We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Plantation
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice and clean hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The entrance to the hotel isn't that great, wondered me a little bit, but once you are in everything is so pretty. Contemporary style furniture. The room is big, the bed is nice, clean. It's much nicer than just a regular hotel. Parking is free. Located about 20 min. from airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hardolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    216
    60
    21
    19
See reviews for
124
150
37
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
211 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I needed to be in the Sunrise area of Florida. Given this location, I looked for a hotel within a 20 mile stretch to stay at. As I stay at Marriotts most often, I looked at the Marriott in FLL or Renaissance. I decided to go with the Renaissance despite some so-so reviews on Flyertalk.

I'm glad I did.

This hotel is located right off of 595. My GPS had the location a bit father down from where it really was. As soon as you exit 595, make your first right and you are there. It's right before the DHL building/lake.

When I booked the hotel, I was given 2 rates ($200 for a regular room or $210 for a Club room). I paid the extra $10 for a Club room to guarantee it rather than hope I get upgraded as a Gold Member.

When I pulled up to the hotel, the outer of the hotel looks a bit dated. This had me worried a bit but once I stepped into the hotel, I quickly realized this was a modern hotel. Parking was free which is always a plus. When I pulled into the lot in the evening, a police car was always sitting in the lot so that gave me an added feeling of safety.

When I walked into the lobby, I was greeted by the great staff and placed in a Club Room on the 9th Floor near the stairs. To access the floor, you used your key in the elevator. Inside, the room was a very modern styled room with a King Bed and a Tub/Shower combo for a bath. The bed was ultra comfortable and the room was quiet with thick windows to drown out the noise.

Wired or Wireless Internet is provided but at $14.95 a night. Luckily, I didn't have to pay it due to my gold status. I found it to be very stable & fast. I was able to stream video as well. I can't ask for more there.

The Club is located on the 9th floor and requires a key. It was open until 10pm most nights which is generous. The staff was excellent and attentive. One negative about the club is they didn't restock their food offerings quickly and didn't provide enough. This is a minor complaint overall.

Anytime I interacted with the staff it was pleasant. I can't complain about them at all.

Unusually, I decided to try both Room Service and the Restaurant during the week. I never do this but I was pretty tired. The Restaurant staff was very attentive. The food quality was excellent if not a bit expensive. Most dishes were 25-30. It's easy to spend $40-$50 per person. That said, it was worth it.

Room Service was on time when I ordered it. The Angus Burger I ordered arrived perfectly medium rare as I ordered it. The French Fries were crispy as well.

If I needed to be in this area again, I would stay here absolutely. If you are a tourist, this may not be the best location though. There isn't much nearby (restaurant or shopping wise) unless you consider a 10-15 drive to Sawgrass Hills to be close.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night for a Dolphin football game. If you were doing business in the area, then I could see the location. But for tourists unless you have loved ones in Plantation, this area is not where you want to be. Not many things are close by! The hotel is mediocre at best. It is much like a Holiday Inn or a 3 star hotel. We had requested a roll away bed prior to our arrival. Then again on check in at 4:30. When we arrived back at the hotel, at midnight, it was still not there. We had to call. They were there pronto, but it was aggravating. Then the toilet stopped up with toilet paper.so we had to call for a plunger! The sink's drained slow and the stopper was rusty.

All in all, we were there a short time and it was adequate. However, customer service is how you differentiate yourself from the competition. It was a 3 star hotel at best!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MustangRoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I am frequently in the Ft. Lauderdale area on business, and stay here on almost every trip. The front desk is always well staffed (there is always somebody there to check me in after that long transcontinental flight), they are always friendly and courteous, and respond very promptly to any requests while a guest. The rooms are always clean, the beds are comfortable, and the air conditioning can freeze you out if you let it (important in S. Florida in August!). The location is also very convenient, with quick access to I-595 and a ton of restaurants relatively close by on Broward and University boulevards. I recommend it and always enjoy my stay here.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the small lake, which is on the backside of the hotel, as it is slight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmotley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Village, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Very clean and up to date. Staff was extremely friendly and very nice. Room was pretty spacious and very clean. Bed was very comfortable. I really enjoyed my night at this hotel. I stayed here one night while working outside Miami. I didn't really explore the surrondings, but there seemed to be restaurants and bars in the vicinity.

Room Tip: I'd think all rooms here would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My experience in this hotel have always been memorables. It is like coming back to see good old friends!! They remember me and call me by my name, isn't it sweet? Never have a problem, they have my room ready and cooled on for me. It is always a pleasure coming back to my favorite place!.

Room Tip: Always choose a nice view, may I recomend pool view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nidiafb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel recently as out of town guests coming in for a special occasion. The staff at this hotel could not have been nicer or more accommodating. Requests were brought to our room immediately. The staff even remembered my name. The hotel itself was nicely decorated and clean. I enjoyed a morning coffee at Starbucks in the lobby. Thanks, Renaissance Plantation, for an excellent stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank STLATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plantation
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation
1.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Ft. Lauderdale Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation
4.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Sunrise - Sawgrass Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel

Property: Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel
Address: 1230 S Pine Island Rd, Plantation, FL 33324-4402 (Formerly Renaissance Plantation Fort Lauderdale)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Plantation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Plantation
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plantation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation boasts style and sophistication. Located adjacent to the Jacaranda Golf Club, this luxury hotel features unique amenities such as an outdoor resort-style pool,onsite restaurant Bin595 and more than 10,000 sq. ft. of beautifully-appointed event space. Modern guestrooms feature Renaissance PLUSH luxury bedding, microwave and mini-fridges and WiFI. This Ft. Lauderdale boutique hotel is just minutes from all South Florida has to offer including Sun Life Stadium, Sawgrass Mills Mall and the BB&T Center. As a member of the Florida Green Lodging program, Renaissance Plantation hotel has been awarded the prestigious Energy Star label for efforts in protecting our environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Plantation Fort Lauderdale Hotel Plantation
Plantation Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing