We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Overall Package”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wrightington
Certificate of Excellence
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Overall Package”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I have just returned home from a one night stay at the Wrightington to celebrate her birthday. Everything about the short stay has been excellent.
We booked through Living Social for B&B and evening meal at a great price. Booking the actual day of stay with the hotel was easy and we took advantage of the £15 room upgrade.
On arrival, the receptionist was both welcoming and extra helpful. I had foolishly forgotten to bring the Living Social voucher but she allowed me to go on line and retrieve a copy.
Our room was clean and well equiped and we enjoyed a swim in the good sized pool.
The package included a standard table d'hote dinner and we were very impressed with the choices available and the standard of the meal. Service was both friendly and professional. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and well cooked. Check out was no problem at all.
Overall we could not have been happier with our stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wright_Hotel, Admin Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest
We thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and please keep an eye out for any future offers...
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    168
    66
    28
    15
See reviews for
92
150
12
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wigan
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed for two nights as part of the bridal party for a local couple's wedding. From Friday lunchtime to Sunday afternoon, we were able to observe the staff in ALL areas from Reception through Catering to Domestic, working so hard and effectively to deliver the quality of experience which the newly weds wanted for their guests. At a time when there is great potential for stress, the calm and actively helpful approach taken by all the staff we encountered is GREATLY appreciated.

Room Tip: Event rates offer very high specification rooms at reasonable prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orrellvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wright_Hotel, Admin Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest
We thank you kindly for your positive comments and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of man
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We booked in for 2 nights to attend a wedding reception here. the room was excellent. Stylish, air conditioned, super bed and pillows. My only criticism is that there are no toiletries to speak of. a very peculiar anomaly.

the restaurant is excellent for dinner and the breakfast was super. The staff are faultlessly polite and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likesquality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wright_Hotel, Admin Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest
We thank you for your kind comments. It is always pleasing to receive positive feedback. The usual hotel toiletires: soap, shampoo, conditioner and shower gel are supplied in all the bedrooms.
Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorks
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is lovely, very quick check in but only ever one on reception so if a queue formed it would be longer I would imagine. Feels like a hotel from abroad in reception area, very clean and shiny floors either tiled or marble style. All rooms vary in quality they leave good quality rooms open so you can see them as you pass maybe an upgrade ploy. But our basic room clean and comfortable. Just needed tv air conditioning and furniture upgrade!! Evening meal mostly great but my choice of belly pork poor soggy and fatty, starter and desert lovely, but a restaurant with AA 2star quality should be able to put out a great belly pork. Gym and spa lovely cannot comment on pool area as did not use it. Breakfast lovely and the meal in the sports club area lovely sent from restaurant kitchens great value!! Hotel 30 minutes from seaside so perfect location as just off the motorway too.

Room Tip: Rooms warm so ask for a fan or upgrade to one with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jollymid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRESTON
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a local wedding. My husband had wanted to stay here for ages but we were disappointed. Room was very average for the price but adequate. The breakfast was a let down. No one to greet you or show you to a table. Milk jug empty, fruit juice empty poor selection of both hot & cold foods. Went for toast and bread basket also empty! Needs addressing not good for a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrestonNettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a nice hotel and the pool and gym are great. The gym is the best hotel gym I have seen in years. The room was very comfortable and I slept well. Breakfast the next morning was good and the staff very polite. I will stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscarsmad23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wright_Hotel, Admin Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for your kind comments. It is always pleasing to receive positive feedback.

Your compliments of the staff and gym are welcomed as we pride ourselves on our extensive leisure facilities. On your next visit, you will have to sample the delights in our AA Rosette awarded Bennett's Restaurant.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed one night here on a Living Social voucher which included breakfast and a 3 course dinner. Our room was excellent, spacious and very comfortable. The whole hotel was modern and quite stylish. We also had use of the Leisure Centre and had a very enjoyable swim in an excellent pool. We also used the jacuzzi and my husband used the steam room. Bizarrely there was a sauna in the female changing area but not in the male changing area. Dinner was very tasty from an extensive set menu. My only (minor) quibble was the price of the wine by the glass which I found rather expensive. The hotel was quite quiet and although we thought the main restaurant might be closed on Sundays, it was in fact open.
Breakfast was very good and included not only the usual buffet selection, but also a number items cooked to order. I had poached eggs but kippers and smoked haddock were also available. The rural setting of the hotel was particularly good in Blazers restaurant for breakfast where we looked out on fields of lambs.
Although rural in setting, the hotel is close to motorway connections and is a good base for exploring many attractions in Lancashire.
We enjoyed our stay very much and will be looking for further offers here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lnd_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wright_Hotel, Admin Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay. It is pleasing to hear you took advantage of our extensive leisure facilities and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Please check out our current offers…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightington
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
2.8 mi away
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland
3.4 mi away
Holland Hall Country House Hotel
16.4 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club

Property: The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
Address: Moss Lane | Wigan, Wrightington WN6 9PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Wrightington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wrightington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club is set in picturesque countryside, yet just seconds from Junction 27, M6. This modern 73-bedroomed hotel offers award-winning cuisine, extensive conference/banqueting facilities and boasts one of the finest leisure clubs in the North West with indoor pool, gym, sauna, steam room, aerobics, hair salon and beauty salon. With an elegant reception, foyer area and landscaped courtyard...the perfect venue for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wrightington Hotel And Country Club
Best Western Wigan
Wigan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing