We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that impressed”
Review of Johnson Beach

Johnson Beach
Ranked #5 of 107 things to do in Pensacola
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Saucier MS
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not that impressed”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Yes, the water was fairly clear. Yes, the sand was white. Yes, we had to hike almost 2 miles with all our gear to get to an isolated spot (sans nudists) to set up camp. Because of the long hike over to a decent camping area, that meant a hike of 3(?) miles to the bathrooms at the station near the park entrance - a long, uncomfortable hike when you have to go. It was rather stormy and windy when we set up, but after the weather and wind subsided, we were eaten alive by sand fleas! So much so that sleep was pretty much impossible. And the park rangers were not particularly friendly (yes, we did follow all the posted rules, and no, we did not park our bums on any dunes).
When we set out to check out the local area outside of the park, we were not impressed by the nonstop condos on the waterfront that ruined the beach drive view for miles and miles. Local area restaurants were also ridiculously overpriced for the value offered. So much for our mini-vacation.

If we want to travel to Gulf Island beaches in the future, we will be sticking to Ship and Horn Islands - much more isolated and peaceful, more wildlife (discounting sand fleas and biting flies), and the rangers are FAR friendlier. So what if the sand isn't as pristine as in Florida? Plus, when you drive Highway 90 in Mississippi, you can actually see the beaches and Gulf, with few visual obstructions for most of the drive.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank dgoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    49
    8
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Shores, Alabama
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach but be warned”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Me and my husband have lived on the coast now for 3 years. We love to camp and decided to go primitive camping, the beach is beautiful. You have to park and unload your gear and then walk about a 1/2 a mile to a sign that says primitive camping beyond this point. While walking we encountered very few people, but they were all NUDE. Apparently this is a "undeclared" nude beach. Good thing we left our son at home. There was no warning or anything and the people we saw looked at us like we were the ones out of place. Since it was just me and my husband we just looked the other way and set up our camp site. The place is so remote and beautiful and the water was just right. Saw a couple of sting rays and jellyfish but got in the water anyway. You can build a fire right on the sand and just sit back and enjoy your night. In the morning though we found ourselves surrounded by a ton of flies, and they BITE. We were run out of our camp and they followed us throughout the whole 1/2 mile walk back to the road, biting us the whole way. We asked a park ranger we saw why they were doing that and she acted like she didnt know what we were talking about. We had a wonderful night and the sunset left you speechless. Not sure if i would go back, those flies were awful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
16 Thank mercedes p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our local Paradise.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Park entrance is just past the "Reflections" subdivision on Johnson Beach Road. Pick up a yearly pass (pays for itself after a few visits) and drive in to enjoy one of the whitest beaches in the US. Boardwalks allow visitors to walk above the sand dunes to approch the unspoiled beach area(s). Enjoyed the calm sea that day (green flags were flying at the entrance). No seaweed or undertow present. We come here to swim at least 4 - 5 times per year and will always come back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne_Carstens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Kansas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A world away ...”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

For $8 a week you gain access to beautiful gulf and bayside beaches that are virtually deserted. There is a nice picnic pavilion with bathrooms and lifeguards at the entrance or you can opt to drive a few miles down Johnson Beach Road and enjoy the uninhabited beaches. It's so much better to look around and see nature instead of high rise condos!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Amazing Gem of a Beach”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We were told about this beach by friends who said it was their favorite and it definitely didn't disappoint. It was Labor Day weekend and not crowded like all the other beaches. The beach is beautiful, lots of shells, a large sandbar, making it safer for children. It has a big bathroom area, outside showers, and big picnic pavilion.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank crsteph70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnson Beach also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Johnson Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing