We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Irish on the Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of McGuire's Irish Pub & Brewery

McGuire's Irish Pub & Brewery
Ranked #4 of 659 Restaurants in Pensacola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: McGuire's Irish Pub first opened in 1977 as a small neighborhood pub in a shopping center. In 1982 McGuire's moves to its current location; Pensacola's original 1927 Old Firehouse. Inside the pub you'll find a turn-of-the-century, New York Irish Saloon themed 615-seat restaurant. We are celebrated for our atmosphere boasting more than One Million signed dollar bills hanging from the ceilings and walls of the Pub. In 1996, McGuire's Irish Pub of Destin opened on beautiful Destin Harbor with the same great food and live Irish entertainment. For the most current Menu's please visit our website.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Irish on the Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

I've been here a few times now and have really enjoyed it immensely each time me and my family stop in. If you haven't ever tried Mc Guires I would say now is better than later . its a little bit of Ireland on the beach and the beer aint half bad.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 44tracyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,891
    571
    164
    52
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pace, Florida
Level Contributor
264 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Delicious Prime Ribeye Steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Dined here Friday night at the request of my out of town guest. Husband and I had avoided the restaurant...had heard it was a "tourist trap." The restaurant was indeed filled with tourists AND locals because the food was excellent! We were seated right away and our order was quickly taken. We both had the wedge salad, prime ribeye steak with onion rings and mashed potatoes. Potions were so huge, we enjoyed leftovers for lunch the next day. The steak was excellent - tender, perfectly seared and seasoned. Service was courteous and professional. The noise level was very loud. Our only complaint is that our entrees arrived so quickly, we were unable to enjoy our salads. Looking forward to returning.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not as great as it was hyped up to be!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Everywhere we went, people said, "You have to eat at McGuire's!" Except for the novelty of dollar bills hanging from the walls and ceiling, McGuire's was just an average restaurant. The food was nothing special, and the service left something to be desired. Even the famous bean soup for $.18 was just watery navy bean soup. With all the other restaurants in the area, I would not return there.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous lunch in a fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

There is a reason this place is ranked 2...you will not be disappointed! The whole place is amazing with all the dollar bills. The signature beer the waitress recommended was very good. Food was outstanding. Visit the bathrooms see if you can find the right one??? Thanks for a great dining experience!

Helpful?
Thank Cabincuchara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nudity on Display”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

After much thought I decided to go ahead and just send an email to you. This past Saturday (Feb 22) for lunch I brought in my 2 children, older brother in from Louisiana and my parents who were also visiting from Louisiana. Let me first say that I love both locations. Your burgers are the best but I live locally and have been going to the Pensacola location now for 10 yrs. I've had many items on the menu and have enjoyed them all. I brought my older brother there in 2012 for his first time. When he came out of the men's bathroom he said there was pornographic pictures hanging on the back of the stall doors. This past time we sat in a booth nearby to your brew station. Hanging on the wall there by my head was a picture of a naked woman. I tried to cover it with my napkin but it was nailed so close to the wall that I couldn't drape it over. Things of this nature I do not want my 7 yr old son or 12 yr old daughter to see. Actually my family and I would've been better off not seeing this or dining with it hanging there. I am very troubled to know that McGuire's is okay in having this type of stuff in your restaurants anyway. You have many children dining in and a nice kid's menu so I don't know how you could think that this would be acceptable. Nudity inside of a restaurant where entire families go to eat should not be allowed or assumed to be acceptable.

Sorry for this unfavorable email. As a Christian I cannot in good faith bring my family to your restaurant any longer if things like this continue to be display.

Thank you,

Kristie Brown

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGuire's Irish Pub & Brewery also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to McGuire's Irish Pub & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing