We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”

Captain Joey Patti's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 664 Restaurants in Pensacola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We take fresh gulf Coast seafood,fry it to perfection and serve it to you with a smile. We are hoping to have a grill installed soon but we do have a lot of non-fiction menu items available. We do not use any heat lamps here at the restaurant so everything is served fresh.
Rota, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This is my second time having lunch here and it was ok. I remember the first time not being really impressed but wanted to give it another try. I think if you like all fried food this is the place. I wish there were a few more options for grilled fish. The service is always quick and everyone's friendly.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank clove78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    85
    33
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Confused...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We first walked to Joey Patti's - looked inside at the seafood market and were confused. I asked an employee outside where the restaurant was, and she pointed us across the parking lot to Captain Joey Patti's Seafood Restaurant.

The inside is '50's lunch tables...food served in plastic baskets w/plastic utensils. Everything is fried...the side of beans were ok. The hushpuppies were different w/bits of red and green peppers. Standard steak french fries. The fish was ok, nothing great. They advertised cakes for desert, but there were only a couple sad pieces in one of those glass revolving displays.

Only cash on the restaurant side...we had to walk through part of the kitchen to the deli side to pay with plastic.

After lunch, we walked into the fish market to look around and discovered Joey Patti's Restaurant...a sushi place tucked into the corner of the market. The market also has a fantastic deli, gelato counter, breads....one could have a better, fresher lunch buying from the market.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pastorjoene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“All fried, all the time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

There are only a couple of items on the menu that aren't fried. It's decent enough in its fashion but there are a dozen better seafood restaurants in Pensacola.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mandycatflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good fresh seafood.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Fried seafood southern style. Only open for lunches. You have to not mind eating out of plastic baskets with plastic utensils but who really cares about that? With the fish market across the parking lot, it doesn't get much fresher. Great food, good prices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
179 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Confusion as I thought the restaurant was the #1 rated Joe Patti's Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stopped at Joe Patti's Seafood in Pensacola as it is the #1 rated restaurant in Pensacola. We walked into the Seafood Market and asked about the restaurant. We were sent outside to a couple of mobile home style buildings. The restaurant is actually a diner, and definitely not what I expected for the #1 rated restaurant. But, I figured the food must be good to be #1. I later realized the Trip Advisor listing is Captain Joey Patti's Seafood Restaurant.

Service was prompt and helpful. We wanted the gumbo and the fish of the day but didn't see the combination on the menu. The waitress advised we could order the gumbo and for an additional $2 add a piece of fish. While we waited for our food we noticed quite a few older people coming in. We apparently had found the local's lunchtime hangout. The gumbo was delicious with plenty of seafood. The fish, while fried, was light and it wasn't greasy. It was cooked perfectly.

While the decor isn't much to write home about, the food is fresh, cooked to order, and reasonably priced.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luv2trvlRedondoBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Joey Patti's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Captain Joey Patti's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing