We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Find and very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wrightington
Certificate of Excellence
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“New Find and very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Good food and well presented. Wine list over expensive and does not do Restaurant justice. £20 for a standard Rioja is a 400 % mark up, unacceptable.
Food does make stay worthwhile.
Location perfect 3 min from Mortorway , but when in Hotel grounds you could be in middle of nowhere.

Room Tip: Loads of rooms ground floor , noisey from rooms above
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank EVANSTHERESIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    153
    61
    25
    12
See reviews for
79
139
10
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

This is a lovely hotel and leisure centre but why is the swimming pool so cold? My 2 year old daughter was shivering after twenty minutes in the water. There is a notice on the wall that states that the temperature is set at 29.5degrees but I am sure it isn't. I mentioned it to another swimmer and he said everyone complains but nothing ever changes. I would be interested to know what the management says. This is spoiling a lovely hotel and leisure centre.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed here while on business at the weekend. Had rooms, booked last minute £75 a night per room inc breakfast. Restaurant was brilliant for dinner but did have to wait a little while, you pay for what you get there, pricey but worth it. Didn't get a chance to try out the sports club but that was included. Service excellent all round. Only downside was room service chips arrived uncooked but they swapped for G&T :)!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chipofry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
934 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

This review is for Bazer's Restaurant situated within the Wrightingon Hotel.

I reserved a table  for a party of four more than a week in advance for Valentines night. I was asked to provide  my credit card details, which I gave no further thought to. I also informed them that one person required gluten free food.

We arrived as requested 7:30 for 8pm, informed the front of house we had arrived, ordered some drinks from the bar and then waited in the lounge. There were four or five tables with diners waiting to order. More diners arrived and it became quite full.  At the same time a waiter handed out menus to diners and worked around the room  clockwise. Unfortunately we were at the end of that line  which meant we waited in the lounge for over 40 minutes  whilst diners who had arrived after us were seated in the restaurant before us, quite annoying!
The  restaurant  was full and we were the last to be seated. 

Service from here on in was very good, the food we ordered was outstanding and clearly prepared to a high standard. They had remembered that Gluten free food was required and the Chef was able to provide suitable alternatives. We had an enjoyable evening, eating drinking and  listening to a singer/ pianist.

When we asked to pay, the young waiter returned to say that payment had already been taken from the credit card and that we just had to pay for our drinks.  He told us that payment had been taken prior to us attending and he was unable to provide me with a credit card transaction receipt.
I was unhappy because at no time when making the booking was it explained that the payment would be taken in advance, if it had then it would not have been an issue.  This practice has never happened at any other restaurant I have ever been to. I spoke with another member of staff regarding my receipt who said that it was already in the post, I could not believe that they have such a policy!  
I could not recall if I had provided my  address details, but weeks laterI have never received the invoice.

This was a mixed experience for us, but I reiterate the food was excellent, so I would consider eating here again but at Bennetts Restaurant, where we have previously eaten.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OldBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

each year we always get away for a weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary. this year we decided on this hotel, my wife has previously stayed here on a Christmas do.
i was impressed with the hotel and grounds, only a couple of minutes from the motorway yet you feel a million miles from the hustle and bustle as the hotel is set in nice grounds and fields all around.
the staff were welcoming and helpful too. we were in an executive room and the décor and bathroom were very stylish.
we tried out the pool and sauna facilities which were good, we were really impressed with Bennetts restaurant. the food was excellent. we both had steak and it was cooked just right and melted in the mouth. the bar was a little expensive but most hotel bars are.
the breakfast was good too with the staff being friendly and helpful.
overall, it was a great weekend away, very relaxing and i would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 74hopey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wright_Hotel, Admin Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest. We thank you for your kind and positive comments. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We booked it last minute for a Saturday night as we fancied a night away and access to a pool and spa.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, and had no problems taking our 13 month-old child (but he is well behaved).
The sauna is only available to women, as it's located in the changing room (which was a shame), but there is a shared steam room. The gym is also well equipped.
We ate in Bennett's Restaurant - where the staff were very friendly and helpful. Although the vegetarian option wasn't hugely inspiring, the service and meal could not otherwise be faulted.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wright_Hotel, Admin Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest. Thank you for your positive feedback and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Will certainly be back ...two minutes off the M6 and in the country. Service and hotel were very good and will definitely be back. Did not manage to go to the pool or gym however next stay will make sure I stay longer enough to do so

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieS6KTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wright_Hotel, Admin Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest. Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back and hopefully you will have chance to try our fabulous leisure facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightington
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lancashire Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
6.7 mi away
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club

Property: The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
Address: Moss Lane | Wigan, Wrightington WN6 9PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Wrightington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wrightington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club is set in picturesque countryside, yet just seconds from Junction 27, M6. This modern 73-bedroomed hotel offers award-winning cuisine, extensive conference/banqueting facilities and boasts one of the finest leisure clubs in the North West with indoor pool, gym, sauna, steam room, aerobics, hair salon and beauty salon. With an elegant reception, foyer area and landscaped courtyard...the perfect venue for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and HRS so you can book your The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wrightington Hotel And Country Club
Best Western Wigan
Wigan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing