We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Purple Parrot Village Resort
Nearby Hotels
Perdido Beach Resort(Orange Beach)
$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$482
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$334
$314
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$205
$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach(Orange Beach)(Great Value!)
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$293
$284
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
SuburbanHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Indigo Condominiums(Perdido Key)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveler rating
84
36
8
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
36
8
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjohnson beachoutdoor poolshort drivemuch nicernational seashorea great place to staywasher and dryerlate augusttiki bar was closedfitness roomhalf bathfull sizeorange beachclose proximitypalm treesthe grillsleeper sofa
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 143 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The appartments at the Purple Parrot feels like home away from home. I spend most of my time in the remote dune and beach area one mile after the Fort Mcree road ends and that area is really nice. The Seabrook single bed room home was well equiped and because of the close proximity of two super markets and a few more about six miles out it was convenient to cook dinner every night. Perdido itself is a lot quieter than Orange Beach or Pensacola but if that us what you prefer, that is why I did not book in those other places. Not having an ocean view was no problem for me because the beach is maximum ten minutes by foot. Overall this was a very positive experience for me as a novice winter bird.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
Thank DdeKerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerdidoKeyFlorida, Manager at Purple Parrot Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Thanks for the great feedback. Johnson Beach and Fort McRee are wonderful places to spend your time while here in Perdido Key. Glad you enjoyed yourself in one of our one bedroom vacation homes. We looking forward to having you back again soon! Kindest Regards, JD Hallam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We rented through booking.com, but read the reviews and looked at the pictures here. From the description and pictures we thought the resort was on the beach with a short ten minute walk, as mentioned. This really disappointed my wife, as we had to drive to the beach several times a day. In the unit we stayed in, we had dated and old furniture, some soiled. The bed cover and sheets were extremely old. The people who were behind us had their porch lights on all night. These lights shined into our bedroom. The frigerator and coffee pot were very used. On a positive, the outdoor and indoor pools and hottubs were nice. We did email the booking on the AM of our first day, but they did not reply.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerdidoKeyFlorida, Manager at Purple Parrot Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

We are sorry you didn't enjoy yourself. When booking through a third party website rather than directly through the resort rentals office it does have the potential to make communication a little more cumbersome. Upon arrival we provide guests with a receipt that has our contact info on it which includes a phone number that will even ring a staff member for after hours emergencies. We do this in an effort to ensure that all of our guests know how to reach us directly rather than contact the party which through which they made the reservation. Concerning beach access; all of our listing indicate in writing that this resort in not directly on the beach. The resort is not far from the beach, but the Purple Parrot primarily attracts families and Perdido Key does not have sidewalks along the road. That being said, I never feel comfortable advertising the resort as within easy walking distance. The best stretch of beach is about 2 minutes away by car and, though it is not the closest beach, it is definitely the nicest. I am referring to the National Park area and they have restrooms, showers, picnic tables, a walking trail, and covered pavilions in case anyone gets too much sun. More importantly, the Park area is the only area on the island with lifeguards. So, you can see why I recommend the short drive. The closest beach is the public beach access and is ½ way to the park area. A note for all of our future guests: if upon arrival anything is in need of attention please let us know as we want to ensure that you are comfortable and that you enjoy your stay in our vacation homes at the resort. Kindest Regards, JD Hallam -Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here over Labor Day for a family reunion and could not be more pleased. The unit we had, Peachy Keen, was so charming and exquisitely decorated that we took notes in case we ever build our own beach house. Both pools were impeccably maintained despite it being a holiday weekend, and the people in the office were friendly and courteous. Note although it is not far from the beach, maybe 4 blocks, you will have to drive as the road to the beach is a fast highway, we started to walk it and decided against it. The beach is beautiful white sand and worth the one minute drive. The price was far less than a hotel would have been; if you use their website to book, note their website quotes the price for all nights (but not some taxes and surcharges). Some people have complained about the $75 cleaning charge but we thought it was worth it; it is impossible to not get sand inside even if you leave your shoes outside. We would go there again.

Room Tip: Print out a map from their website so you can choose a room towards the back if you like quiet. We liked Peachy Keen #26 as it felt like it was in the woods but was close enough to both pools.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merry_traveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerdidoKeyFlorida, Manager at Purple Parrot Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Glad you had such a great time. You are absolutely correct about the sand. We go through vacuum cleaners much quicker than most homes as a result of the sand accidentally being brought into the vacation homes by guests. The cleaning for each condo after departure is more competitively priced than most other professionally managed vacation rental properties, however some travelers are not accustomed to staying in a vacation home so the cleaning fee catches them off guard so I appreciate your kind words concerning the charge ultimately being totally worth its value. Again, glad you had a good time. Condo Peachy Keen is a nice one and the couple which owns it takes great pride in maintaining it in good condition for our visitors. Kindest Regards, JD Hallam -Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We are currently staying in the Purple Parrot resort were in room 10 A right by the pool on the first floor, totally love this place. It is so clean and not really crowded. Nice workout room indoor pool, hottub, outdoor pool, and outdoor hottub, screen in porch.AC worked great had plenty of towels, washer and dryer in room. Only complaint is the tiki bar is not open we new this before we got here,but you can take your cooler to the pool eat and drink no glass. People were friendly and fun. I will be back what a great value and a unspolied place.Plenty of places to sit at the pool in the shade and or sn, sand volley ball and with in a 5 minute walk to the beach.

Room Tip: Right by the pool is the place to be. We booked direclty with the resort but found out we could of went on vrbo and got a better deal but we still loved it and will be back.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubahottie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerdidoKeyFlorida, Manager at Purple Parrot Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Thanks so much for the great feedback. We are looking into having the tiki bar reopen and operate in a way which compliments the resort. You will have to check the resort website by searching purple parrot resort in google or yahoo for updates on our frequently asked questions page or call the rental office. The resort webpage is our company name all spelled out as one word Perdido Key Resort Management. Hope to see you back this year! Kindest Regards, JD Hallam - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked the Purple Parrot for a Labor Day family reunion/birthday. We booked through the Perdido Key Resort Management for two bedrooms both with queen beds because we had two couples with tall men. When we arrived one room had two twin beds. Needless to say I wasn't happy. We called the manager J.D. and he searched every single room that had not been checked into to try to find us what we originally asked for. There was not a room to satisfy our needs but he apologized profusely and brought us a gift card for dinner. We made do with the room just fine and were pleased with the way the manager tried to compensate us. The condo was EXTREMELY nice. We stayed in Cecelias Dream 15 A and family members stayed in 11BD. We noticed that the AC filter in 11BD was dirty and the receptionist brought us a new filter within 10 minutes. The pool was clean and nice, good temperature and mostly shallow great for kids! The resort was well kept. I would like to let renters know to bring paper towels, toilet paper in addition to normal bathroom items that you need. If you want to wash clothes or dishes you need detergent to do so. Again in the end VERY PLEASED with the condo itself, the pool and the resort manager J.D.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikizjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerdidoKeyFlorida, Manager at Purple Parrot Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Thanks for the positive review. The vacation home which was originally reserved had maintenance issues, so we had to move this reservation. Though rarely, this does sometimes happen. We are always trying to ensure that our guests are kept happy throughout their stay. I appreciate you being understanding of the circumstances and for the kind words regarding the vacation home we relocated you to, Cecelia's Dream, which is a two bedroom condo that since the departure has been updated with bamboo flooring and new paint throughout. If you search Cecelia's Dream 15A in google you can seen updated photographs on the perdido key florida website. Kindest Regards, JD Hallam - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews