We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Place”

Fred's Southern Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 117 Restaurants in Plant City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Fred's Market Restaurant serves up a special taste of farm-to-plate freshness, on our MarketTableTM. Our food is slowly cooked in a natural and unprocessed way, served in a cozy atmosphere full of warmth and fun. We don't compromise on quality or character whether it's the ingredients in our dishes or the attitudes of our people. It's southern comfort that's pure and hearty all the way to the core and it's all found at Fred's Market Restaurant.
Brandon, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Love this Place”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If I lived closer, I would come here a couple of times a week. i am not a Buffet lover, but everything here is fresh made and delicious. The fried chicken and catfish are delicious and their home cooked vegetables are outstanding. The also have wonderful rolls and cornbread. I live in Riverview, Fl. and I can't wait for Fred's to open in December.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula33559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    82
    24
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Buffet”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great price and great food. I hit up this place everytime I am in town. Dont be on a diet when you go.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank gunter15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good southern cooking”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

If you like fried and good southern cooking this is the place. They have all the fixings, don't count your calories, enjoy the homemade food. We go there occasionally when headed to Tampa and enjoy the choices. Nice salad bar, desserts are very good. The buffet usually has fish, fried chicken, homemade stews, lots and lots of vegetables. Menu on buffet can vary from visit to visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catlynn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family was right!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Family had been telling us about Fred's for a long time. Finally took a drive to the Plant City location. Tend to stay away from buffets, just to much food to waste. Not the case here, there was something for everyone. Delicious fried chicken, fresh fried fish with hush puppies. The best BBQ ribs I've had in a long time and most any kind of vegetable that you could want. And then when you think you could not eat any more...dessert! Best bang for your buck for good home cooked food. Fred's is opening a location in Riverview, can't wait.

Helpful?
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denali National Park and Preserve, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Okay!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I think this chain is not very clean, maybe it is the amount of people coming in, I like that they have different kinds of food but the price is high and the customer service is lacking.

Helpful?
Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fred's Southern Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing