We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pleasant Any Season -- Even Winter • 15 Min. to Beach • 20 Min. to Pensacola Airport (PNS)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown
Ranked #13 of 63 Hotels in Pensacola
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Pleasant Any Season -- Even Winter • 15 Min. to Beach • 20 Min. to Pensacola Airport (PNS)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Sparkling wintery holiday decorations next to palm trees (& other tropical plants) always brings a smile. (Not a snowflake or snow drift in sight -- brings an even bigger smile.)

Standard, renovated 3-story Residence Inn (RI) -- 70+ suites. Clean, comfortable, consistent RI with updated/ modern burgundy furnishings.


1-Bedroom, Queen Bed, 1st Floor
----------------------------------------------
• One-bedroom suite not as spacious as some RI 1 bedrooms; 500 sq. ft. noted, but *seemed* snugger. Comfortable for 1, cozy for 2, cramped for 3 or 4.

• Quiet suite (facing E. Salamanca St.) considering proximity to roadways. (Nothing bothersome/ distracting; occasionally heard a heavy-footed neighbour above.)

• Living room: separate kitchen table & desk with enough room to spread out. Enough outlets for electronic gadgets. Free internet/WiFi. (Also tiny coat closet to place suitcase in.)

• Flat panel LCD TV in bedroom & living room. Precisely aim/ swivel TV wherever you are in room: desk, table, sofa, kitchenette.

• Kitchenette: 2 burner cooktop (with pots & pans), full-size fridge (with icemaker), microwave (for reheating leftovers) & a much appreciated dishwasher.

• Smallish bathroom with shower/ tub combo. Bathroom sink (outside bathroom door -- actually in bedroom) with enough counter space to spread out toiletries.

• Working iron/ ironing board (in closet) for touching up work shirts/ slacks.

• OK bed, but prefer firmer. (Little visitor (tiny lizard?) popped out from under bed 1 day -- just a quick hello & goodbye. Never saw again.)

• Heating/ cooling system worked without a hitch.


Additional Niceties
-------------------------
• Computer & printer nook (between lobby & gatehouse) to print documents & boarding passes.

• Working washers ($1) & dryers ($1) in guest laundry on 3rd floor (if remembering correctly).

• Modern exercise/ fitness room with elliptical, 2 treadmills, bicycle -- with built-in TV screens. Also weight equipment, towels, water. (Can exercise during wash & dry cycles. Dash between 3rd-floor laundry & 1st-floor exercise room -- as part of workout.)

• Free, on-site self-parking; no problem finding open spot.


Free Breakfasts & Dinners
------------------------------------
• Standard RI Gatehouse breakfasts (hot & cold items) with some variety & healthy options. (More rotation/ variety of hot items would be much appreciated by repeat/ long-term guests. Always hope for plain Greek yogurt, whole grain breads, & greater assortment of fresh, in-season fruit.)

• Depleted breakfast items replenished. Can grab items to go (yoghurt, banana) if pressed for time & need to eat on the go; or if time, sit & eat in comfortable dining area -- enough seating.

• Light evening meals also served at Gatehouse (by lobby desk). (Hoped for better quality meals, which are served at other RIs.) Convenient if you haven't time to prepare your own meals.

• Whether you enjoy the quality of breakfasts & dinners or not, save quite a bit of $ by eating in -- especially if you're feeding several family members. (Meal savings makes this hotel a good value.) Can also appreciate *convenience* -- particularly if you've had long day & are just too tired to go out.


Budget Eating & Shopping Nearby
----------------------------------------------
• For evenings when food isn’t served, 2 nearby options:
-- Outback Steakhouse (4-min. stroll: 0.2 mi./ 0.3 km) on E. Gregory St.) (Outback delivers if you don't feel up to going out.)
-- Carraba's Italian Grill (8-min. stroll: 0.4 mi./ 0.6 km) on N. 9th Ave.)

• Many diverse eateries nearby to suit any palate & budget. Call-in order & pick up on your way home from day’s activities. (Sadly, “Caribbean Soup Company” is no more.)

• If you’ve time/ inclination, food shop & prepare your own meals in fully furnished kitchenette. (Helps keep within spending limits -- especially if staying more than a week.) A 15-minute drive away (approx. 6 mi./ 10 km each) are 3 budget stores/ groceries: WalMart on Mobile Hwy.; WalMart on North Navy Blvd.; Target on Bayou Blvd.


Superb Location
----------------------
Many points of interest & free, picturesque areas to explore (photograph) on foot right outside door:

• Early morning walk or leisurely after-work/ dinner stroll at Bayfront Parkway (SR 196). Visit Veterans Memorial Park (off parkway) & walk toward bridge to see flocks of large sea birds in bay. (Nice view any time of year.)

• Approx. 15-min. drive (8 mi./ 13 km) to Pensacola Beach on Santa Rosa Island. (Scenic view over Pensacola Bay Bridge (Gulf Breeze Parkway) on to island. You might even see/ hear roar of Blue Angels' planes flying in formation overhead.)

• Approx. 20-min. drive (6 mi./ 10 km) to Pensacola International Airport (PNS); no RI airport shuttle.


Recommend *Any* Season
-------------------------------------
Overall, comfortable for short or long stays whether traveling with family or as a couple on holiday or alone on business: winter, spring, summer, fall. Solid suites, meals, services.

Would aim for top floor: no footsteps overhead & perhaps a view (other than shrubbery).

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gnomemoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resinndt, General Manager at Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Not only were our decorations sparkling…so was your review! Thanks for taking the time to cover all of our wonderful amenities. I have taken the liberty of sharing your kind words with the front desk…it is important to be up to date on directions and happenings in our city…this makes a big difference for our guests.
I hope you won’t wait until next winter to visit us…summer and the beaches are pretty wonderful down here too!
Warmest regards,
Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    57
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
54
36
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Early December 2012. 2 adults. Business with long breaks.
Location: Easy walking distance to Wendys, a steak house, and other eating places.
Easy walk to the bay for a morning or evening run along the sidewalks. Traffic lights at some of the crossing points.
Can quickly go to I-110, or go to historic/touristy old town, or go to the no toll bridge to Gulf Breeze (then the $1 bridge to the outer island and beaches).
Always got good information from the front desk and other staff. We had no problems with pick-up and deliveries at the Inn with FedEx (and saw UPS there often). All staff were knowledgable about times, distances, costs, and best routes to malls, YMCA, hospitals, military bases, sporting venues, etc.
Mid-week evening meals were substantial, e.g., baked potato and chilli, build-it-yourself 'burgers. Always, there was something extra: sweet potato fries one night, 2 types of meatballs another night. Breakfast had the usual scrambled eggs and do-it-yourself waffles, plus variety; depending on the day: turkey Candian bacon with egg and cheese, sausage patti or links (spicy), hash on a shingle, different potato dishes, grits, mellons and other fruits.
Some thought was put into the lay-out of the rooms in terms of compartmenting sitting area, kitchen, bed, and bath areas; and doing it with a minimum of floor to ceiling walls. TV was on a swivel base on top of a waist high set of drawers dividing the bed area from the sitting area (spin the TV to the sitting area or to the bed).
Writing desk with "office" chair. convertable couch. Recliner chair. ottoman (that slides under the low table). small kitchen table. microwave, 2 burner stove. dishwasher, refrigerator. Dishes, drinkware, pots and pans, coffee maker. 6 drawer cabinet (under the TV). Wide bathroom counter with one sink and storage. Tub/shower and toilet in their own room with door. Standard size double closet with mirrors on the 2 sliding doors.
Just enough furniture in the room for evening work sessions. There were 2 of us and we did not get in each other's way. The room may be okay for 4 adults working at the tables, but with children or teens this layout may be tight. There is a pool, tennis court, exercise room and spacious sitting room/breakfast room with TV off the lobby, but not enough to keep active teens interested. This last opinion is based on overheard conversations.

Room Tip: Bottle water available at breakfast- no charge if you take an extra for the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MnineM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resinndt, General Manager at Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Your profile pic bears an uncanny resemblance to Czar Nicholas II of Russia. Hopefully you felt like royalty in our hotel. Thanks for taking the time to cover all of our wonderful features and giving us high marks. It’s guests like you that make our work so rewarding. I hope that if your work brings you back to Pensacola we will again have a chance to “get it right.”
Also, we do have bottled water at breakfast as you suggested!
Warmest regards,
Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

There are a few decent places to stay in Pensacola, however if you are looking for a convenient location close to downtown, the beaches and not too far from NAS Pensacola and the airport --- then you have found the right place to stay. We always choose Residence Inn when we come home to visit. Rooms are clean -- a little crowded with three adults, a child and dog -- but it is manageable and worth it. The staff is super friendly. Want to recognize one of the employees in particular a kind lady named Tonya that went over and beyond the call of duty to make sure that all our needs were met. When she found out it was my daughter's birthday she asked the front desk to have something special done to help us celebrate. The General Manager arranged for "O Snap Cupcakes" be delivered to our room. These were by far some of the most delicious cupcakes we have ever eaten. (Thank you again for your generosity). How thoughtful and sweet for the GM and staff to make sure my daughter's birthday was extra special. There are some great places to eat in the surrounding area. Outback is right across the street and the world famous McGuire's Irish Pub is a short walk away. We are always pleased with Residence Inn and will continue to choose this location.

Room Tip: Consider getting a two room suite of you have more than two adults in your party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottieLover66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resinndt, General Manager at Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a stellar review of our hotel. As you noted, we are located in downtown Pensacola, near great restaurants and entertainment, as well as being convenient to Pensacola Naval Air Station. Also I will let Tonya know of your kind words about her “memorable moment”. If your travel plans ever bring you back to the Emerald Coast I hope you will consider us your “home away from home”.
Warmest regards,
Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just spent 4 nights and it was very nice except for a couple of minor problems. Cable went out and unable to watch the games in the room (Thanksgiving Day-channel 10). Moved to the lobby to watch.

Room was too small for three adults (1 bedroom suite with uncomfortable sofa bed). Guess we will need to splurge for a bigger suite at a hefty price increase next time!

Breakfast food was the real issue: cereal was stale, bananas were overripe and milk tasted sour. Other food options was processed and flavorless. Why not offer fresh food? We ended up at Publix to purchase breakfast food to eat in the room.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katsel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resinndt, General Manager at Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at our hotel. I'm glad that the staff made you feel at home and I was happy that you will return next year. As you indicated, we do have a suite available, if this size/configuration will be more comfortable for you.

I am so sorry about your experience with our breakfast which typically gets very positive reviews. Please let our management staff know if you have any concerns during your stay in the future so we can ensure your stay is beyond satisfactory. We always strive to have an award winning selection of make your own waffles, scrambed eggs, bacon or sausage, hash browns, yogurt, breakfast pasteries...we obviously missed the mark with your cereal...please accept my apology. I have addressed your feedback with the kitchen and I am certain we will "get it right"! Again thanks for letting us know how we did.
Warmest regards, Paul Martin General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta Ga
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Downtown location is great - walking distance to several restaurants, and an easy drive to the NAS or the beach. Everything was clean and well kept. Nice complimentary breakfast and friendly staff. Property was very well kept and well lit. Room comes with a separate bedroom, full kitchen, table, desk, sofa and two HD TVs. The room was a bit smaller than we expected. We were two adults and two pre-teens and frankly it was cramped. It would be a great place for a single person on an extended business trip, but no so great for a family. The bedroom held a queen sized bed, which turned out to be remarkably uncomfortable for me. It was unsupportive and too soft, leaving me with an aching back each morning - if you like very soft beds, it might be okay for you, but it was a real problem for me and even my wife complained about it, which is a big deal. We actually ended up leaving a day earlier than we had planned because we just couldn't take another night on that bed. Final nuisance: the internet connection was so slow as to be almost unusable. We could check our email, but that was about it.

This sounds like a lot of negatives, and it is. But other than the bed, everything else was acceptable, just less than expected for the premium price of a residence inn. I've also stayed at the Courtyard just across the street, and that's where I'll go next time I'm in town as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jh26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resinndt, General Manager at Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. The convenience, cleanliness, HDTV's, friendliness of staff and breakfast that you cited as positives are amenities that we work hard to "get right". As regards to the size of the room, may I suggest one of our other floor plans that might suit your needs. We have a Studio Suite, with a King Bed and Full Sleeper with an open floor plan which allows more space for four guests. Also we have Two Bedroom Suites with a King Bedroom with Bath, A Queen Bedroom with Bath and a Living Room with Full Sleeper. Both Suites have full kitchens just like the suite that you stayed in. I hope that if your plans bring you back to Pensacola, you will try one of these other options and let us change your impression of our beds. Thanks again and warmest regards, Paul Martin General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, va
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My dad and I stayed at the Residence Inn for two nights. We had never been to Pensacola but I had read that the Residence Inn was close to restaurants and the airport. I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel. It included complimentary breakfast which was really good (eggs, yogurt parfait, sausage, biscuits, etc). We stayed in a one bedroom with pullout couch. The linens for the pullout couch were in a zip up bag which made me feel there were just cleaned. Our room was quite nice. One night the air conditioning went out, but they had someone come up within a few minutes to fix it. The location is great! There is an Outback restaurant and brazilian restaurant right across the street and then behind that there is an Irish Pub. The downtown area is within walking distance (about 10 min) or a 6 minute drive. There was a Friday Arts Festival while we were there so we drove the few minutes and enjoy the local art/music. All in all, very impressed with the property and again, can't beat the price for the location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resinndt, General Manager at Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hi Stacy...thanks for you kind words about our hotel, its location and wonderful breakfast. Also thumbs up to the maintenance department for fixing your air conditioning in such a timely manner. Pensacola has many wonderful arts gatherings as you experienced during your visit. November 2-4th the Greater Gulfcoast Arts Festival will be happening about a mile from our property. I hope you can make it back for this wonderful celebration of culture on the Emerald Coast....We look forward to welcoming you back....warmest regards!
Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I had a six night stay here while on business at Pensacola Naval Air Station. I was a little concerned that it might be too long of a drive, but it wasn't. Traffic was not bad at all and easily made the trip within 20 minutes.
The hotel is great! The staff is courteous and efficient. The rooms are updated and comfortable. The location is very convenient to the commercial airport, restaurants, convention center, and the beach. Breakfast was fantastic - certainly the best I've had at a Residence Inn.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 48traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pensacola
0.5 mi away
Pensacola Grand Hotel
Pensacola Grand Hotel
#10 of 63 in Pensacola
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Pensacola Downtown
Courtyard Pensacola Downtown
#23 of 63 in Pensacola
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Beach
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Be...
#1 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola/Gulf Breeze
7.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pensacola Beach
SpringHill Suites Pensacola Beac...
#3 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
#5 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown
Address: 601 E Chase St, Pensacola, FL 32502-6232
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pensacola
#7 Family Hotel in Pensacola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown Hotel Pensacola
Pensacola Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing