We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Blue Angel Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Blue Angel Inn
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Pensacola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
319 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Best breakfast !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is bit away from Airport and it is right of I-10 freeway.
We rented a car, thus, it was no problem for us. Beautifully upgrated rooms, quiet and comfortable bed, and most of all, best free breakfast we ever had in chain hotels!

Eggs tasted like it was just cooked - not microwaved but it was heated in oven! Everything tasted
fantastic!
Dining attendent told me that she loves cooking - and it shows! She made sure that we all had good day start and we appreciated it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldprune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blueangelinn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Blue Angel Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your time and your review. We value our customers and enjoy reading reviews. Our breakfast attendant has been with us since we opened the hotel. Mrs. Jean does a wonderful job in breakfast and loves meeting all the guest. I will pass this along to her.
Thank You
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    167
    51
    13
    8
See reviews for
213
166
27
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Our king room was large with a loveseat sitting area. The room smelled fresh and was very clean. It had nice furnishings and a refrig, microwave, and a flat screen TV. Very nice lobby, hallways and grounds. Our mattress was comfortable with double sheets on top. The hot breakfast was great with a large selection and a nice large breakfast area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skikingCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blueangelinn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Blue Angel Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to do a review on our hotel. We appreciate all the kind words you had to say. We hope that you stay with us again when you return to Pensacola.
Thank You
Melissa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocoee, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

beds are really nice not like a brick like most hotels!Nice clean place to stay, price is right! The staff was friendlyand had a superbreakfast buffet. location close to several good restaurants and shopping . easy acces to I-10

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blueangelinn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Blue Angel Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your review. We work really hard to provide a great guest experience. We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and beds. We hope that you stay with us again when you return to Pensacola.
Thank You
Melissa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Best night’s sleep we have had in a hotel in a long time. We are not big travelers but lately we have been doing a lot of it. This Best Western was recommended to us, it was a longer drive to the Navy Base but it was worth the drive. Would defiantly stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blueangelinn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Blue Angel Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you Wanda for the great review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Please stay with us again when you are in the Pensacola area.
Thank You
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

This Best Western is a decent choice for the area. All the employees I encountered were friendly and helpful. The breakfast attendant is a tad overbearing but maybe it was just me. Carpets need to be cleaned or replaced and there was a strong cigarette smell in our bathroom on the second night. For the cheap price get got this for on Priceline I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolinagirl5483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
159 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel to stay in. My son is Navy and was impressed by how well they made the bed. Everything in the hotel is in good condition. Carpet, tiling, bed, flat screen tv & paint were all perfect.

The staff was helpful and courteous.

I will stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blueangelinn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Blue Angel Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to do a review. We appreciate your comments and thank you for staying with us. We hope you stay with us again on your future trips to Pensacola. Please let your son know that we greatly appreciate his service with the Navy.
Thank You
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
155 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights based on TA member reviews. Disappointing stay it was.

Check in was easy and the staff was nice. When we entered our room the bathroom reeked of cigarette smoke. Turning the fan on made it worse. Somebody was smoking somewhere in, as we were told, this 100% non smoking hotel. We wanted to change the room but nothing was available on the 3rd floor so we opened the window instead and let the smoke ventilate out. That helped to get rid of the cigarette smoke, but when we got back later on it was replaced with cheap perfume odor that we smelled till the next day.

The bed was very firm so if you have a bad back you may love it. We did not care for it and did not get a good night sleep. The pillows were folded in half and thus very hard. We had to unfold them and fluffed them up. Unfortunately they are old and lumpy so bringing your own is a must.

The room has a fridge that cooled our food nicely without freezing it, but it was on the noisy side. We had no issue with noise from the other rooms (both occupied) and that was great. The room was clean except for the carpet especially by the entry / bath. During day light it looked OK; at night different story. It is way pass overdue for cleaning. Yes, that bad. The room size is OK, but the bathroom is on the smaller size. Very tight when 2 people are present.

We had two other issues.
TV had a line of dead pixels running up/down in the middle of the screen plus it was rescaling every minute: full screen, one minute later switched to wide screen, 15 seconds back to full screen. Repeat on every channel for as long as the TV is on. Gets old very quickly. I informed the front desk the next day and they replaced the TV. Unfortunately that did no fix the rescaling.
The other issue was the shower curtain rod was lose and when exiting the shower the first night the whole thing came crashing down. Luckily nobody got hurt. I told the front desk at the same time when I was telling them about the TV, but the maintenance did nothing about it as I knocked it accidentally down again 2 days later this time when drying off after shower.

The breakfast is average (looked after by over eager breakfast attendant. No, I do not need help with toasting that bagel; it is not a brain surgery, it is just a bagel. She was not my cup of tea, you may love her), with eggs & bacon and rest of the standard fare: breads & bagels, muffins, cereal, you know, the usual. Nothing new, different or special. Fresh fruit was apples and bananas; we wanted to eat neither.
Plus only six tables are available. Getting there early (7AM) did not help as all the tables were taken. The sad part is that people at 4 of 6 tables already ate and were just talking or watching TV oblivious to people standing around looking for a place to sit & eat. Our solution was to take the food to our room and skip the bland fare the next day. Added benefit: no attendant. I wanted to take a picture, but wished not to include the ever present attendant (or other guests) in it.

Parking is tight in front of the building (more secure in my opinion) with additional parking in the back.

The location is fine if you just passing through on Int 10 to somewhere else. Gas station (TT), fast food (BK), and restaurant (Cracker Barrel) are walking distance close and Nine Mile Rd is about mile north with all the stores you may need. If you go to the beach or want to stay closer to the city (our case) we could have done without the extra miles.

So what I mean with 'Really?' As I write this BW is rated #2 in Pensacola, FL. Either my understanding of value is different from other TA member (likely and would not be the first time) or the remaining hotels in Pensacola are not that good (unlikely). If I could I'd rate it 2.5*, but since that is not possible, 3* it is.

We paid $76.50 / night + tax, but next time in Pensacola we will gladly pay more and stay in or closer to (down)town. Or pay even more and stay at one of the hotels in Pensacola Beach. I already know where I will be staying next time. This BW will not be it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KHL12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blueangelinn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Blue Angel Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
I want to start by saying thank you for your comments. With that being said I would like to address a couple of items you mentioned. The TV worked fine and we never replaced the TV in your room, the housekeeping supervisor came to the room and wiped the screen and it was fine. Maintenance came to the room while you were out and checked the shower rod and it was fine no adjustments were needed. We are 100% smoke free and sometimes people do break the rules and smoke in rooms and we have to charge them the fee. In this case their was a guest that smoked in the room above your room and they were charged the fee and the room was cleaned and sanitized. As far as the breakfast attendant she is a very nice helpful woman and since you seemed to be having trouble with your bagel she offered to assist you. We regret that you wont be staying with us again but to say other travelers don't know what they are talking about or that our property is sub standard is not correct. We are approved AAA rating of 3 star..won Trip Advisor Excellence award..and Best Western Service Champion National Award. We really care about our guest and take great pride in running a clean, great priced hotel.
Thank You
Melissa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pensacola hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola / I-10 Pine Forest Road
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn - Pensacola / N Davis Hwy
9.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#19 of 63 in Pensacola
3.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Pensacola West
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Pensacola Airport (Cordova Mall Area)
7.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Pensacola Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Blue Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Blue Angel Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Blue Angel Inn
Address: 2390 W Detroit Blvd, I-10 Exit 7, Pensacola, FL 32534-1721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pensacola
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pensacola
#4 Best Value Hotel in Pensacola
#5 Business Hotel in Pensacola
#6 Family Hotel in Pensacola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Blue Angel Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Newly Remodeled" interior corridor property with easy access to Interstate 10. Offering Deluxe Hot Breakfast, Free High Speed Internet, Business Center, Fitness Center, Swimming Pool, Food Store, Outdoor Picnic Area, Guest Laundry. Offered in all rooms, Microwaves, Refrigerator, Coffee Pots, Hairdryers, Iron/Ironing Boards, 42 Inch TVs w/Cable and HBO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Blue Angel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Blue Angel Hotel Pensacola
Best Western Pensacola
Pensacola Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing