We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sole Inn and Suites
Ranked #23 of 65 Hotels in Pensacola
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed during a convention called Pensacon. This was the overflow hotel. The facility is older however it has been re-done. It is now very nicely decorated in art-deco as well as modernized with small refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker in room. If the layout of the rooms and facility didn't give it away, I wouldnt have known it was older. Perks were free happy hour every evening, a decent continental breakfast and a nice semi enclosed sitting area outside near the fountain. It is a bit like a small motel in size but it is three floors with an elevator and I did not see anyone have trouble with enough parking. But the real attraction here is the staff. I stay in hotels about 5 times a year and this was the absolute best staff I have had the pleasure of encountering. Bar none. ** One thing to note as a matter of personal preference for some, particularly for the tall- the showers are enclosed with glass doors and tile. The ceiling of shower and shower head may be low for tall peeps. I had no issue but can imagine others might need more room. **

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Tracy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onthegoalotAtlanta, General Manager at Sole Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you Tracy for taking time to write the great review. I am happy that your stay with us was so enjoyable. We look forward to the Pensacon in 2015, and look forward to having you stay with us again. Mark Bodiford GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 418 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

We booked this hotel based on location since we wanted to hang out on Palafox. The parking lot is small but there is parking along the street so it was not an issue. We were greeted warmly and quickly checked in. The room was average size and had everything we needed (Fridge, Microwave, TV, Coffee maker, Ironng board and iron). The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was small but functional with a walk in shower, no bathtub. The Inn offeres a free Happy Hour in the lobby (5-7 when we were there) with beer, wine, and snacks. Breakfast was included but we slept late and didn't partake. Checkout was a breeze.

What we really liked: Wooden blinds on the windows that made regulating the outside light very easy. Designer fixtures in the bathroom. The cleanliness of the room. We also enjoyed the patio with fountain and lounge chairs..

Room for improvement: The bathroom is very dark, and the shower head is so low on the wall that even at 5'6" I was banging my head. It could use a couple of hooks to hang clothes or towells on since there isn't any counter space to speak of. May have been an isolated case but there was such a strong smell of bleach in the room that those with sensitive noses may be put off.

We really enjoyed our stay and the location can't be beat in downtown Pensacola. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trueKLfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I was a little concerned when I saw the photos of what appeared to be an old "motor inn", but based on the convenient location and the generally positive reviews decided to give it a shot. We were NOT disappointed. The rooms are not extraordinarily well appointed, but at that price point we didn't expect them to be. They were very reasonably priced, nicely updated and clean. We were visiting my son a couple hours away and all decided to drive over to Pensacola to meet some out of town friends for one night. Sole provided a great spot that was not only close to Seville Quarter and a lot of nightlife choices, but was also very accommodating for just "hanging out". We really enjoyed the happy hour and couldn't believe the complimentary snacks and drinks. Later in the evening we had some that were ready to go to bed, but a few of us that wanted to continue to talk. It was a little chilly, and we didn't want to both other guests. The desk clerk graciously allowed us to stay in the breakfast area of the lobby.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cj19662014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed for one night. We are natives to Pensacola and wanted a place to stay close to downtown for a friend's birthday. The rate was excellent. The staff was very nice and helpful. The noise level is almost unbearable. People yelling non stop outside your door, banging on vending machines, and running back and forth at 4am. There was also music playing somewhere. Starting at 7am we could hear what sounded like drums and trumpets playing somewhere in the building. It sounded like a marching band practicing, at 7am on a Sunday. What?? Needless to say we didn't get any sleep.
The bathroom looked like it needed a deep clean. There was a grimy looking layer on the shower door, and if you're going to have a black sink it has to be cleaned well. It was not.
There also should be some type of swinging metal security lock on the doors. Especially in that location with the doors opening to the outside.
Overall it was fine for a short one night stay. But there is definitely room for improvement.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alta89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We will be back. First off, this place is clean and the staff is friendly. It's in the middle of downtown Pensacola so I don't know why anyone would be expecting a stay without city noises. There were some guests out late in the courtyard the evening that we stayed, but I've learned enough in all my travels to ALWAYS bring earplugs. We were exploring Pensacola and didn't intend to spend much time in our room. It was EXACTLY what we needed. It was safe and CLEAN. We also enjoyed the free snacks and drinks offered at the Inn's happy hour. It's nothing gourmet but was a nice little jump start to our evening out. And you can't beat the rate for this hotel! I'll be back in town the end of March and my husband and I will stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LisaLacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Spent New Year's Eve in this hotel on downtown Pensacola . Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Hotel was very clean. Nice happy hour and breakfast as well. Parking was a little crowded but ok. Hotel has been restored in a very tasteful way.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Boatwithmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

rooms are small but comfortable, needs more lighting, closet area was dark.
Funny smell when we arrived but housekeeping re cleaned and changed beds.
I think room hadn't been used in a while. Beds were very comfortable.
Price of 79 was appropriate, I loved the fruit and yogurt breakfast but also had
oatmeal, pastries and juice or coffee. Nightly cheese and crackers from 5 to 7 was
ok but not many came down. Saturday was a bit noisy with partiers up into the
night but management kept going outside so they quieted down for a bit then
would get roudy again but really not bad, seen worse. parking lot a bit small
but street parking out front seemed safe, actually, seemed very safe in downtown
area, police presence was good, by the way, don't miss the Naval Air Muesum,
out of this world cool, of course this is a pilot doing the review.
Nice place, probably would come here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cody91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pensacola
0.3 mi away
Pensacola Grand Hotel
Pensacola Grand Hotel
#12 of 65 in Pensacola
483 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Pensacola West-Navy Base
0.6 mi away
New World Inn
New World Inn
#31 of 65 in Pensacola
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola/Gulf Breeze
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Pensacola - Historic Downtown
0.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Pensacola Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sole Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sole Inn and Suites

Address: 200 N Palafox St, Pensacola, FL 32502-4841
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pensacola
Price Range: $92 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sole Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sole Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing