We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome beaches!”
Review of Santa Rosa Island

Ranked #9 of 107 things to do in Pensacola
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pensacola Beach is the main attraction on this island.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome beaches!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This really is the best kept secret in the Pensacola area. Scenic, beautiful beaches and definitely off the beaten path, yet still very close to the restaurants and bars. This has become my favorite place to visit in Florida...so don't go there!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank eidson72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    21
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
kennesaw
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The beaches at Santa Rosa, Fort Pickens, and Perdido Key are all part of the Gulf Islands National Seashore Parks. A weekly pass costs $8, and allows access to all three beaches. All beaches have toilet/shower/changing facilities, as well as open picnic areas (with roofs!) that allow you to escape the noonday heat. The beaches are incredibly clean, and free of the bar scene as there is nothing but you, the sand, and the gulf.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank melissa992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Birds Nesting”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We loved the snowy plovers that were nesting and the little baby birds. The beach was clean and the waves were invigorating. This is a great place to visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It Really is the Best Kept Secret in Florida!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed in Sundunes Condos, #163. It is right on the beach with fabulous gulf views. There are two restaurants on the island, an Italian and a locally owned seafood place with frontage on the sound side of the island where there are beach volleyball courts, and a bar. There are local scooter and bike rentals. The unit where we stayed was so cute! It was decorated in a beach motif, with a balcony that spanned from the living room to the master bedroom, a kitchen and two baths and bedrooms It is a very family oriented island, quiet, safe, with bike and pedestrian walkways the entire length of the island. It is protected on both ends by the Gulf Islands National Seashore and you can drive to Pensacola directly from there. Destin is within about 30 minutes, too. We loved it and will go again and stay in the same condo!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank claricelff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Peaceful, quiet, and relaxing. | Love the white sand and tranquil ocean waves.”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Santa Rosa Island = Peaceful Atmosphere. Fell in love with this place and it's charming way transporting one to total relaxation. Complete relaxation from enjoying the white sand, tranquil ocean waves, and soft, warm breeze. Not to mention, no crowds, it's quiet, safe and clean.

A friend told me about Santa Rosa Island when I was scouting out places to take my older mother and young children. It was their first time going to a beach. Extremely pleased I was referred to this beach. No traffic noise while on the beach and it's effortless getting around to restaurants. My mother and children had a wonderfully, pure beach experience including, yet not limited to the most breathtaking sunrises and sunsets of their life.

Great place for family's not wanting a party or spring break atmosphere. I hope it maintains this tranquil environment.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Rosa Island also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Santa Rosa Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing