We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirtiest place we have ever stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Budget Inn Pinellas Park
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Pinellas Park
Monmouthshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dirtiest place we have ever stayed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2010

Amazing collection of debris on floor - 3 cellophane wrappers, 1 battery, top of baby's feeding jar, packet of hair grips, cereal (cheerios), plastic flower and several year's worth of dust and dirt. Even more amazing was the completely disinterested reaction of the woman at reception when it was brought to her attention. Drive on.........

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budgetinnstpetersbug, Webmaster at Budget Inn Pinellas Park, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Budget Inn Pinellas Park for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is greatly appreciated. Upon the receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

1) The reception staff received additional training in their responsibility to see to the comfort of our valued guests.

2) Housekeeping staff received additional training concerning the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Budget Inn Pinellas Park. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    5
    5
    82
See reviews for
34
23
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

my finance and i were traveling trough pinellas to st.petersburg. we drove from orlando after fyling in from san diego california, we decided to drive to st.petersburg to spend time there. we stopped at howard johnson to check in. we were so tired. the front desk was ruin. when we got to our rom there were only 2 towels 3 pillows and no microwave. or ice bucket!
we kindly asked for towels (2) but the front desk declined. he said he couldnt the maid had left and it is their company policy to allow 2 towels only but he could send the maid in the morning at 9p.m so we ask for an ice bucket he said there should be one in the room! there was'nt! we tried to be calm and nice but the front desk service was so bad it made us feel terrible.
next morning at 9:30. no towels! my fiance calls the front desk, he asked for towels and the front desk rudely says we needed to find the maid to get them ourselves! i call back and kindy reminded him he would send someone to brings 2 towels at nine a.m. he yelled at me and said " are you calling me a liar?!" we were just treated terrible!
the maid finally brings extra towels but before this she accuses us for having two extra people in our room. which was not true!! these employees at this howard johnson are crazy! it was scary and uncomfortable! now the name howard johnson is a bad name in my book!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flpropertybuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budgetinnstpetersbug, Webmaster at Budget Inn Pinellas Park, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Budget Inn Pinellas Park for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is greatly appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

1) The housekeeping staff received additional training in making sure that the rooms are properly supplied before being okayed as ready for our valued guests.

2) Staff members received additional training in the courteous manner in which they are to treat our valued guests.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Budget Inn Pinellas Park. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pinellas Park hotels

alibatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

There are thugs everywhere, people knocked on our door constantly asking for change and food and the management did NOTHING..the pool looked like it had not been cleaned in weeks, the rooms, the "non-smoking" rooms smelled like pot, and the carpet smelled like beer. Just overall this was a horrible experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alibatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budgetinnstpetersbug, Webmaster at Budget Inn Pinellas Park, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Budget Inn Pinellas Park for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is greatly appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

1) Management and security staff received extra training in their responsibility to see to it that our valued guests are not harassed and that they feel secure and comfortable at our establishment.

2) Housekeeping staff received additional training concerning the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Budget Inn Pinellas Park. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

Room was filthy paint peeling off door. Exhaust fans covered in dust. AC falling apart, phone had dirt built up for years, carpet not vacuumed or washed in quite some time. Asked for another room. They gave me a master key and list of vacant rooms and told me to find one on my own. I found one that was in a little better shape but not nearly close to HoJo standards. Linens were thread bare, looked like they were purchased at a thrift store. Rude front desk. Pool area dirty and water scary looking. Unsavory types in parking lot. Web site said newly remodeled. Maybe in 1965. I took pictures and sent with E-Mail to headquarters. Thier reply was that they would forward to location general manager. Bye, bye HoJo.

Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank easytravler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budgetinnstpetersbug, Webmaster at Budget Inn Pinellas Park, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Budget Inn Pinellas Park for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is greatly appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

1) Security staff was notified of your report of unsavory types in the parking lot.

2) Housekeeping staff received additional training regarding the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

3) Maintenance staff was instructed to look into the condition of the pool and see to it that it is cleaned and ready for our valued guests.

4) Front desk staff received additional training concerning the courteous manner in which they are to treat our valued guests.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Budget Inn Pinellas Park. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2009

We stayed in the rooms near the "unheated" pool and had no problems, room was clean, walls had fresh paint, bed sheets were clean wifi worked, tv worked, my only complaint was the coffee maker it was a piece of [--]. We got the room for $52 per night cheap cheap.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Pools was not heated
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rksandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2009

I stayed at this place for two WEEKS. Long story- I was in a personal bind, but there you have it. Two weeks, and the only reason I remained at this place is because it was my only choice.

The place bills itself as being "pet friendly" and if you have a pet, sticks you in the "pet rooms" back in a scary, dark corner of the property. My room had recently been renovated with tile floors, but there were still a lot of little tiny bugs in the room. They weren't bedbugs, but weird little greyish bugs, almost like baby roaches.

Manager, or perhaps owner, of property was rather rude to my husband. Husband went out to walk our SMALL dog one morning. Husband was visibly carrying a "poop bag" to clean up after the dog. There are NO areas to walk your pet, except for a grassy area out front. So that's where he headed. Owner came bursting out of the building, growling in broken English that my husband couldn't walk the dog in that area, that he had to "stay in the pet area behind the building"....where there is NO GRASS. Nothing but concrete, and areas of "landscaping" (that's a joke). It's not the request that bothered him....but the RUDE manner in which he said it. The worst part was a few days later, when husband was walking dog just to get some EXERCISE. He was briskly walking around the building, the dog was on the pavement on a short leash, and the owner yelled at him AGAIN for simply walking with the dog. Definitely not a "pet friendly" establishment, with this attitude.

Sink area & bathroom were old, despite "renovation" and definitely showed their age. Sink didn't drain properly. Air conditioning unit malfunctioned while we were there, but the maintenance guy (who was actually pleasant) replaced it.

I will say, housekeeping did provide us with plenty of clean towels & plenty of soap during our extended stay. The housekeepers were fairly pleasant, accomodating, and seemed to do their job acceptably well. The shabbiness of our room was mostly age, not filth. The Mexican restaurant on the side of the building was a little pricey for what they offered, but tasty enough. My biggest complaint about this place is the attitude of "management" and the way they treat pet owners.

  • Liked — Mexican restaurant
  • Disliked — Attitude of management
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woofless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budgetinnstpetersbug, Webmaster at Budget Inn Pinellas Park, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Budget Inn Pinellas Park for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is greatly appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

1) Maintenance staff was advised of the problem experienced with the sink drain in the room assigned to you. They were also advised of the small bugs you encountered and instructed to take care of these matters.

2) Management staff received additional training concerning the courteous manner in which they are to treat our valued guests.

3) Management staff was approached about the possibility of making the pet area out back a bit more user friendly.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Budget Inn Pinellas Park. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ky
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2008

my husband and our two children stayed here simply because we couldn't get another room in the area that we were visting. The rooms were NASTY. The pool was CLOUDY. There were thugs that were hanging around the property and would occasionally sit on guest's vehicles and dare anyone to say anything to them. One poudly displayed that he had a gun. There were also roaches in the rooms. When we got home we threw our clothes and luggage away for fear that they might hitchike and make themself comfy at our home. We had a miserable time and we left early....absolutely the WORST vacation of our lives!! By the way, we reported all of this to the manager and she just scoffed at us.

  • Liked — not a darn thing
  • Disliked — thugs, roaches, dirty rooms and pool
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank irvinestamper9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budgetinnstpetersbug, Webmaster at Budget Inn Pinellas Park, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Budget Inn Pinellas Park for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is greatly appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

1) Maintenance staff was notified of your report of roaches in the room assigned to you and instructed to get rid of them. They were also notified of your report of the condition of the pool and instructed to see to it that it is properly cleaned.

2) Security staff was notified of your report of thugs and received additional training concerning their responsibility towards the safety of our valued guests.

3) Housekeeping staff received additional training concerning the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

4) Management staff received additional training concerning the courteous manner in which they are to treat our valued guests.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Budget Inn Pinellas Park. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinellas Park
2.8 mi away
Days Inn St. Petersburg North
Days Inn St. Petersburg North
#29 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Petersburg - Clearwater
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Clearwater Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clearwater South
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#17 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#38 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn Pinellas Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn Pinellas Park

Property: Budget Inn Pinellas Park
Address: 9359 US Highway 19 N, Pinellas Park, FL 33782-5410
Location: United States > Florida > Pinellas Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Pinellas Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn Pinellas Park 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and Convenience at our St. Petersburg, FL Hotel in Pinellas Park?Looking for St. Petersburg, Florida hotels? Look no further than the Budget Inn Pinellas Park, featuring comfortable and affordable accommodations. Just miles from St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport and within minutes of top attractions, our Pinellas Park hotel's convenient location offers something for every traveler. Pet Friendly Hotel in Pinellas Park Area.(Limited Pet Friendly Rooms Available)Well-behaved, well-groomed pets under 25 pounds are welcome in a limited number of rooms at this hotel.Room Types:•Standard Rooms offer a choice of two queen beds or one king bed and all standard amenities.•Kitchenette Suite offer full range stove with full refrigerator and separate living room and bedroom.•Accessible Room offers a roll in shower with King Bed.Convenient Pinellas Park Hotel near Tropicana Field.When planning your Florida family vacation, make arrangements to stay at our Pinellas Park hotel near Tropicana Field and local beaches. One of the most conveniently located hotels in Pinellas Park, FL, our affordable lodging is near a number of area attractions and is only minutes away from Tampa and St. Petersburg-Clearwater International Airport. When visiting the St. Petersburg area, make sure to attend a baseball game at Tropicana Field and tour the spectacular Pier Aquarium. Whether you are visiting on vacation or business, our Pinellas Park hotel is the perfect place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Budget Inn Pinellas Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Inn Pinellas Park Hotel Pinellas Park
Howard Johnson Pinellas Park
Pinellas Park Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing