We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tuscan Oven Pizzeria

The Tuscan Oven Pizzeria
Ranked #12 of 636 Restaurants in Pensacola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

They treat you like family and the food is great I have been their several times and every time love the food

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank geekbower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    69
    19
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Bistro Atmosphere, More Than Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Tuscan Oven is a popular local place with excellent service and very good food. The pizza chef keeps busy sliding pizzas into the brick oven while an upscale crowd looks on, enjoying a nice fare of Italian food. There's indoor dining in a bistro atmosphere or patio dining to enjoy the pleasant Pensacola weather. This is not your typical pizza joint. In fact, I've been there several times for lunch and have yet to order pizza, though many people do. I especially enjoy the Tuscan salad with the artichokes and mixed greens and pencil-thin breadstick. My husband likes the Pasta Alforno with the sweet Italian sausage. They have a nice selection of wines, but it's a Pepsi place, no Coke. There can be a line and they have a brisk carry-out service, so arrive as early as possible in you are in a rush.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
127 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was our first experience at The Tuscan Oven Pizzeria. We noticed it passing through town on a drive home to Alabama.

The menu (http://www.thetuscanoven.com/menu2.html) is sizable and everyone should be able to find something satisfying to eat.

We shared a Tuscan salad which was quite good: lettuce, artichokes, black olives and onions with a nice dressing. My wife had a small pizza with cheese, portabella mushrooms, garlic, sun-dried tomatoes and onions that was fantastic. I had a small seafood pizza (shrimp, clams and calamari) that had a significant amount of seafood on it. And the shrimp weren't popcorn shrimp - they were good-sized medium to large shrimp. I tasted my wife's pizza and liked it better than my own. Don't get me wrong - my pizza was very excellent - but I would have preferred a little less cheese and a little more sauce. My experience is that one needs to go to a pizza parlor one or two times before you know exactly how to best customize one's pizza order. I'll ask for 1/2 cheese and extra sauce next time. And there will be a next time. We get to Pensacola regularly and will seek out The Tuscan Oven in the future.

Service was attentive and helpful. The atmosphere was good, but it did leave me wondering what this building was before becoming The Tuscan Oven.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FairhopeFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tuscan Oven Pizza best ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I've eaten pizza in places all over Italy, but Tuscan Oven has the crust and the flavors just right. Chewy crust...try the abondanza (sp?). A meat lover's dream!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthernGirl1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Tuscan Oven is a family restaurant that offers more than Pizza but the Pizza is outstanding. The service is friendly and the owners (husband & Wife) are there to say hello and make sure you are enjoying yourself.
The pizza is cooked in a wood fired oven - all the ingredients are fresh & plentiful - the crust is great and the service is personal & friendly by a crew of young ladies. The decor & seating is somewhat kitchen-like but but OK - outdoor seating is available - prices moderate.
Best pizza around.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amazing75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tuscan Oven Pizzeria also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to The Tuscan Oven Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing