We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living History”

Pensacola Naval Air Station
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$21.99*
and up
Civil War Tour of Pensacola
Ranked #2 of 107 things to do in Pensacola
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Homebase for the Blue Angels, the U.S. Navy's Flight Demonstration Squadron, Pensacola NAS is also home to the Pensacola Lighthouse, the National Museum of Naval Aviation and Fort Barrancas, an early 19th-century garrison.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Living History”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Open to the Public Base 8A.M. to 5P.M. Accessible Lighthouse with tours detailing civil war involvement. Fort Barrancas is open daily and free....what a tour into the hallways and chambers below. Aviation museum is world class rivaling the smithsonians of D.C. Museum is a hands-on facility and tour guides are a must.....they are living examples of Naval Aviation.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    738
    106
    18
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder City, Nevada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Need at least one full day, or two.”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have been here about 3 yrs ago but were on a schedule so only spent a couple of hours. Now they have added another exhibit building, so we spent nearly entire day. Not counting the IMAX movie we watched before closing - which was excellent. Free entry and movie cost about the same as regular theater. We want to go back!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsLKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
242 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice Base”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This base is super clean and modern. So much nicer than some of the other bases I have visited! The gate guards are super friendly and thorough, and the base offers many things to do while visiting...a flight museum, lighthouse, beach, etc. Can't wait to return!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miranda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola FL
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Unbelievable place to view naval aviation history”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

They have a replica of the plane my dad flew off the Enterprize during the second world war. So many cool exhibits to see stuff. Home of the Blue Angles. and too many things to name. we brought home a pic of the plane and my dad nearly cried at seeing it. /Go you'll love reliving our great nations history in very wonderful exhibits.

Helpful?
Thank cowboys1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great history”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The lighthouse and the cemetery are worth the visit. We truly enjoyed our stay in the cabins. Fort Barrancas is full of history and to think you are walking on the same ground as civil war soldiers tread is really neat.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pensacola Naval Air Station also viewed

 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Pensacola Naval Air Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing