We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good for Cuban food...and I'm Cuban!”

La Carreta Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Pretty good for Cuban food...and I'm Cuban!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I ordered a midnight sandwich and a Cuban to taste since I heard this place was a good place to stop. The midnight bread was perfect! I'd buy the bread alone for sure. The sandwich was nicely prepared and was traditional style. I appreciate that. Sometimes places add their own random touches to the recipe and that's fine, just don't tell me it's traditional. I did order croquettes as well but they were average. They didn't seem homemade. I also had a guava pastry and it was loaded! That doesn't happen very often. The food was good and the prices were cheap. I'll be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelingCuRicans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    60
    11
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
166 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Exquisite Food”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Actually I went to the one in Miramar. Great atmosphere. Very clean. Great wait staff. Awesome drinks. Very satisfied

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DoctorEd711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Food and Staff!!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Few weeks ago my wife and I invited to our pastor and his wife to have a dinner with us and we selected this restaurant and to be honest the selection couldn't be better.The food was great and on time, excelent service, we can even mention a server's name because all of them (in our section) were pending to the customers in case we should need any thing, tthe environmet was perfect and the management was present all the time checking the service's quality. We wants to congratulate to the management and staff for the great great job done.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ERGomez12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
1 review
“Cuban sandwich”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I just went for lunch with my wife ordered a Cuban sandwich with lettuce and tomato a few minutes later the sandwich was served but with out lettuce and tomato, I told the server that I ordered it with lettuce and tomato she told the cashier about it and the cashier flipped out and started screaming that I has to get up of my table and pay for the lettuce and tomato and that I never told her about the lettuce and tomato in my sandwich , she approached the table very upset saying that was my fault. I let her know that is not the right attitude and I was willing to pay for the extra, the facts that she was very loud and screaming make me decide to ask for my money still pay for my soup and the drink that my wife ordered, on my way out she still screaming and telling other customers about my situation. Management needs to train their staff so they can better service the customers.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edwin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
96 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good cuban food”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The staff is very accomodating for our large party on a busy sunday morning, breakfast buffet was ok, wait staff was awesome, kept the cafe con leche flowing. For dinner the food is excellent and portions are good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tammyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carreta Restaurant also viewed

Miramar, Broward County
Hallandale Beach, Broward County
 

Been to La Carreta Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing