We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveler rating
204
64
12
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
64
12
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old florida island house pine island crab cake sliders triple tail cuban sandwich boca grande a water view room cabbage key heritage trail snapper relaxing weekend small pool continental breakfast is north captiva cayo costa state park boaters
Filter
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 292 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Tarpon Lodge was the perfect setting for the 'destination' wedding we recently attended. Updated, yet still Old Florida..no chain motel/artificial feeling, as we watched the water lap against the docks, glistening in the sun. The beds were great, the food was excellent, the wedding on the dock - intimate. Free to roam, we felt like the place was ours. There is no beach, but there is plenty of relaxing water and an archeological nature walk across the road. A wonderful venue for a wedding - no outsiders, so the group got to know each other casually by just roaming on the property. An evening boat ride was chartered to take the entire group to the Cabbage Key Inn and Restaurant for the rehearsal dinner - a fabulous addition to the wedding weekend. On the return trip, the night sky was filled with a spectacular stellar show, another bonus. We would definitely return to Tarpon Lodge and Cabbage Key and spend more time exploring, walking, boating...daydreaming..

Room tip: Choose a room with a water view. The cottages would probably be great, but we did not hear a thing in the Island House/street side. Enjoy!
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarponLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay for a recent wedding we hosted at Tarpon Lodge. We are also pleased to hear wedding guests "got to know each other casually by just roaming on the property." We believe that's one of the nicest aspects of a wedding at Tarpon Lodge - the two families get to know each other over the course of the weekend or extended stay (rather than just the night of the wedding reception). By the end of the weekend, we often see the guests exchanging contact information so they, too, can keep in touch after the wedding.

We are excited to see you back for another visit... to explore, walk, boat or just daydream.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I booked a three night stay at the Tarpon Lodge just by reading reviews. It was great. Very simple, quiet lodging. Rooms were clean, staff very friendly and helpful. We are in our 30's and were the youngest guests by far. We ate dinner at the restaurant and were very impressed. The history of the property was interesting. We hope to visit again and perhaps see Cabage Key as well. We did meet many Floridians that were guests as well.They remarked at the property being perfect for a non-touristy stay. I guess this is were people in Florida go when they need a vacation.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarponLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for writing a review. We have understood the value of Trip Advisor for some time but appreciate the reminder that potential guests read these reviews and make their travel choices based on the opinions of other Trip Advisor members!

We hope that you will visit us for a longer stay next time and can find the time to visit our sister property, Cabbage Key Inn & Restaurant, too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I recently booked a weekend getaway here to celebrate our first anniversary. From the moment we came on to the property, I knew we were in for a relaxing time. It is off the main strip, away from the noise. We stayed in the Island House with a water view. When we arrived, we were delighted to find a wine-tasting in the dining room. Who knew Chilean grapes would be so bold?! We were encouraged to set reservations for dinner during our stay. We opted for dinner on Saturday evening. Our server, Jeff, made the meal more memorable by making a point to wish us a Happy Anniversary. My wife and I both ordered dishes with crab meat, and they were each a delight to the palette. I tried a "local" cocktail called a Cabbage Crawler, which I found sweetly refreshing.
Breakfast during our stay consisted of assorted "cold fare" with cereals, muffins, bagels, and croissants. Fruit, coffee, milk, juice, and hot tea were also readily available. To add to the calming effect of a quiet, serene breakfast, satellite radio was tuned to Spa. During the remainder of the day, the radio is tuned to a different channel, but I felt the breakfast music was a soothing touch.
The rooms were furnished in a typical B&B fashion. Ours was replete with a queen-sized bed as well as a small refrigerator. Again, a nice addition. It afforded us the ability to keep our leftovers from dinner fresh! All rooms in the Island House are equipped with a ceiling fan and central AC. In addition, there was a portable AC unit in each room for those who like it a little cooler than normal. Having a western exposure allowed my wife and I to take in a breathtaking sunset from our own private balcony. To add to the quaint appeal of the room, there was wall art from a bygone era. The art in our room as advertising Chesterfield cigarettes, Oldsmobile's new Ninety-Eight and lovely kitchen dinette. It gave us a nice chuckle to see these old ads.
If you are looking for a lovely little getaway where you really can get away, look no farther. Each member of the staff took a personal interest in making our weekend memorable.

Room tip: We were in the Island House with a water view.
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holygrail77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarponLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thank you for the time you took to write a review. But, most of all, thank you for choosing Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant to share in our 1st wedding anniversary.

You are certainly a very observant guest! Trip Advisor members will enjoy reading the little details you noticed during your stay before they make their decision to stay with us. Thank you for your recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

On a trip to Cape Corral, Florida a year ago my husband and I took a drive to Pine Island, Florida and stumbled onto a lovely resort called Tarpon Lodge and Restaurant right on the water. It is a beautiful resort that reflects Florida in a simpler time. We made reservations to stay there during this past Christmas and had such a wonderful time that we scheduled another trip a few months later. The lodge has been wonderfully maintained, the entire staff in the lodge and restaurant did everything possible to make sure that everything was perfect. The restaurant's food is delicious, the rooms are so comfortable with beautiful views, and the entire staff goes out of their way to give you top rate service and provide all the information to make sure you can enjoy fishing, kayaking, biking, etc in the area. We have never stayed anywhere quite like Tarpon Lodge and we would highly recommend that if you have plans to be in that area of Florida you stop by the Tarpon Lodge and Restaurant for dinner or spend the night in the lodge, the Island House, or Boat House. When we stayed at the Tarpon Lodge we felt like we were special guests in the home of our friends!

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babickham01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarponLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

We are so happy that you stumbled upon us! Your review made us smile and reminded of all the reasons we are so proud of all the individuals who give the top rate service our guests can expect from us each and every day!

Thank you for taking the time to let Trip Advisor users know what you thought of your two recent stays with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have stopped here every year for about four years. We look forward to the annual visit, even if it is a bit off the beaten path. We were there on Valentines day (pouring rain) but all was well. Usually it is warm and sunny, but even with the rain it was a great dining experience. We were sitting on the patio, which has an interesting roof configuration. Lots of other tables nearby, but we did not hear others conversations. The food was good, and I had the burger which was cooked to perfection. The service Is good and everyone is so professional. If you have the chance, do yourself a favor and stop in. Not many places like this around!

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Impalaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarponLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for your complimentary review and your continued patronage. We feel honored that you chose to spend your Valentine's Day with us!

We hope to see you very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews