We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect the Unusual (Maybe a surprise or two)”

Goodman's Real Pit BBQ
Ranked #5 of 49 Restaurants in Perry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout
Description: Stop by Goodman’s for some delicious Southern BBQ! We strive to combine the most palatable culinary experience possible with first-class service that is unmatched by any other establishment! We have take-out, drive-thru, and even delivery service with a minimum order requirement. We are also licensed caters by the State of Florida and are ready to fully service your upcoming events. Contact us for more information.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I found special plate of a Rib Plate diner to be exceptional. The 3/4 lbs of ribs were first smoked and then soaked in a special mustard based sauce and then roasted over charcoal to give it a crust. They were so soft and flavorful. Goodman's left some of the grizzle on the end of the bone which if love to chew on. The coleslaw was too watery and the beans, although very nicely seasoned with meat cuts and other special seasoning were too firm. My blueberry cobbler was delivered warm and with a dollop of whipped cream on top. Not at all too sweet! The small order of fried green tomatoes with a ranch sauce were to die for. On the issue of the spotty reviews of Goodman’s sauces: They are what I call unique. If you like sweet sauces these are not for you. The mild and hot sauces are basically the same base: Mustard, A-1, brown sugar, vinegar and the hot had black pepper added and I believe cayenne. The sweet sauce is made up by the chef. I ordered for takeout the Smoke Stack and found two layers of meat, one of pork another of beef, layered between buttered slices of garlic bread. This was not pulled pork nor was the beef brisket. They were thinly sliced barbecued meat. The ribs diner was less than 7 dollars and the huge sandwich was less than 4 dollrs and the cobbler was about 1 and a half dollars. The inside of the restaurant was neither remodeled nor fancy but it felt comfortable eat there. Great value hidden along the Florida coast. They do a lot of catering for all sorts of events as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sabar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 149 of 181 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

BBQ sauces are as local as the daily newspaper, and we just did not like any of their sauce choices. My husband smokes ribs, Boston butts, chicken, turkeys, etc. at home, and makes sauce, so we're probably just spoiled, but upon getting out of the car and based on the smoky smell, we were expecting very good BBQ.
The meat was of good quality, and cooked well. I had the chicken [a tad dry for me, but then on the other hand if it's too moist, I would be complaining that it might not have been done, lol], and hubby had ribs and brisket. The people in the previous review must not have eaten at the same ribs places as we did in Memphis, ha-ha, because we just didn't find these anywhere near Memphis category. Had the sauces been a little better, things might have been easier to "fix", but of all the places in the SE [and beyond] that we have gone for BBQ [on and off the beaten path] these were some of the most, well, unique for sure, sauces, and we just didn't happen to care for them.
The dinner salads were fresh and very good. I'm not sure who came up with their baked beans, but they didn't seem to be cooked well [that's just my Southern take on it, at least] so I only had one bite. The blueberry cobbler that came with our meal was good and hubby preferred it over our Southern version b/c he is not a "biscuit-batter-for-dessert-type" person, so the cake texture was a nice change for us.
Since we did literally "turn around in the road" - as we were headed north - we cannot say that we would do that again in order to eat here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DomineeHuntsville_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_GoodmansBBQ, Owner at Goodman's Real Pit BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Susan, one thing we have discovered in many years of operating Goodman's BBQ is we simply cannot please everyone, despite trying as hard as humanly possible to do so. Yes, another reviewer stated their opinion that our ribs were better than any in Memphis and we can see clearly in the review you left both here and on TripAdvisor that your own opinion differs significantly. As we have also learned over the years, taste is a highly subjective and personal experience; I am sure there are plenty of folks who have dined with us over more than a decade in business who would disagree with your opinion that your husband's sauces are superior to ours, hahaha. As to the baked beans, we have investigated that issue and reported an inconsistent shipment of navy beans to the supplier who has since remedied the problem, thank you for pointing that out; our beans are usually highly praised as past reviews across the ‘Net show. Safe travels Susan; we hope you visit us again and we will not mind if you BYOS (bring your own sauce) LOL! We hope other potential customers will consider all of our reviews and see that we strive to offer a great meal and quality service to each customer, and always appreciate constructive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food was really good. Try the onion rings. We had the ribs and topped it off with the blueberry cobbler. Good food, albeit slow service. Definitely worth the stop.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Htmcgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodmans_BBQ, Owner at Goodman's Real Pit BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for your helpful review, we're so glad you enjoyed your meal! We sent you a message requesting a little more information about your visit in order to better address the issue of slow service you described, please reply if you have the time. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This place was pretty good- obviously a local favorite. The food was a little too salty for my taste, but my husband loved it. Great service and a wonderful family atmosphere. Very reasonable prices!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wanderlust3483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodmans_BBQ, Owner at Goodman's Real Pit BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

We're happy to see your husband enjoyed his meal and sorry to hear that yours wasn't as enjoyable. Next time you all visit, please feel free to mention the saltiness to your server and we'll do our absolute best to adjust the meal according to your dietary preferences. Thank you so much for your patronage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We could walk to Goodman's from our hotel, and we heard it was cheap, so we changed our dinner plans. That turned out to be a great idea. We had ribs, the 3 meat combo, and a small New Brunswick Stew. It was all very good, and my wife thought the ribs were better than the best ones we had in Memphis. That's saying a lot! The waiter said, "If you save room, you get cobbler with your meal." We saved enough room to share a hot peach cobbler with whipped cream. It was a perfect way to end a very good meal. No wait! The best way to end it was paying the $17 check and walking out the door stuffed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chuckospringpatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodmans_BBQ, Owner at Goodman's Real Pit BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

We're so glad that you gave us a chance and had a satisfying experience! Better than the best ribs in Memphis? We're certainly glad to hear that from our customers! Thank you very much for choosing to dine with us and be sure to come visit us again if you ever make it back through Perry!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Goodman's Real Pit BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing