We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This La Quinta is one in name only”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Pinellas Park Clearwater
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pinellas Park
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“This La Quinta is one in name only”
Reviewed February 21, 2009

This place is a dump. Holes in the carpet in the room. The room itself smelled like stale cigarettes. It didn't look like it had been dusted in ages. Its also right by the highway, so you hear a lot of road noise. The only thing good about this hotel is the checkin as it was quick and easy.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wdharrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    73
    76
    66
    50
See reviews for
133
69
31
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2009

Looking for a place to spend two nights in the Tampa Bay area for a mixture of beach and sightseeing I quickly found the LaQuinta Inn in Pinellas Park. It offers accomodations for a reasonable price, if you're not looking for anything fancy and not looking to spend your time on the property. The hotel is conveniently located on the intersection of Route 19, allowing for quick access to interstate and an easy drive in all directions. The property itself consists of two three-story buildings. The rooms are clean and offer all basic amenities, however, I found wireless reception to be poor accross most of the area (I ended up sitting by the pool). I have no major complaints, but I do suggest you ask for a room facing the pool - if you don't, you may end up with a room facing the street, giving you the choice of either Rt. 19 or a major east-west route. Traffic wasn't even very bad, but some trucks passing the hotel woke me up at night and led me to turn on the airconditioning to have some distracting noise.
Driving up on Rt 19 I wasn't all too sure about the neighborhood - a couple of miles down the road it didn't look all that promising, but in the immediate vincinity of the hotel it all looked okay. There is a bank next door, as well as a restaurant, and a Walmart a few hundred yards up on Rt 19. To the south there is a shopping mall, stores and several fast-food restaurants. I enjoyed easy access to all of the Tampa Bay area, travelling along the beaches (try Fort de Soto Park!), to St. Petersburg, Tampa and a little further east - if you're not driving during rushhour, you get around very quickly - downtown St. Petersburg (the Pier) is about 15-20min drive, Gulf beaches range anywhere from 10-30min (Clearwater Beach).
One thing I would like to point out, even if it is only a small gesture: I stayed at several LaQuinta Inns during my visit to Florida and registered for their returns program. Entering my room I found a small envelope with my name on it in handwriting, inside it a small card welcoming me and asking me to contact front desk or the property manager in case of any problems. Alongside, a business card and a hand-written phone number. Again, just a gesture, but something personal in a big hotel - and the only one of roughly 10 hotels that did something the like.

Overall: no complaints, affordable accomodations, nothing out of the ordinary - I would stay again when only looking to spend the night, however not to spend my vacation.

Pros:
- all of Tampa Bay is easy to reach by car (although cross-bay traffic is kind of annoying during peak hours)
- good price
- clean rooms

Cons:
- car required, no beaches nearby
- poor wireless reception
- good for sleeping, but no place to spend a day

  • Liked — affordable and generally good access to Tampa Bay Area
  • Disliked — no immediate beach access
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank aRTie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2006

Conveniently located on the busy intersection of hwy 19 (read noise) next to all kind of shopping (Wal-Mart, Target), restaurants, and 2 blocks from I-275, but far from tourist attractions. Well suited for business and occasional travelers.
Hotel actually looks better outside than inside. Inside it’s rundown place. Dirty, molds, broken stuff, cigarette buts and used matches were on the carpet between my bed and nightstand all my stay, etc. Room was small. No fridge or microwave in the room.
I can’t complain a lot because I’ve got cheap rate through PL and as a result was offered a smoking room with double beds on the noisy side (the only available for me).
Hotel serves basic breakfast (included) what is nice.
Staff was nice and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pinellas Park hotels

Seminole
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2006

Room was rundown. Exremely worn; marks all over. Needs complete remodeling,from the bed to furniture,to lighting. This does not meet LaQuinta Standards. Room is overpriced.
Front desk was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irvin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2006

Easy to locate and has a Bob Evans next door. Many restaurants in the area and a new Target, Panera, and movie theater within walking distance (if you are comfortable walking in traffic). The rooms were decent, however the cleaning was not excellent and there was obvious mold in the bathroom. The shower curtain even had mold on it and the water pressure was sub-par. Friendly staff, breakfast was ok. Great, free wi-fi access.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 20, 2006

Very difficult to get to with only one entrance marked. More like a motel with most to of the rooms having to enter from the outside of the building. Limited parking next to rooms. Thought the AAA rating was too high for this hotel. No fitness room and the pool required that we hunt for towels. Needed to hunt for an ice machine. Front desk is not adequately manned. Had to wait several minutes two diffferent times for someone to show up.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 5, 2005

My family stayed at this hotel for one night and that was enough. There was an awful musky smell and in the morning, my husband noticed water spots. The hotel was in an area that was slightly "undesireable." I was paranoid about something happening. The breakfast was pretty small so we went to the Bob Evans on property. The only good part was that check in and check out were easy and fast. The staff was nice.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinellas Park
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Petersburg - Clearwater
1.6 mi away
Days Inn St. Petersburg North
Days Inn St. Petersburg North
#19 of 42 in St. Petersburg
102 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clearwater South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#16 of 98 in Clearwater
371 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Petersburg Northeast
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Peter...
#21 of 42 in St. Petersburg
311 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Pinellas Park Clearwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Pinellas Park Clearwater

Property: La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Pinellas Park Clearwater
Address: 7500 Highway 19 North, Pinellas Park, FL 33781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pinellas Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pinellas Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Pinellas Park Clearwater 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW! Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics.Located near Pinellas Park Expo Center between St. Petersburg and Clearwater, the La Quinta Inn Pinellas Park / Clearwater is central to challenging golf courses and the peninsula's beautiful beaches. Visit Busch Gardens and other attractions, like the St. Pete Pier and BayWalk Center for shopping, dining, and entertainment, and Derby Lane for greyhound racing. In just a short drive, reach Tropicana Field (Rays) and St. Pete Times Forum (Lightning). Enjoy clean spacious rooms with free high-speed Internet access and more at the La Quinta Inn Pinellas Park / Clearwater. We have an outdoor heated swimming pool available at your leisure, and meeting facilities. Feast on a Free Bright Side BreakfastTM every morning (Bob Evans Restaurant in parking lot). Our courteous staff awaits you! Easy access from I-275 at Gandy Blvd. (exit 28) to Highway 19 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Pinellas Park Clearwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Pinellas Park Clearwater Hotel Pinellas Park
Pinellas Park La Quinta
La Quinta Pinellas Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing