We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveler rating
210
67
13
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
67
13
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old florida island house pine island crab cake sliders triple tail cuban sandwich boca grande a water view room waterfront view cabbage key heritage trail snapper grounds are beautiful relaxing weekend small pool continental breakfast is north captiva
Filter
Updating list...
262 - 267 of 302 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We recently moved to Florida and decided to stay in state for a family vacation to visit some local flair. We are fairly easy to please and had read a good review of the Tarpon Lodge in Coastal Living. It wasn't what we expected for a family vacation and the food was average at best with 4 star pricing.

Wish we had been warned that the main house was so loud and awkward for guests before shelling out close to $600 for 3 nights (3 night minimum). It was as if we were uninvited guests to a dinner party. Our room had a large window that opened up to a large table in the dining room. It was extremely loud and our only reprieve was the in-room AC unit to drown out the noise. You have to travel through the "restaurant/bar" and waiting area to get to and from your room. Went to ask for fresh towels and was greeted with a rude response and ignored in favor of the party waiting for their table.

I would not recommend staying here unless you have a boat, are here to fish and only want/need to stay at the lodge for sleeping only. I also wouldn't come here expecting a high caliber B&B experience or if you want your kids entertained. If you do come, make sure to bring plenty of bug spray.

The best part of our whole stay was eating at the local pizzeria in Matlacha. Wonderful little hole in the wall with great food and service.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dave60786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarponLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2011

Thank you for your comments. I apologize that you felt that the historical lodge was too loud during your stay. Tarpon Lodge does have a three night minimum on most holiday weekends. It is against our policy to issue refunds to guests who depart early, but we did refund your last night as a courtesy to you and your family.

We regret that you felt that you were being ignored when you asked for fresh towels. We pride ourselves on making our guests feel welcome and I can assure you that this will be addressed with our staff.

Many of our guests do enjoy fishing the area waters but others choose to explore the Calusa Heritage Trail across the street, golf at Alden Pines Golf Course, take pleasure in bird watching, visit the many art galleries in the area or travel by ferry to enjoy the beautiful beaches, the shelling and the kayaking opportunities of Cayo Costa.

We agree that the mosquitoes were a problem that weekend. Thankfully, the Lee County Mosquito Control has done a superb job so our guests are able to enjoy the grounds and be outdoors again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Great Place to Relax and lose yourself in Island Time! We expected a fisherman's lodge and were surprised to find beautiful accommodations and superb service.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoTravelers029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarponLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2011

Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate hearing positive feedback and are pleased to hear about occasions when our staff and lodge accommodations exceed the expectations of our guests. We will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

This is truly a place to stay when you plan to fish as there is really nothing else to do in the immediate area. That was our purpose and we had a great time. The grounds are beautiful and it was a very relaxing trip. The service was great and the restaurant was too. One warning though, the walls in the hotel are thin and the portable a.c. in the rooms prevented us from hearing the t.v., which was annoying. The rooms were very clean.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeganFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarponLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2011

Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor. We are happy that you chose Tarpon Lodge for your getaway and enjoyed the local fishing, your meals in our restaurant and the cleanliness of your room. Unfortunately, the thin walls are a by-product of maintaining a historical building that was built in 1926.

We take a lot of pride in our property, the restaurant and our historical lodge and love to hear positive feedback from our guests. On behalf of the staff at Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant, thank you again for the feedback - we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We had a nice room with a balcony and a water view. The bed was very comfortable and the room was decorated nicely. The view was amazing. We had dinner there one night and were very pleased with the staff and quality of the food. Some things that could have been improved: cushions on the balcony chairs, Adirondack chairs in the lawn, nice quality soap, shampoo, and towels, homemade breakfast (not continental), hair dryer, robes, Internet service in the room (not in the entryway of the hotel) - these are things that spoil you. It was a nice place, but we didn't feel spoiled.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wte154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

I visited this lovely lodge last year by boat for an afternoon meal. the meal was great and it is a very nice lodge. We were dressed appropriately and yet were still given a snobby attitude from the employees. I simply thought that maybe the were just having a bad day so I didn't think too much of the situation. Last Saturday February 19th 2011, we decided to give the place another try for lunch. We had 4 in are group (two couples, all fully clothed with long sleeve shirts) and we walked in through the door and the hostess made a loud scene and shouted "the bar area is over there, go to the bar" as she pointed and walked towards are direction herding us away from any tables. We hadn't even said one word yet. I don't get upset very often and never cause a scene but that was just plain out rude. i had full intentions of ordering complete meals and probably spending over 100 bucks. I then herded the crew back towards where we came in at and gladly left the building with a hungry stomach. Two strikes is two to many for my extremely mild-natured self. So we went to the Pink Flamingo and enjoyed the afternoon meal there. And to think that Saturday was a beautiful day, almost perfect, and one place sure turned it sour. thank you for reading I hope this will help make your vacation plans. I have not stayed here and I will tell you that the lodge does look very nice, but I won't be spending any more time or money there.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank FloridaChaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews