We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the Fine Print...if you can find it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Pensacola
Ranked #18 of 65 Hotels in Pensacola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2012

A friend who works for Marriott suggested this place as it accepted pets. I booked through the Marriott website noting we were travelling with two dogs. Upon arrival after a long car travel day, I was greeted warmly by the clerk who noted we were travelling with pets...the lady was friendly enough but I did notice an edgy nervousness about the check in and frankly, I was too tired to care. I did sign the pet policy sheet without taking the 10 minutes to read the fine print. The room was small but clean, basic. We noted the newness of the place and made sure the pets stayed in their crates all nite. We made sure the room was as clean as it would have been if a guest with no pets stayed there.
The next morning the bill under the door detailed a pet cleaning fee charged of 89.68 before tax. I found this to be excessive based on the type of property this was, so I went down to discuss with the manager. As I arrived and asked for the manager another guest, was behind me and said, "good, I want to talk to her too. There is nothing on Marriott's main website about a $100 dollar pet fee."
The manager was surly and argumentative. She stated that the charge would cover the cleaning of the carpets and drapes once we left the room. I cried fowl and accused her of lying. I advised her that I had managed 4 star luxury properties with average rates of $400 a nite, and that it was extremely rare for that kind of cleaning to be done to a room after check out. She didn't reply back so I knew she was stating some rehearsed excuse the ownership had given her. I also said that if I were her with two irate guests in front of her, I would do everything I could to insure their return...not argue flimsy charges. She did take off 1/2 of my charges...but I did let her know I would be calling Marriott and putting this not so flattering review up on Tripadvisor. She didn't seem to care. I will check this place off my list for my twice yearly pass thru Pensacola and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank InTheBizMyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpspensacola, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Pensacola, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

I regret to hear that you were less than pleased with your experience at Pensacola Towneplace Suites... particularly regarding your pet cleaning fee. Our website does state under hotel fact sheet information all the information regarding the $100, non-reundable, pet sanitation fee. We are one of only two pet friendly Marriott hotels in Pensacola and both locations require this fee for this amount. I understand you feel that this fee is excessive; however, we are an extended stay hotel and typically have guests traveling with pets in some of our rooms for weeks at the time which requires the rooms to be deep cleaned after check out, unfortunately the rate is standard even for our short term guests. For this reason all guests are asked to sign the pet letter at check- in that states this information. I do see where you signed this letter at check - in and were given a discounted fee after your concerns were voiced. I wish that the discount would have sufficed your complaint rather than to see it listed on this review, but I appreciate your loyalty to Marriott and respect your managment expericene within the hotel industry and ask that you reconsider the Towneplace Suites brand for your next stay especially in Pensacola.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 195 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2012

125 bucks for what they call a suite? It was about the same size as a regular hotel room. This "suite" only had a queen bed and a small sofa pullout. When the sofa was in bed mode it abutted the queen bed and you could not get to the other side of the room. The mattress on the sofa bed was the flimsiest, thinnest and most uncomfortable sofa bed we have encountered. The queen bed sagged and I ended up with backache. There was so much space under the door and the bathroom door I fit my entire hand underneath both, so lots of light washing through at night. The walls were so thin walking down the hallway you could hear what was on each TV in every room you passed. I have never seen such a small space called a lobby. The two computers for free access allowed everyone in this 'lobby' to see your screen - absolutely no privacy from prying eyes to the computer screen. The place was clean, and built 4 years ago it was relatively new, although the desk chair in our room was so beat up as to not only be ugly but it pitched you forward when sitting in it, mighty uncomfortable. The quality of this property reminded me more of a red roof inn or super 8 motel. But 125 a night for so-called suite and the place does not even do breakfast except cereal and coffee "grab and go". TownePlace had a tiny microkitchen with no place to eat in the room. Save your money, go across the street to an older refurbished property but much bigger, with great breakfast, at the Mainstay Suite and get a true suite with King bed, nice sofa bed, true kitchen with eating area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpspensacola, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Pensacola, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

Hello and thank you for your feedback!

I want to apologize for your less than par stay. I understand the space in the rooms was not adequate in size and comfort and you experienced noise while here. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us and will share this with the staff so we can improve and make it a better place to stay.

I do hope that if you find yourself traveling to the Pensacola area again, that you will personally contact me and give us another chance. I do hope we get to see you stay with us once again! If you have any further questions, please feel free to email me directly at becky.camarillo@marriott.com


Becky Camarillo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Very expensive for what you get. Compared to other similar hotels this one doesn't have an adequate room space for longterm stays, the kichenette is very small and badly designed, what is the point of being able to cook or heat any food if you dont have adequate ventilation, the windows only open few inches not allowing for any air exchage. The TV is in an ackward position, you are not able to see the whole TV screen from bed since its behind the bathroom wall. They offer a very limited breakfast, and their free all day coffe is always cold and never replaced. I would look for other options around until they fix this issues because is a new property with potential if changed.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claudia007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpspensacola, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Pensacola, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Hello!

I want to first thank you for choosing us while you were in Pensacola, FL!

You mentioned the space was not adequate and the kitchen was less than you expected. I am sorry and it looks like you were in one of the smaller rooms, had I knows while you were here i would have made sure you got a room with a larger stove and oven.
The TV, I agree, is in an akward location if you want to lay down in the bed. It is something we have been trying to fix.
I do wish we could offer more of an actual breakfast, but good news is, that is also in the works! I do wish it was here now too!
last, I am sorry you had cold coffee! I have addressed this with the staff and this should not happen again.
I do hope that if you find yourself traveling to the Pensacola area again, that you will personally contact me and give us another chance. I do hope we get to see you stay with us once again! If you have any further questions, please feel free to email me directly at becky.camarillo@marriott.com

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This was my second visit, the other about 6 months ago. Each visit was paid for by Marriott points.
Both times all of my expectations were met. The rooms/suites are decorated very modern and cute, more importantly spotless. The front desk was extremely helpful with directions and dinner ideas. I am a very frequent traveler with high expectations so I was very surprised at how low the star rating is on this hotel. The layout is very functional with adequate work space for a business traveler as well as comfortable seating area for families.
You can hear noise through the front door in the hall way so if you are a very light sleeper I would suggest requesting a room towards the end of the hallway away from the elevator.
Another note, the mattresses are a little on the firm side which is how I like them but I know that is not everyone's preference so felt it was worth mentioning.

Room Tip: You can hear noise through the front door in the hall way so if you are a very light sleeper I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Work&PlayTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpspensacola, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Pensacola, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to write this! I really am grateful and so glad to hear you had two great stays with us! We look forward to having many more from you!

Becky Camarillo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

I stayed here for one night because I arrived on a late flight and wanted a place close to the airport. The room I was assigned was away from the elevator as I had requested when i reserved the room. It was spacious and very quiet. I wish I could remember the room number but the room has the stairwell on one side and due to the shape of the building the room is not adjacent to another one. It was clean and the staff was pleasant. Breakfast at all Towne Place Suites is very skimpy--grab and go type stuff--but there is a Denny's right down the street. The room had a number of magazines in it and I appreciated that. My stay was just one night but I could see that this would make a great place for an extended stay if one needed to be in the Pensacola area. Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeingGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I stayed here overnight this past weekend. The pros: good price, fresh and new, lost of amenities for travelers staying for a while(clothes basket, dishwasher detergent, etc.), pleasant staff.
The cons: paper-thin walls(I could hear the cell-phone ring and be answered in the next room), and "breakfast-to-go" which means boxes of cereal, prepackaged muffins, and fruit.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smckj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed here to catch a few days at the beach and a day at a nearby state park. The room wasn't very large, but it was still plenty of room to move around and for us to sprawl all of our stuff out on. The continental breakfast in the lobby was well-stocked, and it was nice to have all that kitchenette space. It was very comfortable. The only downside was the lack of a bathtub--I guess I didn't realize that from the hotel description on their website.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pensacola hotels
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola / I-10 Pine Forest Road
0.5 mi away
MainStay Suites Pensacola
MainStay Suites Pensacola
#11 of 65 in Pensacola
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pensacola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Pensacola Airport
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn - Pensacola / N Davis Hwy
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Pensacola Bayview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Pensacola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Pensacola

Address: 481 Creighton Rd, Pensacola, FL 32504-6250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pensacola
#8 Family Hotel in Pensacola
#10 Business Hotel in Pensacola
Price Range: $108 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Pensacola 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your TownePlace Suites Pensacola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Pensacola Hotel Pensacola
Pensacola Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing