We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Stop”

Pensacola Lighthouse and Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.99*
and up
Civil War Tour of Pensacola
Ranked #4 of 108 things to do in Pensacola
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Best View in Town! Climb 177 steps up the historic Pensacola Lighthouse & Museum for one of the most beautiful views on the Gulf Coast. Built in 1859, the lighthouse is located on board NAS Pensacola.The top of the tower offers stunning views of Pensacola Pass (where Pensacola Bay meets the Gulf of Mexico), three forts, the Pensacola skyline and the historic Navy Yard. The fully restored Keepers' Quarters, built in 1869, is home to a museum and a gift shop. Visit this historic spot in America's First Settlement, established in 1559. Make a day of it and visit the National Naval Aviation Museum and Fort Barrancas while you're here. Our nature walk takes you to the white sands of beautiful quiet-water beach–a perfect beach for kids. Bring the family and a picnic lunch and stay a while. The Pensacola Lighthouse and museum is open 7 days/week. Special tours include Blue Angel practices, Light of the Moon and Ghost Hunts. Private tour and function times available as well.
Picayune, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Little Stop”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The lighthouse is well maintained and the museum is interesting. We took the 177 steps to the top and were rewarded with a great view! Plenty of stops along the way to look out the windows. Repairs were underway outside the lighthouse but this didn't detract from our visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank royl126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    718
    390
    79
    12
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“History with a view.”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Pensacola Lighthouse is is very close to the naval museum. It is very well maintained and the museum house has exhibits that explain some of the lighthouse keepers daily life. The building has a wheelchair or stroller ramp so we were able to take our son in. It was amazing to learn that more than 1 family lived in the house. The stairway to the top of the lighthouse is a tight spiral but the views are wonderful.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dodie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful lighthouse”
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Although we could not go inside because we had a little one we enjoyed the lighthouse from outside the gates.

Helpful?
1 Thank Aeaglegirl1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice, Historic and pricey”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Pensacola lighthouse is less than a mile from navy museum. It have historic value including 1856 well. Lighthouse have 177 stair which can be wet so focus on balance, avoid high heels if you are planning to go on top (which I suggest because of nice ocean, runway view).
Only negative thing we felt is admission ticket is bit pricey for what they are offering. Beach near to lighthouse is beautiful, We spend sometime on beach after lighthouse visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank N-Agarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pensacola Lighthouse is a must to see”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Pensacola lighthouse is one the the most beautiful lighthouse's I have ever seen. It is on a air force base and there is a museum where you can see lots a air planes. The kids just loved it. It is a beautiful place where you could back you a lunch spend the day there and have a picnic

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wookie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pensacola Lighthouse and Museum also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Pensacola Lighthouse and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing