We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pensacola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Navy Lodge Pensacola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2011

LOVED the Naval Lodge!! We plan on going back!! Beautiful facility. Beach was gorgeous, excellent experience. We loved the Naval base. :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AirForceFam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Navy Lodge Pensacola
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 176 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2011

Ample parking with numerous spots to park in the shade. As we walked into the lobby (yes it was before checkin, we had just drove 7 1/2 hours, so we thought we would get information and come back later at check in), the older lady at the front desk said before we had a chance to say hello...."I hope you don't want a room". My husband replied, we have reservations and we know its too early, but we just wanted to get some information and then we will come back. When we finally did come back, the check in process took close to 30 minutes and this same lady did not get in a hurry. The rooms were nice, although it was obvious they had been well used with spots on the wall and paint missing off the bathtub, but was clean and smelled heavily of cleanser in the restroom. The room had a microwave, dorm sized fridge (which had a small freezer which actually froze instead of keeping things slushy). There was a hairdryer, ironing board and iron, along with flat screen tv and dvd player. The bed was queen size (room 110) and we didn't learn until later that night that the bed would be the very thing that cut our trip short. Our guests who stayed in room 111 experienced the same thing with their mattress. It was like it was horseshoe shaped and no matter how you tried, you ended up rolling into the middle of the mattress. The pillows were hard as a rock and we woke up many times during the night with our ear or head hurting from laying on them. We complained twice and even asked about being moved to a different room, in hopes, that the bed would be better. We were only told "I'm sorry" and then the front desk worker went back to what they were doing. The a/c worked wonderful and often we had to turn it back to keep from being too cold. All of the cleaning staff was beyond friendly, willing to help and go out of their way. I can't say enough positive about them and most of the front desk staff was extremely friendly except for the older lady at check in and then another girl in the late afternoon. She seemed annoyed and wouldn't directly answer any question we presented her with. Our room "key", which looks like a credit card kept deactivating and we would be locked out time and time again. This became very aggravating since it was so extremely hot outside. All the ice makers were broke except one and that was on the third floor, with us being on the first floor it was aggravating to have to go so far just for ice. The complimentary breakfast varied each morning, but coffee was in a little room down from the front desk and you picked up your "breakfast bag" at the front desk. (it normally had a small water, yogurt, danish or bagel and a spoon) The outside showers were not working, so whatever sand was stuck to you when you came back from the beach was tracked right back into our room. Our bathtub quit draining properly by the second night, as did our friend's tub next door. Most rooms had limited views of the water at best, the bushes and trees blocked the view. Out of room 110, we were able to see the utility box truck and lawnmower and that was about it. Nothing to see from these rooms. The steps leading down to the beach were not steep, but there were 48 of them with no hand rails, so if my parents had wanted to come, the climb down the steps with no railing and back up would have been dangerous. It was not handicap accessible to the beach from the hotel. The lighthouse nearby was well worth going to, along with the Navy Museum. The lighthouse was $5 per person, while the Museum was free. Check with the Museum regarding when the Blue Angels will be in the air. We saw them on two mornings and it was quite impressive. Overall, I don't know that we would come back to Pensacola Lodge due to the horrible bed, pillows and lack of view. But if your looking for a place to stay that is clean and reasonable, while you go out to see the sights....AND a night of little sleep is ok, then you will be well satisfied. We left a night early, due to lack of sleep (although it wasn't from noise from other rooms because our room was quiet, it was from the horrible mattress and pillows)

Room Tip: Rooms 401 to 404 looked to have the best view
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank relaxingwithnature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed for a week in May 2011 and a few days in June 2011. Great place to stay for the price. Only issues we had are; First thing wi-fi in your room cost $7.95 a day or $14.95 for a week. Wi-fi is free in the lobby. In May we were on house hunting PTAD, so we needed internet in the room. Next, there a mini mini-mart in the lobby; everytime I would something the front desk would say "why are you buying this here?". Lastly, and I guess because the rates are low; the breakfast is just a spunkmeyer muffin and sometimes juice. Being Pensacola and with the Naval Air Museum across the street, there are a lot of retirees and you have to make a reservation well in advance, also due to all of the training commands. This also means the coffee goes fast in the am. Overall, I will probably stay again. I booked one to two months early.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WMM2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

This is a STEAL at $75 a night! We stayed in Room 401 which had 2 queen beds, small kitchenette (Mircrowave, coffee maker, sink and fridge) Big walk out balcony with table and chairs to enjoy the Gulf view watching ships sail by. All redone updated room. I felt the Hilton in Pensacola which quoted me $270 a night for a peek of the Gulf could not have beat this deal! Down the elevator right out to the walk down to the beach. We walked the beach in the evening and watched the sun melt away. So peaceful! Dogs are allowed on this property and beach too!!! So pet friendly rooms available. Pensacola Lighthouse is a short walk or drive 177 step up the light house for a beautiful view and worth the $3 dollars to go! Be sure to look up and see the gargoyles on top of the lighthouse. It is supposevely very haunted. I felt it was! :0) Also the Air Museum on Base is FREE and very worth while going especially with smaller children as there is something for everyone including flight simulators that are a blast! This is a wonderful cheap get away for military families on a budget!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have better views.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ButtonwoodFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

The NAVY LODGE exceeded my expectations. Generally Navy billeting isn't the greatest, but this one has been recently remodeled, and the remodeling is still continuing. No problems with check-in, arrived around 2000 and the lady at the desk had my keys waiting and was very polite.
The rooms look like a bad motel from the outside, but they have been recently redone. It is no Sheraton or Hilton, but is nicely remodeled. Our room was on the second floor. It had 2 queen (or double?) size beds, 2 dressers, a flat screen TV, a chair, a kitchen complete with dishes, a stove top, microwave, and almost full-size fridge. The TV had Direct TV and the reception was good. The room itself if one big long room with a bathroom seperated from the rest of the suite. Standard militay furnishings, but nice.
The location is pretty good. Its about 30-45 minutes to Pensacola Beach, but just out the back of the lodge is a base beach, that is just as good, without all the crowds. Looks like there are awnings you can rent if you have a get together or something. For us we just grabbed our towls and buckets, and let the kids dig away in the sand, it was nice to be able to go right back to the hotel, and de-sand everyone. It is also right across the street (5-10 min walk) to the aviation museum which was excellent.
All in all, I would come back. If you are looking to have the hussle and bussle of the beach life this is not where you want to be, if you want a descent place to sleep and beach access, this is a good optioin.
The only negative is that you can't use the ice machine to fill up coolers. Everyone has a cooler, that needs to filled, it seems like they could get one that accomidate, instead of yelling at people who just want some cold water for their kids while they head down to the beach for a couple of hours.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AFSOONRMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Spent seven nights at the Navy Lodge over Spring Break. The room was spacious for our family of 4 and we made full use of the kitchen, especially the full-size refrigerator. We also used the community gas grill several times after cleaning the grill tools. The location to a beautiful beach literally on sight was used daily. We had no need to travel to any other beach over the week. We were treated to stingray and dolphin sightings here too! The room had a relaxing balcony with 2 chairs and an end table that we used every morning while eating a provided bag breakfast. The lodge is going through extensive renovations in the main building, but the work they were doing was unobtrusive during our visit. Besides going to the beach everyday, we also went to the excellent museum, climbed to the top of the lighthouse, watched a movie on-base, went paint balling, and did some shopping. The Lodge provided an excellent value for our vacation dollars.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank barbstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

I went to see my boyfriend, and the hotel staff was friendly, accommodating, and helpful. The room was comfortable and had a nice view off the balcony. I would recommend staying here any time.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank i_love_thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pensacola
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Pensacola West-Navy Base
3.5 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Pensacola-NAS
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola/Gulf Breeze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola / I-10 Pine Forest Road
13.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#25 of 65 in Pensacola
344 reviews
10.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pensacola Beach
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pe...
#3 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navy Lodge Pensacola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navy Lodge Pensacola

Address: Naval Air Station Pensacola, Bldg 3875, Pensacola, FL 32508-5217
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Pensacola
Price Range: $62 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 97
Also Known As:
Navy Lodge Pensacola Hotel Pensacola
Navy Hotel Pensacola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing