We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foodie Heaven”
Review of Type by Chef Blake Rushing - CLOSED

Type by Chef Blake Rushing
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Type is new but Blake Rushing has a world of experience. Type reflects all that experience. The menu is eclectic and changes every other weeks. There are some entrees that are always on the menu. Otherwise, expect to have your curiosity piqued. The night we were there, several of us had sauted mussels and shrimp served in a cilatro-based sauce, accompanied by vegetable garnished with home made kim chee. Several had duck about which they raved. Others had a very interesting looking carbonara served with a lovely portion of pork tenderloin. Everyone enjoyed their dinner a great deal.

The restaurant is open and airy. It has a full bar across the back wall. While the restaurant was full the night we were there, we could still hear all the conversations at our table but not at the other tables. Interesting acoustics.

The prices were reasonable for the items selected.

We will go back, if for no other reason than that the menu will be different.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Skip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallory J, Public Relations Manager at Type by Chef Blake Rushing, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

First, I would like say thank you. All of us here at Type strive for excellence, and it is extremely rewarding when the guest, you in this case, is pleased. We hope you have visited us since, and if not we look forward to feeding you and your family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 43 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

Was taken here as a surprise for my birthday. It was absolutely one of the best dining experiences we have ever had. Perfect low key atmosphere, a staff that is very knowledgeable and attentive that acts like a tour guide taking you through a taste adventure. The food will absolutely delight your senses with tastes, textures, smells and a presentation that is top notch. We were even trying food we normally do not like to eat and could not get over how good it was. The value was incredible as well as I have paid much more for meals but not gotten nearly as good of food or an experience for what I paid. The menu changes every two weeks, we definitely plan on becoming regulars now and look forward to the new items that are to come!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tkatl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallory J, Public Relations Manager at Type by Chef Blake Rushing, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

First, thank you for review; what an awesome birthday surprise! We are thrilled to hear that you had a superior time. And your right, the menu changes every two weeks! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were excited to eat at this restaurant in Pensacola. The atmosphere is very trendy and the food looked beautiful, but it was lacking flavor. The menu is very limited with only 3 main dishes. On a positive note, they will let you bring your own bottle of wine with no corking fee. Although we were not impressed with the first and main plates, the desert was exceptional.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hmseminole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallory J, Public Relations Manager at Type by Chef Blake Rushing, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

First, thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. Our menu changes every two weeks, so hopefully you will give us another chance to wow you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I ate at Type by chef Blake Rushing a few days ago. It is byfar the best restaurant in Pensacola. Chef Rushing has worked with world class chefs such as Gordon Ramsey and Daniel Boulud. We have eaten at Gordon Ramseys in London, and I am sure that chef Ramsey would be proud of the dishes chef Rushing is putting out. The menu changes every 2 weeks, and it highlights local ingredients. We travel to Europe every year for the food, and have eaten in the best restarunts in Europe. Chef Rushing has captured the European style of excellence with each of his menu items. If you are traveling to Pensacola and you are looking for excellent food, this is a must. They are open from Monday thru Friday from 5:30pm til 10:00pm. Reservations are strongly suggested. My wife and I recommend anything on the menu. The service is friendly, helpful and professional. The prices are reasonable considering the quality of the food you are being served.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank kennphyllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallory J, Public Relations Manager at Type by Chef Blake Rushing, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

First, thank you for your review; it is so pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your experience dining with us. Also, we have changed our days of operation to Tuesday through Saturday, same time (5:30-10:00). Again, thank you for your review of Type, and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

What an enjoyable evening. Great service. Great atmosphere as well.refreshing to have a place like this in Pensacola fl. Nice the way they have partnered with duh and Norma's . I can't wait to go back!

1  Thank Boatwithmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallory J, Front Office Manager at Type by Chef Blake Rushing, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

So nice to hear that your experience dining with us was an enjoyable one! And we love our partnership as well! Don't forget our menu changes every two weeks, so come try one of our new dishes soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Type by Chef Blake Rushing also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing