We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Show, Good Food, Fun Time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Japan Inn

Japan Inn
Ranked #23 of 232 Restaurants in Plantation
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pembroke Pines
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Show, Good Food, Fun Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

If possible, arrive before happy hour ends (7:30). We celebrated a birthday, so our table was filled with family. Kathy, our server, was very friendly & helpful. She even reminded us happy hour was about to end ;) The tuna tataki appetiser was excellent, though sparse. Soup & salad good, ( ask for dressing on the side). The show began with our Chef Eric. After he verified our orders, he threw a pile of rice on the hot surface & began to prepare a delicious fried rice. Along the way he made a huge happy face & a "baked fish" with the rice. We had steak, tender & cooked to order, shrimp, chicken, lobster, & some of the best scallops ever. The vegetables were plentiful & well cooked, seasoning was just right, w a touch of salt added. Eric entertained thru the whole process. I did not explore the restaurant, so I can't speak to the cleanliness other than what I observed on a limited basis. No issues noted. Price is probably a third or more less than what you would pay at other Hibachi style restaurants.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mvwpembrokpines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    23
    16
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ann arbor
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Passable hibachi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We come here yearly when we visit my parents in Plantation as my kids love Japanese hibachi restaurants. It is always very busy and even with a reservation expect a wait. In comparision to other Benihana type restaurants, the food is similar but not quite as good, in particular the salad dressing is not as fresh and tasty as we have had at other places where it typically has more of a ginger base (Japan Inn is more creamy, almost like a French dressing). The vegetables were excellent as was shrimp (in contrast to the other recent reviewer!), but our group noted the steak was tough. In terms of the "show" put on by the chef, it is hit and miss in our experience. Last year we had an extremely personable and funny chef, this year was more workmanlike, felt a little like he was going thru the motions. In terms of service, it was a bit slow and we had to ask repeatedly to get some sauce to take out with our take-home boxes. Lastly, to address the other reviewer below re the bathrooms, they were quite clean and in fact had just been cleaned prior to our usage. Bottom line, if your family has a hankering for a hibachi style dinner in Plantation, this will be fine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eleniAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Bad Hygiene”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Dirty restaurant. Dirty lavatories = Dirty kitchen. Everytime I eat the shrimp, I get a very bad stomach

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pallavi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
198 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A show and a good meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

our chef was a lot of fun. He put on a good show for us topped off by the onion and oil volcano. All of the food was cooked perfectly, even my well done but tender filet mignon. The scallops were delicious and the rest of my party enjoyed their chicken and shrimp. The starters, shrimp, veggies, and noodles were very tasty. All in all, a very satisfying meal.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jjfisher406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

The sushi and seafood is fresh and delicious...steaks are great also. Try their sauteed chicken livers appetizer because they are fantastic. The hibachi chefs are very entertaining and prepare the food exactly as you like. I highly recommend Japan Inn!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank TrippingMyWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japan Inn also viewed

Weston, Broward County
Plantation, Broward County
 
Plantation, Broward County
Plantation, Broward County
 
Plantation, Broward County
 

Been to Japan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing