We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveler rating
204
64
12
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
64
12
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old florida island house pine island crab cake sliders triple tail cuban sandwich boca grande a water view room cabbage key heritage trail snapper relaxing weekend small pool continental breakfast is north captiva cayo costa state park boaters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 292 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2018

On our way to Calusa Heritage Trail we passed Tarpon Lodge and instantly decided to have our lunch there. We loved it!!

Loved the pelicans, the surrounding, everything! We had a great lunch and will be back next time we visit the region.

Thx!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dimple1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2018

As usual (and expected), the food at the restaurant was excellent. We had some first-timers with us who were also greatly impressed with the beauty of the location. A walk around the property is a must after every meal.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2018

My daughter choose Tarpon Lodge for an April 7th wedding. During the months leading up to the wedding Shoreheh, the manager was always decisive and thorough. This helped to instill confidence. The staff is very well trained to meet your needs and to prevent anything from going wrong. I was impressed to discover that a security guard was on duty the evening of the wedding. While everyone was inside having fun he was roaming the grounds to make sure our rooms and cars were safe.

The lodge is small enough that we used every room, thus making our long weekend event very private. The cottage house worked well for the bride, as all the girls were able to gather for hair and make-up. The Island House was reminiscent of a dorm, only with much nicer rooms. We had fun moving through the hall and sharing our joy and excitement with each other. The extra A/C units are very loud in these rooms. It can be a bit loud for guests staying in the Lodge, so you may not want to put someone there who likes to go to bed early. The upstairs rooms are very cozy, offering an old Florida feel. But, there is only one thermostat for everyone.
Our decision was to hold the rehearsal dinner at Cabbage Key (nice boat ride, great atmosphere) Thursday night. We then held and "meet and greet" Friday night around the pool and under the Island House. These events helped the staff evaluate and meet our needs even better on Saturday night. Our guests appreciated the mini vacation vibe and having plenty of time with each other.
The food is fabulous! You can't go wrong. The wedding buffet was served within 15 minutes or less. If dining at Tarpon at any other time, make sure you get a reservation. Call the day before if the time slot is important to you.
The continental breakfast is nothing special.
Initially I was concerned about the layout and space available in the lodge. We had 98 people and it felt comfortable. We had a large table of guests in the "breezeway". It did not prevent passage to the bar area for dancing as I expected. With all the doors and windows open the separate rooms did not feel too separated. We had a little space in the middle of the porch floor for the "first dance" which made it easy for people to view. The dance floor in the bar was filled the entire night, but not over crowded as people still could get to the bar.
The grounds were tidy. As we arrived a few days early we witnessed the sprucing up that took place to make everything look nice. Beware of bugs. The mosquitos were out at night as were the “no see’ms”. The Lodge offers spray and a good breeze helps.
If you choose Tarpon Lodge my advice is to consider Shoreheh's suggested vendors. We used all but one and that was our only shortfall. Also, Shoreheh knows what works and what doesn't work. Trust her judgment.

Room tip: The Island House water view rooms relaxing. Cottages private, yet close to early morning boat activity. Upstairs Lodge rooms cozy.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S1828AIjaneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

We only came for dinner and the sunset. Both were spectacular. Very polished service and very good food. A tad pricey but nothing too alarming. The covered patio has the least formal feel but the best view.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickascreennamepicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

Fishermen, families & couples celebrating something special at Tarpon Lodge Restaurant. I had clams, a huge filet of snapper and pasta stuffed with cheeses & pear- all were fantastic.
The tropical setting morphed into a beautiful sunset during dinner and Julian our waiter was adorable.
Tarpon Lodge is set in a serene safe family neighborhood boasting Old Florida Charm, boat dockage and the luxury of an upscale restaurant. We stayed in the boat house which has a kitchenette, a cute front porch & is very close to the marina where you can dock your boat. We had a fun day Island hopping and walking the pristine Cato Costa beach.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews