We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time in Florida”

National Naval Aviation Museum
Ranked #1 of 107 things to do in Pensacola
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Experience the magic of flight at the National Naval Aviation Museum! See over 4,000 artifacts and 150 aircraft representing Navy, Marine Corps and Coast Guard Aviation. Ride the flight simulators or catch all the drama and power of amazing IMAX films. Dine in the authentic Cubi Bar Cafe and take home the spirit of Naval Aviation with a unique memento from the Flight Deck Store. Spend a cool day inside the Museum and experience Hands-on-History! New Naval Air Station Entrance: All visitors to the National Naval Aviation Museum, Fort Barrancas and Pensacola Lighthouse who do not possess a Department of Defense identification card or are unescorted by the holder of a Department of Defense identification card, will be required to enter the installation via the West Gate located off Blue Angel Parkway.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Woodland Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“First time in Florida”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The layout was great, and the huge variety of aircraft was almost overwhelming. It was well worth the time we spent there, and we wished we'd had even longer.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KatVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,286
    333
    27
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
233 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A plane-lover's dream”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This museum (free!!) is located on the NAS Pensacola Navy Base. It is HUGE and offers fun for all ages. There is a very large airplane hangar full of relics and engines and all kinds of neat stuff. They have awesome flight simulators (at a small fee) and a little cafe and gift shop. This is a good place to bring the kids.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miranda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramichi, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Worth a special trip....”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I visited the Museum today. My God what an experience. We saw and learned so much but feel that we only scratched the surface. We will definitely return. We had the guided tour, viewed the IMAX presentation and enjoyed every second. Although obviously not an intended part of the experience was the huge cemetry on our way in which we made a point of visiting on the way out, brought home the reality of the whole reality of the sacrifices made by those men and women who flew the planes and sacrificed their lives.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank cantwelltom044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My man being an ex-submariner this was a must stop on our tour of the Gulf Coast. What an amazing place!! We were only there a few short hours, but one could easily spend an entire day touring the exhibits. While there we also toured the Pensacola Lighthouse which was across the street. Both attractions are certainly worth a stop!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank StormFan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level Contributor
516 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“World class museum in Pensacola”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is truly a world class museum. We went with my children and family yesterday and had a great time. The kids loved seeing all the real airplanes and getting into the cutaway cockpits that are there. They must have around thirty or so different cockpits and artillery that you can sit in. The museum is set up very well and it's pretty unbelievable that they can fit that many planes inside the museum yet it still feels open. The complex is huge and if you were to try to see everything it could take hours or even days. The information given is very informative and there are ex-military personel that will enlighten anyone wanting to know anything while you are wandering around. The planes are not the only attraction. There is plenty of interactive attractions. There are great cutaways of space research vessels, blimps, videos and a fullsize aircraft carrier flight tower. The upstairs houses a replica carrier inside and it is like stepping back into the 40's complete with candy bars and tin cans from a past era. There is a section devoted to WWII and what life was like at that time with replica houses, shops, and such from that era. The "Raft" exhibit was one our favorites and the story behind it is an amazing tale of survival. There is an IMAX and the Blue Angels film is always there but they also show other movies. They now have a breakfast, coffee and a movie in the mornings plus there is a nice cafe but we didn't eat there. There is an extensive library as well. Not to mention there is no fee to see this incredible museum. They have guided tours and various exhibits and videos around the museum which start at different times. The museum is located on the Pensacola Naval Air Station and nearby are Fort Barrancas and a nice lighthouse. It makes a great day out from the beach.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Naval Aviation Museum also viewed

 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to National Naval Aviation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing