We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pineland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
WALLACE
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at Tarpon Lodge Feb. 21, 2012 for two nights. The grounds are lovely. The view was excellent. The room warm, clean, & roomy. The restaurant was very good as well. Highly recommend this resort for a relaxing get away on a quiet island! If you want a break from tranquility, shopping and all big city activities are only 20 minutes away!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan210662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarponLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
We sincerely appreciate you recommending our "little piece of paradise" for a relaxing vacation and taking the time to write a review.

We take great pride in the grounds and we know that the people that work so hard to maintain the property will really appreciate your feedback. We will be sure to share it with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    54
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
36
133
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rural New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed at the Tarpon Lodge for 5 nights. This is an island with little in the way of tourism or activities outside of fishing, but if you get good weather and want to do nothing but relax, by the pool (there is no beach). Pine Island and the Tarpon Lodge will be perfect for you. The room was small, but very clean with nice furnishings. We had a waterview room with a small balcony which was beautiful. The restaurant is excellent: The best on the island. Fresh fish and creative presentations. Prices around $26. The chocolate cake tasted like it was from a box, but the creme brulee sounds great. The dining room puts out a very light "snack" of cereal and toaster items for the daily breakfast. The bar is open from 11:00 on and you can take beverages out to the lawn if you wish. The bar is open until 9:00 with music some nights- but it won't disturb you if you want quiet. The staff was very attentive to our needs and quickly and correctly attended to a problem that we had. Thank you to the whole staff.

Room Tip: Choose a water view room unless you are going fishing all day and it doesn't matter all that muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoozieFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarponLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing Tarpon Lodge for your 5 night relaxing getaway. We appreciate the time you took letting Trip Advisor members know a little bit more about our "hidden gem".

Our restaurant opens for lunch at 11:30 am, seven days a week and we start serving dinner at 5:00 pm. We have to agree with our guests that taking a fruity cocktail or a glass of wine is one of the best ways to take a stroll or watch the sunset.

Our staff wants to thank YOU - we appreciate your business and we will be here the next time your life calls for a little maxing and relaxing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We recently stayed at the Tarpon Lodge. We were in the main lodge and had a nice room that had a small balcony. the room had charm with the old hardwood floors. We were above the bar area and we could hear noises but the bar closes at 9:00 and it was not a problem.
The mattress could be nicer.
It is a nice quiet setting with a pretty view of the water. The restaurant is also very nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRJEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarponLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay in our 1926 historic lodge and taking the time to write a review. The original hardwood floors throughout this building are always one of the items that impresses our guests. We do have popular pillowtop mattresses in our rooms but will certainly take a look in the one in your room.

The next time you stay with us you may consider staying in the Island House which also has balcony rooms with views of Pine Island Sound. This way you would be separate from the restaurant and bar.

We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Enjoyed a lovely early dinner at the restaurant on NYE 2011. Have never dined on Pine Island before. Very beautiful and an easy drive from Cape Coral and Fort Myers. We enjoyed lobster tails, filet and shrimp scampi, as well as shared dinner salads and shared cheesecake for dessert - no appetizers and just a couple cocktails. Everything was very good, however not sure if our $300.00 tab (4 people with tip) was quite justified....Realizing that it was NYE, so maybe the wholesale costs of food and labor are more expensive to buy and employ on this day - or perhaps this restaurant is expensive everyday, it was a special menu. The service was just OK, seemed she was not paying attention to our "special requests" for a couple of the items and a couple things needed to be sent back. Enjoyable none the less and would go back to try some of the items that might be on the regular menu.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LABDRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarponLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for choosing to dine with us on New Year's Eve and taking the time to write a review.

Yes, we do prepare a special menu for many holidays. In our experience, our customers have a desire to enjoy more lavish menu items for special occasions such as our Twin Lobster Tail.

Thank you for pointing out your concern with our wait staff. Our food and beverage manager will review this as we always want to make sure our customers feel their dining needs have been met.

We are happy to hear that you plan to join us for dinner again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2011

This little lodge and restaurant has the most gorgeous backyard ever. It makes you feel like you are on some quaint little piece of paradise, everything seemed to slow down when I was there. It is a very relaxed setting. The drinks were very good and the lunch menu had a nice selection. Later when we went back for an early evening cocktail the view of the sunset was just perfect.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilysDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarponLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
It’s always nice to hear when guests enjoy their stay and we’re happy that our waterfront location played a part in slowing things down for you. An evening cocktail while enjoying the sunset sounds like a nice way to wind down from a busy week.

We appreciate you staying with us and hope that you will relax with us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Tarpon Lodge is a historic place with alot of character, great view, friendly staff and good food. Well worth the drive to this remote location on Pine Island. If you are looking for fried food or ice cream don't go. They don't have a frier or freezer space for ice cream. They served these wonderful warm potato chips with the cheese burger. We also had the daily catch special made with a mango salsa that was lovely. They have live music in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0vie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarponLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for your complimentary review. One of things that we find useful about Trip Advisor is that potential guests also learn what they won’t find at Tarpon Lodge so they aren't surprised when they get here. You definitely won’t find a deep fryer here – our kitchen does not have one. Therefore, none of our food is deep fried. And, yes, we don’t have ice cream for dessert. Instead, we make our own crème brulee – we sure hope you got a chance to try some. The chefs are always making new flavors... two of my personal favorites are the Kahlua and the butterscotch.

We hope that you will be one of things that potential guests will find at Tarpon Lodge again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Pine Island is a quiet community virtually untouched by tourists mainly because there are no beaches. It is a perfect place to stay especially if you have a boat. The lodge was "Old Florida" at its best. The room had beautiful wood floors and a balcony view of Pine Island Sound. Sunsets were spectacular. The restaurant was excellent and the live entertainment was fantastic. The staff and other guests were so friendly. We had a wonderful time and hope to come back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarponLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are in agreement with many things that you comment on. We couldn't agree more with your comments about Pine Island. As you know, we are off the beaten path and rely so much on word of mouth and positive feedback like yours to encourage new guests to come, stay and relax in "Old Florida". As an aside, we are pleased to announce that our little place in "Old Florida" has moved into the information age. We now have WiFi in all the rooms.

It is so nice that you commented on the friendliness of the other guests and we have to agree with that comment too. We enjoy the laidback approach and company of our guests so much that when it's time for them to leave, we are sad to see them go and can't wait for the next time they come to visit.

We would be honored if you do decide to be our guest in the future. Thanks for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pineland
10.7 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
12.8 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
17.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Knoll's Court Motel
Knoll's Court Motel
#1 of 2 in Matlacha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
8.1 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,256 reviews
14.8 mi away
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant

Property: Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant
Address: 13771 Waterfront Dr, Pineland, FL 33922-3521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pineland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Pineland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Tarpon Lodge And Restaurant
Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant Hotel Pineland
Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant Florida/Pineland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing