not an enjoyable experience.

My Marriott points were not added despite confirming that the reservation contained my award number.

If Marriott wants to be in the boutique hotel business than it needs to fix their service. Adding a fancy lobby and Aveda bath products does not make a boutique hotel. Service is critical. The staff at this hotel needs better training. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intrepidtraveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenelizondo, Director of Sales at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your candid feedback, we are terribly sorry that your experience was unfavorable. We strive to provide each guest with a first class experience and unfortunately we failed to deliver in your case. I assure you that we will take every measure to ensure that we correct those items mentioned throughout your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for the New Year when coming down for the Orange Bowl. The hotel is near an office complex but that is the only less than spectacular thing about the hotel. The hotel is uniquely modern and well maintained. Once inside I felt like I was transported to one of my favorite hotels in New York City. We visited the pool and bar which was lovely. The staff in the bar was everything you look for from professionals in the hospitality industry. Do yourself a favor and try the bar and restaurant. It was friendly and the drink quality was excellent. (I did mention it was New Years right!?) For us the location was great. We had short drives to the beach and great access to local dining. I highly recommend and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinslayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenelizondo, Director of Sales at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We are extremely happy that you had a wonderful experience with us over the New Year! Each ambassador takes great pride in its state of the art product and exceptional service that we deliver for all of our guests. We appreciate the great review and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
245 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel is on the edge of a business park, but we were there at a weekend before picking up a cruise. The lobby has the usual Renaissance makeover of oversize chairs, mirrored surfaces and various objects scattered around, so makes for a smart first impression. The rooms, though perfectly adequate, still have rather old-fashioned furnishings, more like an unreformed Holiday Inn, with just one or two Renaissance touches - odd-shaped purple pillow, smart desk chair. The restaurant evening menu seems a bit unexciting, but the bar menu is more tempting. Good and generous breakfast. Friendly, helpful reception staff; distinct lack of bellhops. Short drive to Port Everglades or to the enormous Sawgrass Mills for outlet shopping.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel looks a little dated on the outside but don't let the looks deceive you. The hotel lobby is very nice, clean and modern. The rooms are large and well appointed and clean. Hotel was quiet except the doors slamming in the morning. Location is always about where do you want to be. It is convenient to 595 which takes you east and west through broward couinty and connects you to the Sawgrass, Turnpike, and I95. Also, very near Lauderdale Airport. The club level was adequate. Breakfast was good but not great. The evening was nice. ....more like a dinner. we missed dessert. I just don't know why Marriott doesn't have the club open on the weekends when the hotel is busy or at least give a voucher for bkfst in the dinning room. Didn't eat in the hotel dinning room but it was pretty and the lounge looked really nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaTourist_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenelizondo, Director of Sales at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments...being teh center it all allows each of our travelers to enjoy the hotel and the local area, whether your visit is business or pleasure. We appreciate the great review and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were on our way to Puerto Rico to get married when our midnight flight was canceled (thank you Spirit Airlines). We had already been traveling about 11 hours as we are from LA and were absolutely exhausted. I had complained enough to the airline about our canceled flight that they gave us a voucher to stay at the Renaissance for the night until they could get us on the next flight to our destination.

The airline also gave us cab vouchers and told us simply to go to "The Renaissance Hotel". Well, there are two Renaissances and the cab driver originally took us to the wrong one (using our voucher). We had to get a second cab to go to the other Renaissance hotel and by that point, only had about 3 hours of down time before having to return to the airport. We decided to go to the bar to have a snack and a drink.

We got to the hotel bar about 1/2 hour before it closed. After hearing about what we had been through, the night manager and bartender did everything they could to help make our night better- they allowed us to use the vouchers from the airlines for our adult beverages (normally not allowed), gave us a couple of free drinks and let us hang out about an hour after they closed. These two ladies really made our night and helped to make an awful situation not seem so awful. I have to say they are great at their jobs.

The room itself was very nice with a comfortable bed. Everything was very clean.

Great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliKarenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenelizondo, Director of Sales at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We are very happy to hear that we were able to make postive experience at our hotel. Each ambassador' goal is to ensure that each guest has a great experience whether short or long term. We appreciate the review and congratulations on your marriage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The staff was very nice, courteous, and helpful. The facilities are very clean, and quiet through the night. The only complaint that I have is that the wifi costs 14.99 per day. Also, there aren't many restaurants or amenities nearby, and the hotel restaurant was a little expensive. Other than that, if I have a reason to go back to the Fort Lauderdale/Miami area, I would consider staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't look out onto the service area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moonpie424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenelizondo, Director of Sales at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your comments and intent to return to our hotel. Thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plantation
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation
1.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Ft. Lauderdale Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation
4.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Sunrise - Sawgrass Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel

Property: Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel
Address: 1230 S Pine Island Rd, Plantation, FL 33324-4402 (Formerly Renaissance Plantation Fort Lauderdale)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Plantation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Plantation
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plantation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation boasts style and sophistication. Located adjacent to the Jacaranda Golf Club, this luxury hotel features unique amenities such as an outdoor resort-style pool,onsite restaurant Bin595 and more than 10,000 sq. ft. of beautifully-appointed event space. Modern guestrooms feature Renaissance PLUSH luxury bedding, microwave and mini-fridges and WiFI. This Ft. Lauderdale boutique hotel is just minutes from all South Florida has to offer including Sun Life Stadium, Sawgrass Mills Mall and the BB&T Center. As a member of the Florida Green Lodging program, Renaissance Plantation hotel has been awarded the prestigious Energy Star label for efforts in protecting our environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Plantation Fort Lauderdale Hotel Plantation
Plantation Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing