We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost Ball is the more appropriate name”
Review of Lost Key Golf Club

Lost Key Golf Club
Ranked #4 of 12 things to do in Perdido Key
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Arnold Palmer signature course challenges all golfers.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Lost Ball is the more appropriate name”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Fairly expensive and to be fair it is probably best suited for lower-handicapped players than myself (22). I literally lost 12 balls and my playing partners were in the same category. Course was in pretty good shape but if you don't place it perfectly, start digging for another ball.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    22
    10
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
513 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Narrow, hence the nickname "lost balls"”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Although we didn't score particually well, we enjoyed the play. We felt like we had the course to ourselves, which is always nice. The course had suck a different "feel" to it. Lots of wasteland, won't want to stay too far to search for balls, quite flat. It will really be hard later on, once the grasses grow tall. Quite a bit of water. You need to tone down your shots so you have some control and can stay in the middle. Big hooks and slices are nothing but grief. Play after 2 and with daylight savings will get you a $50 rate (rather than $99 rack rate). Course fair to up tee players. Full bar, restaurant and beverage cart.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“This course should be called "Lost Ball" Golf Club”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Without question, this is THE WORST golf course I've played in nearly 20 years of hitting golf balls. It is impossible to hit a decent shot that doesn't roll into the swamp, the greens have severe slopes and undulations, and the course is flat out ugly. I was part of a 4-some today and EACH of us (yep you read that right - EACH of us!) lost at least 12 balls. The reputation of this course is that the cart girls carry golf balls for purchase with them on the carts. And as we were leaving one of the folks in our group got a mixed drink at the bar - $13! There are many other, nicer, prettier courses in this area. Unless you want a horribly frustrating round, find some place else to play golf.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank momE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lost Key”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is 18 Hole course bending around water on most holes. Leave your driver at home. Locals call it "LOST BALL" shall I say more.

Helpful?
Thank Sigmachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vonore, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Eight of us played the course and all were disappointed. Yes, it is a very tight course with small greens that are well protected. But the course was not maintained well, fairways have very thin grass and the greens were rough & very slow. Club Staff was helpful. Marshall's need to be a bit more polite. We are not planning to return - there are better courses in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank 1Timetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lost Key Golf Club also viewed

Perdido Key, Florida Panhandle
Perdido Key, Florida Panhandle
 
Perdido Key, Florida Panhandle
Perdido Key, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Lost Key Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing