We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family food”

Fred's Southern Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 117 Restaurants in Plant City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Fred's Market Restaurant serves up a special taste of farm-to-plate freshness, on our MarketTableTM. Our food is slowly cooked in a natural and unprocessed way, served in a cozy atmosphere full of warmth and fun. We don't compromise on quality or character whether it's the ingredients in our dishes or the attitudes of our people. It's southern comfort that's pure and hearty all the way to the core and it's all found at Fred's Market Restaurant.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good family food”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I was there with a group of nine, ages 3 to 80s. Everyone ate quite a bit and went away happy. Most of the offerings are quite southern, including greens, lima beans, grits, stewed tomatoes, and more, but for those who like stir-fry, the mixed veggies featuring summer squash was excellent. Macaroni and cheese, and the sweet corn casserole are nice. I didn't do meats or desserts, but both looked fine.

The restaurant's facility is nothing fancy, but everything looks well maintained, apart from stripes in the parking lot.

The restaurant is across the street from Paradise, the company that makes candied fruit for fruit cakes and such.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    82
    24
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“southern comfort food”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

thought while in plant city getting strawberries thought we stop here. Fred's was great, the food was more than you could ask for. Fresh not greasy, fried chicken roasted chicken mac and cheese. salad bar desserts were great too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tami A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
“Country buffet”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I was expecting quite a bit, since it got high ratings with Trip Advisor. The food was not bad, but I did not feel it was anything to rave about. It was crowded. There are few 'country home cooking' restaurants in the area. I don't usually love chain restaurants, but next time I will go to Cracker Barrel before I go there again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank maxona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Veggies ...”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Have eaten at other Fred's but not in Plant City... The location is not the best but worth any inconvenience to get to the good food...and the place is rather smallish... but again good food and good service....

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JLSW38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Down home comfort foods for any time of the day, greatest buffet and even better service.”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This place is an old favorite. Comfort foods in a buffet setting. You can also order off menu, if you like.
Foods are all prepared (seemingly) by your Grandma. Just like when I was a kid at her house !
Fried chicken, chicken fried steak, biscuits and gravy, greenbeans, peach cobbler... You get the idea.
Service is so welcoming that they make you feel like an honored guest.
You will love this place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fred's Southern Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing