We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great Hampton Inn Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola I-10 North at University Town Plaza
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Pensacola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Stayed here on the way to Orlando for Spring Break (as did apparently a good portion of the state of TX it appeared.....) Had 6 people divided up into 2 rooms, so had plenty of room with 2 Queen size beds in each. Staff was very polite, as always. Standard Hampton Inn complimentary breakfast, which is always a hit with the kids.

Would stay here again if we were just passing thru, but didn't appear to be the greatest location if you were staying in Pensacola for vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola I-10 North at University Town Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 442 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2012

I have stayed at this Hampton Inn before. Our experience was good before but even better this time. We received a daily newspaper, maybe because we are Hiltons Honors members. The receptionist offered to put us in a king suite for no extra charge. The suite has a sofa and refrigerator.

The reason I chose the Hampton Inn instead of the Holiday Inn is that they have a great breakfast. Their breakfast varied each day and they had a make-your-own pancake machine, eggs, cereal, bagel, muffins, fruit, yogurt, pretty much whatever you would want.
There is coffee available all day and night and some evenings they had freshly made cookies. There is a bowl of bananas and apples in the lobby too that you can have at any time.

The beds were typical of Hampton Inn which is very good. We had extra pillows and I asked for an extra blanket and got one very quickly.

The only glitch we had was that I had booked our reservation at hamptoninn.com and the rate at check-out was not the same. I had brought my receipt with me and the receptionist made the change to the bill to what it should have been.

There were no cars racing around in the adjoining shopping center parking lot as I was afraid of. We had a great time here and definitely would return.

Room Tip: We were on the 1st floor in a king suite which was very nice.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joprit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Pros: Nice hotel, clean, good bedding, nice bathrooms, good shower, free international breakfast with extras, free coffee all day, free paper, nice social lounge area, close to many restaurants.

Cons: not much but the hotel is next to the mall which is pretty old and run down, not very convenient to the main roads, and probably the priciest in the immediate vicinity. Walking through the halls sounds and feels like your walking in an attic.

A very good hotel for the area and an above average hotel overall.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I love staying with Hampton, their beds are the best. This one was pretty noisy, could hear just about everything going on in the hallway. Overall really clean and in a good location.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krisbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stopped in Pensacola on our way to Orlando - the hotel was fine for the purpose - an overnight stay. Nothing much to write about, the breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

A fine hotel, clean, comfortable, good front desk. There was drywall work by our room, got woke up at 8:30 in morning. Not good, but not Hampton's fault. So when we brought this up they immediatly refunded our entire stay. That is service you can't find anywhere but Hampton. I'll be back Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHILIP P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This hotel is in the strangest area! It says "University Mall" which implies it is an area with a shopping mall, as well a college area. It is neither!!
I will tell you about our experience and let people judge for themselves, since I know what is a big deal to some, is not to others.
We (my husband, teenage son and myself) needed to be in Pensacola for 4 nights (would have stayed 5 if it was nice enough) to attend an event my son was participating in, so we weren't looking for a "beach vacation" even though they were very close by. I had specifically booked a suite with a King and a Queen since my husband and I are both tall and my son is already 6'4". I booked directly through Hilton Honors, am only pointing that out because sometimes hotel management likes to say they aren't as responsible when people book "through discount 3rd party sites". They made no mention of this being a problem of any sort. We arrived at 2:30 after a long 7 hr drive, hoping to check in, even knowing ck in is at 3. The front desk people were VERY rude and just said -- sorry, ck in is at 3. Ok -- we're easy going, we went to get my son something to eat and then ran in the Walmart to pick up a few things for the week -- we got back at 3:40 -- not only did she rudely say it wasn't ready -- she offered not apology, nothing! It was a VERY hot day and at this point after driving we were exhausted. I don't get upset about much, but manners and customer service are VITAL to me! We sat in the lobby and she never offered us a bottle of water, an apology for our wait.... nothing! At 4:05, she glances up and says "it's ready".....we didn't get an "enjoy your stay", thanks for waiting patiently -- nothing! We would be out of business if we ever treated customers that way!!! So..... we get off the elevator and we notice there is wallpaper hanging off of the walls, the carpet strip is rolled off.....clearly, something is going on, but we don't know what? We get to our room and discover it's not what we reserved, but a King bed with a double pull out couch. Well, let me tell you, put a large teenage athlete on one of those things and you have misery!! I call downstairs and she rudely states, "that's ALL we have". Again, no, apology for not giving us what we asked for! If we hadn't been up since 4:am and driven in the car, waited for room, we would have gone somewhere else!!!!
So.... back to this "mall" -- there is NO mall...... there are 3 stores and the rest has been torn down to the ground!! A VERY old Sears, JC Penney and a Belk.... they are all seperated by debri and garbage -- it looks like a bomb went off. I asked someone "did you have a storm or tornado here too?" They said -- no, they just tore it down because another mall was built not far away and business went down. Okkaayy?? So.... there is no "University area" or mall or anything! It is a very rundown area. There was noise ALL night every night -- there was a military family in the room next to us and she said her children were awakened also -- there were actually people drag-racing in the empty, deserted "mall" parking lot and roaring their engines until 4 am!! The morning we checked out a business group had just checked in and at breakfast they said they were planning on calling the police if it continued tonight!!
The breakfast every day was ok, pretty typical but nothing special. The hotel itself is relatively clean, but they did have a Flooding issue on the 3 rd floor which caused all of the rooms being ruined. Would have been nice if I had been told that they didn't have any of what I booked and hadn't for months! Makes me pretty mad to pay extra for something I don't get, then be stuck in discomfort!
The housekeeping staff was very friendly but the front desk people, seriously, were the most rude I have ever had contact with!!! And I don't complain about stuff like that, in general, but this was unbelievable!
The ONLY bright spot was that we found a wonderful little Italian restaurant a few miles away. The owners greeted us at the door, were originally from Sicily -- the food was simple but DELICIOUS!! We also ate down at the beach at Peg Leg Pete's -- good seafood, decent prices, and good wine.
But I would NEVER stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASRmomx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pensacola hotels
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola / I-10 Pine Forest Road
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Pensacola Airport (Cordova Mall Area)
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn - Pensacola / N Davis Hwy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pensacola Airport -Medical Center
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pensacola
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Blue Angel Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola I-10 North at University Town Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola I-10 North at University Town Plaza

Address: 7050 Plantation Rd, Pensacola, FL 32504-6330
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pensacola
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pensacola
#6 Business Hotel in Pensacola
Price Range: $114 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola I-10 North at University Town Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola-University Mall hotel boasts an ideal location in the charming coastal village and thriving resort of Pensacola, Florida. Minutes from our hotel in Pensacola, Florida, you can explore Gulf Islands National Seashore, Pensacola Beach, and over fifty miles of pristine white shores. Enjoy a warm welcome and friendly service at our hotel in Pensacola, Florida and start your day right with Hampton's free hot breakfast and famous waffles. Catch up with work in our free business center or host a meeting or gathering for up to 30 people in our meeting space. Work out in our fitness center, enjoy a refreshing swim in our outdoor pool or visit the beautiful sandy shores of Pensacola Beach. Retire to a comfy guest room featuring an HDTV and free high-speed wireless internet access and get some rest on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola I-10 North at University Town Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola-University Mall Hotel Pensacola
Hampton Inn And Suites Pensacola-University Mall
Hampton Inn Pensacola
Hampton Inn Hotel Pensacola
Pensacola Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing