We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You know what you are getting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shanghai Buffet

Shanghai Buffet
Ranked #312 of 664 Restaurants in Pensacola
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pensacola
Level Contributor
129 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“You know what you are getting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is a great place to go because the food is consistently prepared the same way. If you like their food, then it's good every time you go. I like to swing and get take out from the buffet which is sold at a reasonable price, by weight.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eduman4260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    14
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“In a crunch it is ok not the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Friendly staff, busy restaurant. Food so-so. Orange chicken is not suppose to fall apart in the pan. Likewise all the rest of the covered items from shrimp to chicken were falling apart. Taste wise it was good. Chow mein was runny, wet, sloppy. Fried rice was great. We were use to bigger buffets.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dm2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Better than Chinatown in San Francisco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

With all the huge Chinese buffets in Pensacola, Shanghai Buffet is the only one that puts out relatively small portions; therefore everything they serve is fresh. Without a doubt, the best sesame chicken I have ever eaten. Everything there is good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wnoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Being super picky about food, I am even more so about Asian restaurants. Unless you are in a big city, upscale/sit down Asian is rarely an option. Disappointed we could not find internet results for such a place in a city the size of Pensacola, we began narrowing down the better candidates of what WAS here. I was cautious about the location when we drove up. Its in a shopping center. *frowns* This is usually never a good sign. (Considering our first try was a "highly rated" sushi/hibatchi that was also in a nearby shopping center... that REEKED of old stinky fish. Sushi grade fish should be odor free, by the way!)

Average size for this type of location, smallish buffet, but dishes are focused on the mainstays. I enjoyed the Sesame Chicken very much. Not sugary sweet like most every asian place makes it. Also the sauce had a light sticky consistency that didn't saturate the batter, but rather lightly coated this very crispy light batter. The chicken was actually hand cut white meat strips. No overly battered soggy gobby mystery hunks of strangely textured meat or meat products here!!! YAY!

The "crab rangoon" style Five Cheese Wontons were the absolute best I've ever had!!! Crispy, stuffed to the max with cheesy goodness. NOT sweetened or wrecked with chopped onions. The egg drop soup was light and flavorful.

My only complaints were: the crispy noodles for the soups were stale, been out/exposed to air too long; and the "Chinese Dumplings" were also not fresh. The dumplings themselves had an awesome flavor... they were just stale and cool... (dumpling dipping sauce was a good house recipe though!)

Service was consistently frequent enough to get refills on beverages but not be pestered to death...

-- Overall, Shanghai Buffet was beyond our reluctant choice's expectation!!! And two of us ate and had beverages for $19.12 plus tip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HonestReviews4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Decent Buffet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Nothing to write home about, but fresh and good for a quick lunch. It has some competition with other Chinese buffets and still seems to be doing well.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SandyNetherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Buffet also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Shanghai Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing