We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of Italy”
Review of Villa Capri

Villa Capri
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Placida
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
2 reviews
“A taste of Italy”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The best pasta dishes I have ever had! Homemade,melts in your mouth I had the lasagna it was amazing, my husband had the lobster ravioli. Chucks of lobster it was delicious . We will definitely be back many more times in the near future.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    29
    15
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Our favorite Italian restaurant and our favorite restaurant in Placida, Florida! We have been at Villa Capri several times and everything there is delicious :-) and the service is excellent !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leeni2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“DELIZIOSO!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Mom and I tried Villa Capri for the first time this evening and we WILL be coming back with friends. This is the best italian meal I have had since I left New York. We started off with the Vongole Oregenata (clams) they were light and buttery and the sauce which we soaked up with our fresh bread was awesome. The olive oil and balsamic vinegar dip for the bread was a hit with my Mother. Mom had the Veal Scallopini Marsala which I tasted and it was lovely. I had the Linguini Vongole in white sauce. The clams were so fresh and light ! No chewy clams here! We had to bring some home with us there was too much to eat at one sitting! Next time I am going to leave room for cannoli! The owner and the waitstaff were very courteous and our waiter did not even write the order down . Impressive!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Captjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida, Usa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Villa Capri (Placida, Florida) a must try”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have dined several times at the Villa Capri in Placida and have found it to be consistently excellent. The specials (whether an appetizer or entree) are varied and the entree's usually included a fish, veal or pasta dinner. I especially enjoy their Mussels in a spicy red sauce, Broccoli Rabe and whatever seafood special they offer. The wine list is sufficient. The service is on the spot, friendly and professional. If there is one drawback, it might be the service at their daily Happy Hour, it is sometimes slow. However, the drinks and prices make it worthwhile. It is a great distance from New Jersey but it hits the spot.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food in Convivial Atmosphere and Very Affordable”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

My wife (who lived in Italy for many years) and I went with friends (of Italian heritage) on a recommendation from other friends. We started with Italian Mixed Meats then my wife had Linguine Amatriciana (substituting the Penne), I had the mixed fish special (sole surrounded by shrimp, mussels and clams in a herb sauce) and our friends had mixed fried fish and lasagne. All was absolutely superb and, for some of us, more than we could eat. By far the best Italian food we've eat in Florida and ranking among the best anywhere in the world. The service was friendly and efficient and the owner came to our table afterwards when we shared memories of Tuscany and Napoli. And the bill was far less than I expected. Slightly more than $20 per person plus wine. Will be gong again soon!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Capri also viewed

Cape Haze, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Placida, Southwest Gulf Coast
Placida, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Placida, Southwest Gulf Coast
Placida, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Villa Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing