We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pensacola Grand Hotel
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Pensacola
Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Location, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2007

Used to live in Pensacola and had to come back for a few days. I chose this hotel because I knew it was centrally located to many of the highlights of the city (beaches, downtown attractions, restaurants). It used to be a Hilton Hotel and some other things, but is now a Crowne Plaza. The lobby and bar areas have a nice atmosphere and feature the historic nature of the train station it is built on. I was upgraded without asking to the concierge floor (14 and 15th at the top of this hotel). The room was nice and had quality bedding and was tastefully furnished. Cleanliness was fine as well.

Here's the downside-I noticed a little packet with a sleeping mask and earplugs on the bed. Thought that was interesting and nothing more-that is, until it was time to sleep. The room walls are paper thin and you can hear normal conversations and all of the TV shows your neighbor is watching. Additionally, trains run past several times during each night and because of the downtown location, blow their horns for several seconds as they cross nearby intersections. I've never had to use earplugs in a room before, but used these both nights of my stay. So if quiet is important to you I can't recommend this hotel.


  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Florida-Images
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    147
    84
    24
    21
See reviews for
108
122
19
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2007

This is a newly renovated hotel. The lobby is the elegant old train station and there's a classic old bar. We didn't try the restaurant.
The rooms were large, with better than average furnishings and linens, as well as extremely comfortable beds. The location is convenient, though, if unfamiliar with Pensacola, it first feels a little isolated. it would have been helpful to have been offered a Pensacola map upon arrival. Seville Quarter, with its many restaurants, is just a few blocks down Alcrantz. The hotel is right next to the convention center. I did hear the train from my room a few times, but didn't find it bothersome.

  • Liked — the bed and elegant linens
  • Disliked — no views
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank lkr15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2006

Just re-opened after renovations for 2 years, really nice with plasma TVs in every room, close to Seville Quater for nightlife and Maguires for great steaks. BUT, there a is a train that runs within 30 yrards of the hotel and a few light sleepers in my group were awakened 3-4 times throughout the night by the train, so temper you selection with that info, other wise very nice. Military rate was hard to beat, at $88 with no tax.

  • Liked — very nice hotel, new and shiney
  • Disliked — train running next to hotel at 3AM
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for a corner room for a great view
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Herk_Driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2006

rangeland4@houston.rr.com
I lived at the Crowne Plaza for two weeks in October, 2004. From check-in to check-out I was treated extremely well. I will always stay there when I am in town. Imagine my surprise when I saw that this was only a 3-star hotel. Somebody messed up, I rate it a 5.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2004

Crown Plaza-Pensacola Grand Hotel

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed at! The staff is wonderful. Very clean rooms, view is great.
The kids loved the everything about the hotel.
Speedy checkin, room service, restaurant, bar, gift shop, pool, exercise room with a TV and an area for the kids while I did my workout! All the extras of an upscale hotel at a bargin. The hotel is centered around a historic train station.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2004

We really enjoyed our stay here. It's perfect for visiting downtown Pensacola - just a ten minute walk to the historic district. The lobby is beautiful - a converted railway station - with a nice bar and gift shop. I didn't try the restaurant, but those who had breakfast there seemed to enjoy it. The rooms are large and clean with plenty of toiletries provided, coffee-making facilities, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, complimentary newspaper etc. Make sure that you place the "do no disturb sign" on your door though, as the maid service turns up VERY early otherwise...

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank BJK2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pensacola
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola / I-10 Pine Forest Road
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Beach
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Be...
#1 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola/Gulf Breeze
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Pensacola Downtown
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Pensacola Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensacola Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensacola Grand Hotel

Property: Pensacola Grand Hotel
Address: 200 East Gregory St, Pensacola, FL 32502-4963
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pensacola
#12 Business Hotel in Pensacola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensacola Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Pensacola Grand Hotel, Pensacola s premier upscale hotel! Our hotel is located on the site of the Historic L&N Railroad Passenger Depot , which was built in 1912. The depot has been restored and now houses our lobby, CAVU lounge, 1912 Restaurant, Pandora's Skin & Beauty studio, The Tea Party gift shop, meeting rooms and the Grand Ballroom; creating charming ambiance. Our fifteen story, glass, guest room tower attached to the train depot offers breath taking views of Pensacola Bay and Historic Downtown Pensacola . We are pleased to offer the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage package in every room featuring comfortable new beds, guaranteed wake-up calls and sleep amenities. The Crowne Plaza Pensacola Grand Hotel is just off of I-110, Gregory St. in the prestigious downtown district, just 10 minutes away from Pensacola Regional Airport (PNS) and conveniently located next door to the Pensacola Civic Center . Ranking 7th in Overall Customer Satisfaction in all of Crowne Plazas-worldwide; we know that you will be thrilled with the service you will receive. Businesses near hotel: Solutia, International Paper, Gulf Power, Andrew s Institute Attractions near hotel: Pensacola Beach, Naval Aviation Museum, Seville Quarter/Seville Square ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pensacola Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Pensacola
Pensacola Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing