We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the drive”

Fred's Southern Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 116 Restaurants in Plant City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fred's Market Restaurant serves up a special taste of farm-to-plate freshness, on our MarketTableTM. Our food is slowly cooked in a natural and unprocessed way, served in a cozy atmosphere full of warmth and fun. We don't compromise on quality or character whether it's the ingredients in our dishes or the attitudes of our people. It's southern comfort that's pure and hearty all the way to the core and it's all found at Fred's Market Restaurant.
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Whenever we drive by Plant City on I-4 and it's meal time we make the short drive to the farmers market to eat there. They have great southern cooking on a Buffett bar. They have so many vegetables and other items you can't find many places , they have around 10 or so meats, a Hugh salad bar, and many desserts. This place is always a special treat that is always busy and much better than the chain buffets.

Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler48962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    76
    24
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
515 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We come here evry time we visit, its a local tradition and is always busy with local people which says everything. Good food good service and local ambiance

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank colin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Lunch Buffett”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Having driven past highway sign for this place for 12 years (Interstate 4) I though I would finally stop. The food was fantastic. We ordered the lunch buffet for $9.95. There was fried fish, Fried chicken, meatloaf, chix/dumplings. Beans and mac and cheese, fried green maters. Bread pudding and many other desserts. Yes I would go again. Service was great and the food better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yankee-peddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The buffet has a lot of southern style vegetables. The greens were very good. Beans were all very good. Mashed potatoes needed more flavor. Nice dessert bar. The ribs were tender and meaty, chicken was also very tender.
The restaurant is very clean and the hostess and servers were excellent. Very friendly and helpful.
A good place to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catlynn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
168 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Southern Boy's Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

A little hard to find, but we got there about 6:30 on Saturday morning. Hostess sat us at a table and handed us menus when I noticed the buffet. Everything a southern boy could want was there: grits, cheese grits, bacon, ham, sausage, fried chicken, fried pork chops, gravy, biscuits, eggs, hash browns, home fries, pancakes, French toast, OH MY!!! All I needed was a cup of coffee and a fork. I tried almost everything including the home made cinnamon rolls. Any place that offers unlimited bacon is ok in my book, but this place was truly a delight. Good thing I don't live nearby or I would be there EVERY morning!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dogfather96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fred's Southern Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing