We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

McGuire's Irish Pub & Brewery
Ranked #4 of 670 Restaurants in Pensacola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Irish, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: McGuire's Irish Pub first opened in 1977 as a small neighborhood pub in a shopping center. In 1982 McGuire's moves to its current location; Pensacola's original 1927 Old Firehouse. Inside the pub you'll find a turn-of-the-century, New York Irish Saloon themed 615-seat restaurant. We are celebrated for our atmosphere boasting more than One Million signed dollar bills hanging from the ceilings and walls of the Pub. In 1996, McGuire's Irish Pub of Destin opened on beautiful Destin Harbor with the same great food and live Irish entertainment. For the most current Menu's please visit our website.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Was absolutely wonderful. A bit pricey but well worth it! Will definitely go back! We had a fantastic waitress who was very attentive! We added our own $1 bill to the ceiling :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhitWikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,994
    591
    174
    55
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“OK food and drink, good ambiance”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We went for dinner on a Monday night and had to wait a good 15-20 minutes. The wait staff was very pleasant and friendly, although our waitress must have been new since she had to ask the other waitress in order to answer some of our menu questions. The home made root beer was excellent, although the Margarita that was on "special" was pretty weak. The Porter was average, nothing special. The burgers were average too. The Reuben was not so good, the corned beef being somewhat tough and there was not enough dressing. All in all, dinner was fine, but definitely not up to our expectations after reading the other reviews.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A kitschy tourist trap with a great steak”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I stopped here after reading reviews while on business. My first impression was one of confusion; it looks like an Irish brewery/pub, hooters, and steakhouse all in one. It even has a gift shop. It's really tacky and the decor is bizarre. Moose and hippo heads along with thousands of dollar bills stapled to the ceiling along with the redlight hue are all pretty odd. The food however was pretty good. The wedge salad could have been done up a little better (grilled and with bacon) than just cold iceberg and blue cheese dressing. I ordered Molly's filet with a baked potatoe. It was served on a sizzling iron skillet with a blue cheese covered tomato and two onion rings. The steak, beside lack of seasoning was pretty good. The tomato and potato were standard. The real hero here is the in house brewed IPA beers and Irish bread with honey butter . Overall this place , along with the musical act can make for an enjoyable night. Not romantic, more of a happy hour place with a good steak.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zodiacwarpspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great place to eat and the atmosphere is awesome. They have over 1 million $1 bills hung all over the restaurant. Our waitress was so nice and very knowledgeable of the menu. My sister and I shared a ribeye steak as it was 16oz of awesomeness, plus a salad and baked potato. Plenty of food. The others in our party were highly satisfied also. You must order the ham & bean soup. It's 18cents a bowl and very tasty. Overall, Awesome!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Food, Poor Service”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We went to McGuire's on Friday night on 8/09/13. We ate at the bar due to the wait was 45 minutes in the dining room. The bartender, Luke, was arrogant and acted as though we were an inconvenience to him. We received our food and tried to get the bartender's (Luke) attention to get condiments but he was too busy giving free drinks to young girls and ignored us. The food was good but the service was very poor. The other bartenders and wait staff were arrogant and rude also. This restaurant survives on their name, food and not their service. We will not return to McGuire's. It is not worth the wait and their rude employees will make this a poor experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGuire's Irish Pub & Brewery also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to McGuire's Irish Pub & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing