We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best cheesesteaks in town!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Philly's Cheesesteaks & Hoagies

Philly's Cheesesteaks & Hoagies
Ranked #30 of 645 Restaurants in Pensacola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $9
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
158 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best cheesesteaks in town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is one of those places you may pass by every day and think nothing of it due to the location and the outer appearance, but you are missing out! Philly's by far has the best cheesesteaks in town and the staff is always friendly and most of them get to know the patrons by name.

There are only 3 tables or so inside as it is meant to be a takeout place, so keep that in mind. Also, I would recommend calling in your order as it can get very busy at times and there is usually a wait in the evening due to their popularity.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    22
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Cheesesteak Sandwiches!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Everytime that I go, to Pensacola, I stop here, for a sub, and they're always fantastic. My only complaint is that the price is kind of steep. For a large plain sub and a 12 oz. can, of soda, I gave the clerk a $10.00 bill, and only got a few coins back, as change. You can have lunch, at lots, of all-you-can-eat, buffet restaurants, for much cheaper than that.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, TN
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best cheese steaks in Pensacola area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

These folks know how to make cheese steaks! These are the authentic deal just like in Philly!
Admittedly, it is an out of the way hole in the wall in a neighborhood strip next door to a pizza take out joint, and offers little in the way of ambiance, but it is worth driving a little out of the way for.
There are three or four tables, but most folks order to go.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tomzoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best Cheesesteaks and Italian Subs - I Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I visit my father in Pensacola once a year every year and as soon as he picks me up at the airport I say, we need to stop by Philly's so I can get a cheesesteak! For a cold sandwich my favorite is the Old World Italian.......so so so Good! During my stay I go back at least 5-10 times for lunch, I just cant get enough of this place. When in Pensacola Florida, do yourself a favor and go eat!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trav69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
130 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Almost as good as the original”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Ok, having spent 3 year living in Philly and eating my fair share of Pat's and Geno's, I would be tough to please.

On the positive side, bread was fresh, steak and chicken parm both good, and a welcome break from the chain sub shops.

They have a cooler with a good selection of sodas, but this is a take out place. At most there are 8 small tables and the unisex restroom makes an airplane bathroom look luxurious.

Plenty of folks called ahead their order, so it took longer than I expected, maybe 10-15 minutes.

The worst crime of all, no Cheese Whiz! I was at a loss for words, but just got some surly remark from the counter help.

Keeping with the Philly theme, they had Tastykakes or dessert. Yumm!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank likey2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philly's Cheesesteaks & Hoagies also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Philly's Cheesesteaks & Hoagies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing