We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost its Appeal - Won't go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale West / Pembroke Pines
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pembroke Pines
Certificate of Excellence
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
184 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Lost its Appeal - Won't go back”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I have reviewed this place in a positive way twice in the past three years and have stayed here many times. I will state that I am not a complainer and I do not use this site to whine, but here I go doing both!

I am sad to say that something has changed at this Hampton. My last two visits (recent) have convinced me that this place is off my list. Since I travel to this area often, I do not want to limit my options, but enough is enough. First, and worst, the wireless internet service is as bad as it gets anywhere. I had to leave to go to a local McDonald's to get connectivity. Even the lobby area connectivity was no good and the excuses for poor system performance from the staff were pitiful. Basically, if you are trying to do business at this place using the internet, you are screwed and these people do not care one bit.

At check-in, I waited 28 minutes to get to the desk. Check-in was an unusual pain for this location and time of day.They just did not care. The eight people in line ahead of me were then given cold water and snacks for their patience, but not me, nor the people in line behind me, who had been piling up. For a beach property this would have been OK, for these guys it is was really bad form.

Then, I was assigned a smoking room. When I said that I did not ask for smoking, the guy checking me in started giving me grief. I told him that I had stayed at this property for more than 20 times and that I had never asked for, nor stayed in, a smoking room. He got mad and then went into his computer system and declared that smoking was a choice on my Hilton Honors preference's. WHAT! I told him to give me a non-smoking room or that I would leave. As a result, I got a room at a bad price and with a bad attitude, and no Hilton Diamond goodies. ( I did go back to make sure that none of my Hilton Honors preferences had been changed by me or my wife, so that only made me more disappointed with the front deck manager. )

The rate for this place doubles or more during tourist season. For the doubling of price, I don't want service to be cut in half, but that is what is going on. Forget this place, there are so many alternatives.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig p, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale West / Pembroke Pines, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for your candid review of our hotel. I would like to aplogize for the inconvenience you've experienced during your stay with us.

You've been a loyal guest of our hotel for many years and I hate for your business due to Guest Service Representative's attitude and lack of WI-FI connection. I will address the staffing issue and I can assure you, we are working deligently to get our WI-FI enough bandwith and more MG to speed up the internet. We are on last stage of upgrading our system, and I can assure you that this will be recified by end of next week.

Once again my deepest apologies for the experienc you encountered at our hotel and I hope you will give us another oportunity to show you our Hamptonality.

Thank you and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    148
    59
    27
    18
See reviews for
213
127
48
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Good locations but moldy bathrooms and front desk staff with a terrible attitude. The manager should take a shower and put some clean clothes on...really! The furniture in the rooms is from the 1980's.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Alden H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig p, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale West / Pembroke Pines, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our property during your stay in our area. We are very sorry for the problems you encountered. We have addressed the mold issues as well as your concerns about service. We hope that you give us another opportunity for a better experience.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryville, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Initially we had a great time at this hotel, but experienced problems with manager customer service for Hilton Diamond members. Most of the staff is quite friendly, but the Internet is dysfunctional in this hotel. When we ask for the standard 100% Hampton guarantee, they only offered a 15% discount nightly, and one full refund out of a six day stay. This was only negotiated after much resistance from the desk management. This is most unusual for quality Hampton Inns, Especially for Hilton Diamond members. I would avoid this hotel until they rectify their Internet dysfunction, and increase their managerial customer service skills

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmtmonos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig p, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale West / Pembroke Pines, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We appreciate your candid feedback and apologize for the poor internet connectivity you experienced. We've contacted our service to provider to make the necessary updates and regret the inconvenience this caused you. We value your business and your loyalty as a rewards member and invite you to contact us if you have any additional comments or concerns. We are all about Satisfaction Guaranteed.

Thank you and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We came into the Hampton Inn -Pembroke Pines, Fla. on a Late Arrival status at 1:30 am Saturday Morning -Feb.1,2014. Andrew was the Night Manager on duty & he helped our family get checked in quickly (we had two very tired children, ages 9 & 10,) and he jumped into action by keeping them happy with complimentary soda and snacks. He was waiting for us so the processing went smoothly and we were in bed by 2:00 am. We slept until 10:00 am and went to see Grandma & Grandpa for lunch at noon. Everybody was well rested and happy because of the great help we received earlier that morning. Thank you, Andrew and Hampton Inn!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig p, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale West / Pembroke Pines, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Wow I am so happy to read your review of our hotel and especially Andrew. He will defintely be acknowledged for his outstanding service. But most importantly, your family had a restful night sleep and I am glad to read that your kids were able to see grandma and grandpa all rested.

Once again thank you so much for your review of our hotel and we look forward to your next trip down to Hampton Inn Pembroke Pines.

Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel because it is close to the chili cookoff. It was a short cab ride away to the event. We had a fridge and microwave in our room. The free breakfast is very good too and they have begian waffles. The lobby has a free coffee station with flavored creamers

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank nicolelourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig p, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale West / Pembroke Pines, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of Hampton Inn Pembroke Pines. I hope you had a great time at Chili Cook Off. Majority of the bands that played happened to stayed with us, so I hope you had a chance to meet some of the band members at our hotel.

Once again thank you so much for your great review of Hampton Inn Pembroke Pines and we look forward to seeing you next year for Chili Cookoff.

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
482 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This appears to be an older building, quite possibly not originally a Hampton Inn. It does show its age somewhat.
The public areas are, as usual, clean and bright. Room 222 had a very good mattress, although the bathroom could benefit from a little TLC. The thermostat controls were complicated.
The breakfast was typical Hampton Inn but the employees were somewhat disorganized.
Recommended but I'm certain there are better Hampton Inns in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoswellDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig p, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale West / Pembroke Pines, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you so much for taking a little time out of your day to give us a candid review of our hotel. The hotel was built as a Hampton Inn, but you are correct in your assessment that this is not a new hotel.

But as you can read from other former guests that stayed with us in TripAdvisor, what we lack in a newly style Hampton Inns, we provide all of our guests with Hamptonality and have a very loyal guests who have been staying with us for years.

Once again thank you very much for your review and we hope you will try our hotel again in a very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Visiting on business. Great stay. Near Interstate 75 and Malls. Check in was a breeze. (Thanks Abby!) Comfortable clean rooms. Internet access signal could have been better than it was, but wasn't a big deal. Night time security is on point, so you will feel safe if returning late. Free breakfast can't be beat. If you miss breakfast, there is a Cracker Barrel right outside of the hotel and a Wendy's not far away. Worth a return trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig p, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale West / Pembroke Pines, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review of Hampton Inn Pembroke Pines. I am glad to hear we met most of your needs and thanks for reconizing Abi, I will make sure to share this review with her.

Once again thank you for staying with us at Hampton Inn Pembroke Pines and we look forward to seeing you on your next business trip.

Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pembroke Pines
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Pembroke Pines
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pembroke Pines-Sheridan St
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ft Lauderdale / Miramar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale SW/Miramar
2.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Fort Lauderdale Miramar
4.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Weston  - Sawgrass Mills South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale West / Pembroke Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale West / Pembroke Pines

Property: Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale West / Pembroke Pines
Address: 1900 NW 150th Ave, Pembroke Pines, FL 33028-2804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pembroke Pines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pembroke Pines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale West / Pembroke Pines 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're conveniently located off I-75 and Sheridan Street East, between the Miramar and Weston Parks of Commerce. Our Free amenities include: Wireless High-Speed Internet, "On The House" Hot Breakfast, local calls, and parking. All rooms have been newly remodeled and offers coffeemaker, microwave, refrigerator, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, TV w/extended cable, and 2 phones w/voice mail. Outdoor pool, business center, fitness center, 24-hr convenience store, laundry/valet services, laundromat, and meeting facilities. King-whirlpool rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale West / Pembroke Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale West / Pembroke Pines Hotel Pembroke Pines
Hampton Inn Pembroke Pines
Pembroke Pines Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing