We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view ... but that's it.”
Review of Nick's Boathouse

Nick's Boathouse
Ranked #20 of 670 Restaurants in Pensacola
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Nick's Boathouse! Located in downtown Pensacola set peacefully on the bay, we offer an innovative and comforting menu featuring a wide variety of fresh seafood, steaks and flatbreads. We serve lunch and dinner in a relaxed and casual atmosphere on our outdoor patio, with an excellent waterfront view. On Friday and Saturday nights we present live local music on our outdoor stage for your enjoyment. Our eclectic fare and delicious drinks are sure to please, so if you're seeking a delightful waterfront meal be sure to visit us at Nicks Boathouse!
Meridian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
111 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Nice view ... but that's it.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

While in town to visit family, we decided to give this place a try. It was a mistake. The service was not only slow but the server had 0 personality. It took 15 minutes to get our drinks and there were only 2 other parties in the whole place. (It was 3 in the afternoon.) It took 25 minutes to get our food.

The food: The crab/lobster bisque had so much wine in it, it was VERY overpowering and a total disappointment. The shrimp and grits was the worst I have ever eaten. The grits in this dish should be smooth and creamy. These were lumpy and hard on the bottom. My son had a shrimp po-boy and it was made with tiny fried salad shrimp. Never in my life have I seen a shrimp po-boy made with salad shrimp. They were tiny, dry, hard and tasteless. My husband had a grilled chicken sandwich and the chicken tasted like vinegar.

The back page of the menu lists those items as coming with rice and a vegetable but this is not true. The server said only a couple of the items listed there come with rice and a vegetable. Well, then why not remove the items from that page that DON'T come with it?????

We had to ask for napkins, salt, pepper, sugar, crackers AND drink re-fills.

This is not an inexpensive restaurant. One expects (and should expect) more for their money. We will not return and would never recommend this place to others.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katiescarlett67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    178
    79
    48
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“great view sitting outside”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

wife's grilled shrimp was very good. My prime rib special had a lot of fat (prime rib can sometimes do that).
Onion soup was good. They brought some horrid tomato vinerete for the salad, I'm glad I tasted it before putting it on salad!
Blue cheese replacement was a bit thin, but much better. Margueritea was good.
waiter was accommodating, moving us inside, then outside, then moving us again as it started to rain on us.
very best part of meal was the 20% discount given to all military.
I'd go back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor patio to see the water and food is good. Nice for dinner with friends”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have been here several times and it is a great place for a mid-priced meal and to enjoy eating outside watching the birds and view of the bay. They offer specials that are reasonable and most of the food was all seasoned and presented nicely. My husband got the steak special and it was a lot of food. (salad, soup, and entree with fries and bread) The steak was nothing special but he enjoyed the meal and left full. I like their salads as a meal. They have live music often in the early evenings and the service is attentive without being pushy.
this is a nice place to eat and then walk over to see a Wahoo game or free concert.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FloridagirlP-cola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view, fun band, mediocre service,food and drinks”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We went here last weekend for dinner and drinks. We had a large group and had a reservation, so when we arrived we were immediately greeted and escorted out to the patio/deck area. It took nearly 30 minutes for the waitress to provide the correct menus, bring waters and then take/deliver our alcoholic drink orders. I ordered the special key lime mojito, which arrived with the ice half melted and one small sprig of mint. It was extremely sweet and tasted far from any other mojitos I've ever had.

The menu has a variety of fresh and fried seafood dishes - nothing popped out as being that inventive so I went for the shrimp and lump crab salad. The description definitely oversold how much crab came with the salad, as I had to ask the waitress if they even put any on the salad since it was so sparse.

Throughout the meal, our waitress came back to us once, though we needed drink refills, ketchup, more napkins, etc. that we had to flag other servers down for. Two members of our party received incorrect orders and were not given their correct ones until the rest of us were nearly done eating. At the end of the meal, the bill came with 20% gratuity slapped on, which I had a problem with, as the service was mediocre at best.

The band that was playing was absolutely fantastic and there was a nice breeze on the patio, so we were at least able to enjoy the atmosphere. I probably wouldn't give this place a second shot - not that great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Service”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We ate lunch on 8/11/13 and ate outside on the patio. The food was great and there was live music on the patio which was great. We will eat here again on the next visit. Great location and atmosphere on the bay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Boathouse also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Nick's Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing